The Last Ride

in #spotlight7 years ago (edited)

The Last Ride

freina-skipiste-bei-nacht.jpg
Source

It was dark and the only light around were the ones illuminating the slope. Just at a glance, it look amazing. The time when the cable-way will close and the light will go out and the slope will fall into darkneess was slowly coming. The last ride of the day was waiting for me and I was looking forward to it with every meter climbed by the cable-way. Just a few short minutes before I reach the top of the mountain remained so I started the pre-ride check. I knocked a few pieces of ice that froze at the bottom of my skis and prepared my poles. The slope was there solely for me, not a soul was in sight. That was perfect. However fast I will go, nobody will be there to distract me.

The cable-way reached the end station and I got off. Slowly I stopped at the top of the slope and just enjoyed the view on the beautiful city where I live and where I grew up. The skies were clear and the moon and the stars shone down at me. The snow reflected the shine of the stars giving it almost an otherworldly appearance, almost like the snow had stars in there itself. Hundreds of starts to drive between. I plugged my headphones in and started the music.

Spinning_in_Superpipe_Skiing_at_WSI.jpg
Source

Using the poles and skating a bit I gained a bit of speed. Then I noticed a jumping platform, just a small one, and I turned myself towards it. Right on the edge of the platform I bounced off as hard I could and started to turn in the air. I grabbed the skis with my right hand and flown. I landed still turning, so I immediately started the turn in the direction I was rotating in. Then I regained all my balance I started to gain more and more speed. The rhythm of the music was pulsing in my ears and slowly and unconsciously I was adapting to it. Each turn I made was like a stroke of a drumstick hitting the drum and the speed was my melody.

The music was slowly coming to its peak and I was still accelerating. I saw another jump coming and I prepared to jump again. This jump I knew well, it was there a long time, so I sped up even more. The moment I was in the air, I grabbed the end of the skis. I flew and flew and it felt amazing. The landing was perfect this time. But sadly, the end of the ride was slowly coming as my the turn that will take me home was right in from of me.

I took the turn and darkness surrounded me. No light apart from the moon and stars here and that is all that was here to guide me...

Czech version:

Poslední jízda

Night_skiing.jpg
Source

Byla už tma a jediná světla široko daleko byla ta, která osvětlovala sjezdovku. Už na pohled vypadala nádherně. Pomalu se blížila doba, kdy se lanovka vypne a osvětlení zhasne a sjezdovka se potopí do tmy. Čekala mě poslední jízda dne a já se na ní těšil s každým metrem, který lanovka překonala na cestě k vrcholu čím dál tím víc. Zbývalo už jenom pár minut než dorazím nahoru a tak jsem si začal kontrolovat jestli mám vše v pořádku. Shodil jsem si několik kousků ledu, které mi přimrzly ke skluznici a navlékl si pásky od hůlek na zápěstí. Sjezdovku jsem měl sám pro sebe, nikoho jsem nikde neviděl a to znamenalo, že i kdybych jel sebevíc rychle, nikoho z nich z při jízdě nepotkám.

Lanovka dojela do stanice a já z ní vystoupil. Na chvíli jsem se zastavil a kochal jsem se výhledem na krásné město ve kterém žiju. Bylo jasno, hvězdy a měsíc žářily a díky tomu sníh jenom zářil a blištěl se, jako by sám měl s sobě stovky hvězd. Stovky hvězd na zemi, mezi kterými budu projíždět a užívat si pocit rychlosti. Zastrčil jsem si sluchátka do uší a pustil muziku.

Lillehammer_2016_Slopestyle_ski_(25130788365).jpg
Source

Několikrát jsem se odrazil hůlkami a začal bruslit abych nabral trochu rychlosti. Všiml jsem si si malého skokánku a rychle jsem se k němu nasměroval. Skok se blížil a já se trochu nakrčil abych se mohl pořádně odrazit. Dojel jsem na vrchol a odrazil se co jsem mohl a začal se ve vzduchu točit. Pravou rukou jsem se chytl lyže a letěl. Dopadl jsem aniž bych skok zcela dotočil a proto jsem začal ihned zatáčet ve směru, kterým jsem se točil. Jakmile jsem doskok vyrovnal, začal jsem zrychlovat. Do uší mi zněl rytmus muziky a já se mu pomalu, nevědomky, přizpůsoboval. Každá moje zatáčka byla jako úder paličky o buben a moje rychlost byla mojí melodií.

To pomalu dosahovala svého vrcholu a já s pořád zrychloval. Blížil jsem se ke zlomu a věděl, že na něm si budu moct opět skočit. Tenhle skok jsem znal a tak jsem se pokusil ještě zrychlit. Jakmile moje lyže opustily zemi, zvedl jsem zadní konce lyží a chytil je. Letěl jsem a letěl a cítil se prostě úžasně. Tentokrát se mi doskok krásně povedl a mohl jsem pokračovat v jízdě bez jakýchkoliv problémů. Byl jsem už v půlce sjezdovky a moje odbočka domů se pomalu blížila. Odbočil jsem do zatáčky a tma mě obklopila.

Tady už žádná světla nebyla a já se musel spoléhat pouze na svoje zkušenosti...

Sort:  

@originalworks

Great post man, like always!

actually I don't like snowboarding, but skiing and ice-skating is something what I love.

Keep that great work. ;)

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @luxurious. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kralizec to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Skiing is a fine pastime and you put the exhilaration of it nicely into words @kraziliec ! upvoted !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kralizec (Jakub (James)) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Awesome post buddy :)
last time i have done snowboarding
i was laying in bed for a few months recovering
from busings xD

This post has received a 7.37 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @kralizec.

Já teda nelyžuju, ale super članek krásný počteníčko.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37