Getting my kids into Star Trek rather than Star Wars..FAIL

in #startrek7 years ago (edited)

61EE6258-2A9A-4110-B1BE-11F1FCACB733.jpeg

CALLING ALL NERDS:

632F10C2-A79B-4306-A4D4-F29256EE7E37.jpeg

I’ll start off by saying I’m kind of a nerd. I don’t act or look like one (maybe a little when I wear my glasses), but I’m a huge sci-fi freak. My wife is definately “cooler” than me, and there’s no way she will attend a comic-con event. I have never been to one anyways, although I would probably be staring too much at the half dressed ladies. So it’s probably better I don’t attend. I do believe my wife needs to give it a chance because as much as she denies it, she likes this stuff too.

I didn’t really enjoy the generation of star trek my father watched. The models and “technology” looked so antiquieted compared to STNG. Some of the movies were very entertaining, and I know the lore well. Gene Roddenberry certainly knew what the future held, and he was a genius in many respects. I did get into The Next Generation. I just loved the characters and many of the episodes. The Borg was just brilliant and really helped to bring action and suspense into the series.

My kids however are a totally different story. It seems they have been sucked into Star Wars. The new reboot for star trek tried to tap into the “new” and “cool” type of feel, but not enough to make any new series tempting. It seems light shows and action are what attract my kids to the Star Wars lore. I liked Star Trek because it brought up so many ethical and even moralistic debates. I know it’s just “fiction”, but even the old series was somewhat prophetic when it came to futuristic technology (cell phones, ipads).

In any case I don’t like the direction that Star Trek was taken into. Way too many prequels trying to capture new watchers. It would seem it’s not working. My kids just don’t want to think and dream. They just want the big explosion and good vs evil. Don’t get me wrong, some of the movies were great.. but the new iterations are just as boring as the prequels for Star Trek.

38583B74-228C-4FFD-A9C5-7B64A340505F.jpeg

Luckily my wife’s cousin told me about Star Trek online. It is free on my PS4 and it brings me back to the old STNG/Deep Space 9 universe. I didnt mind Voyager either. In any case it’s great nostalgia too me, and it brings back many of the old characters and expands on what happened next. Plus I had no idea that the old cast (including the late Leanord Nimoy) still contribute towards their old role.

82980E57-42D0-41C2-A859-EFF8BB441C26.jpeg

Trying to get my kids into it.. my daughter is sweet just wanting to spend time with me. I know I didn’t convert anyone, but I still tried :)

In any case, if anyone wants to join me, I just became an admiral :).

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46