You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSports 2k Giveaway Submission

in #ss2kgiveaway7 years ago

The thing I love about sports is how, even if it is a team thing, you are still an individual. I was the fat, slow, unmotivated kid. Until after college. So my body was finished developing, growing and my brain had been well nourished. I find jobs mundane, not challenging. Felt like that about med school so I stopped that investment a year in. Just went into medical research. The military was a good fit for the same reasons you mention about sports.

I chose running, the ultra marathon, distance triathlons. Even my kids like for me to keep running, biking, swimming, lifting. It keeps me learning, keeps me motivated. There is always someone better, faster, stronger. Same way I feel about piano or violin or all the homecrafting and house projects and small scale agriculture. So many tangents! I am 32, faster than ever, but it has taken more than a decade and way over 20,000 miles on foot.

PRs: ultra 50 miler in 10 hrs 32 minutes
Marathon (26.2) in 3 hrs 15 minutes
(Marathon #41)
Half marathon (13.1) in 1 hr 28 minutes
10 miler in 1 hr 7 min
10k (6.2 miles) in 43 minutes
all above in my twenties
5k while pregnant with #2! Age 31 19m54s

These have happened at different ages, stages, places.....I don't care about beating anyone but myself. It's an art.

I love sports for the mental games, the art of challenge, the challenge itself and the feeling of winning once in a while. In the case of endurance, I love the feeling of finishing, meeting your goal and setting the next one before finishing the current. It is also meditation.

You are so right on!

Sort:  

WOW! Those times alone are in incredible, but to do a 5k while pregnant and get a time of 19 minute 45 secs. That is just crazy. I am not a fast runner by any means, but I love it. In college we did 2 a day practices, and in between I would run 5-10 miles just to clear my head. I truly believe sports coordinate to life more then anything because you seriously are teaching yourself what you can endure. You are feeling the rewards of all your hardwork. You are also learning to set the bar very very high. You are from Boise.....so you can just run to our annual Steemit meetings. lol

@cdwyatt you should put @dillonford in the comments on this link to vote for my article.

https://steemit.com/steemsports/@steemsports/update-on-the-steemsports-2000-followers-giveaway

Done and done! I got really envious of the Steemit KC meeting - it's an awesome city! A regional Steemit PNW? (pacific NW)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36