Tribalism (A short story)

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians. It's really been a while. Here is a short story of mine. It is titled tribalism. It is an old story and it is completely fiction. Read through and let me know what you think of it. Thanks.
images (4).jpg

TRIBALISM

Dec 2, 1977

We sat quietly to eat our dinner. Mother was attending to Chinelo’s cries. As I looked up to my sister, I could see the hurt she concealed.

Nnenna was such a reserved girl. I envied her for years and wondered why she never challenged rules and authority as opposed to me. I was a wrecking ball.

It was a huge heartbreak for my dear sister when father opposed Folabi as her fiancé. We were all surprised. Father was never tribalistic in other important issues, but when it came to marriage, my father thundered. Poor Nnenna couldn’t fight back.

It has been three and a half years now. We heard the news that Folabi had gone overseas with his new bride - Chidinma, our cousin. She ate the yam porridge slowly. I’m afraid, Nnena may never recover.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gmiikay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @gmiikay! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71