Dead before they even wonder

in #stach-dsw5 years ago (edited)

After a long time of writing, I got to participate in the #stach-dsw and I won. Amazing right, yeah.... It feels that way. The theme for the poetry contest was pretentious....alone inside, and here was my entry;

![poetry-album-3433279_1280.jpg](

Every day I wake, it's back to the life I hate;
Living like there's no illness or maybe I've accepted fate;
I hold my breath beneath the covers of the sheet;
telling myself there's nothing to fear;

But I'm just a pile of flesh and bone;
trying to run down my time, without hurting another soul;
shifting through realities, now I can no longer tell which one's which;
what will be said of me, when I stop to exist;

My head hurts so much, and I've not even left my bed;
my world is falling, life's become meaningless and that's not even the end;
my heart's so sore, I can feel it breaking;
I swear to God it leaves me shaking;

But I have to wipe away all the tears before they come near;
must hide this feeling, from those I call family and friends;
I want them to remember me as been happy and always smiling;
even though deep down, my soul is dying;

I can hear myself scream;
but my voice just won't give, at least not for the time being;
I can never tell them how I feel, cause the happiness I wear, to them it's real;
for them to hear that I wish I was dead, it would break them, if not kill them;

So I try my best not to be selfish;
I'll keep my secret hidden and just let them rest;
but God I can't take it much longer;
I'll probably be dead before they even wonder.

Thanks for reading, do join us next Tuesday for another exciting night of great poetry, you won't be disappointed, @winarobert will do more than make you enjoy your evening either as a contestant or as a listener.
Click here to join the stach discord channel.

Sort:  

Hello @daniel-otaniel your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article
Thanks for using the Stach Tag.
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

@daniel-otaniel, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Delegate SP to us Or Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Congratulations @daniel-otaniel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @daniel-otaniel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87