THE CRUSHENING - DAY 11

Rock Climbing Training

Season 01

"Workout" No. 011 ~~ JAN/18

Base Fitness Phase – Week 2 (OH MAN. I forgot to update the week on the last couple of posts!)


Day 11.jpg


It's Day 11 everyone.

GET SOME!

I think the pathway to success in an endeavor like the one we're currently embarking on, is squeak in little wins wherever you can -- and to try to maintain a base level of exercise. Today was another Optional Aerobic Exercise Day, so lets sit down, and talk about our feelings.

OPTIONAL Aerobic Exercise.

January 2018 - Season 1

climbing scedule Day 11.jpg

Click for fullscreen version

I think we all understand by now that we're trying to opt in as often as possible for these days -- and to be honest, days like this are a glorious reprieve from the monotony of the auto-belay. Todays aerobic exercise came from a friendly yet competitive game of squash with some of my friends from work. For those of you that haven't played squash -- you need to drastically re-evaluate the decisions you're making with your life, because you're fucking this one (and likely many other things) up.


I didn't have the foresight to charge my GoPro for squash this evening -- and I got kind of grossly sweaty anyways. But, last week, I did mention that I brought out my 360fly HD camera (it's not nearly as cool as it sounds, which I'm certain you already assumed). I've got some computer vision projects in mind with the camera, which is why I bought it (but my computer is busy mining ethereum super slowly, and I've almost got enough for a 0.2 ETH payout -- then I'm stopping). But we put the camera in the middle of a squash court and shot some video. It doesn't have a great interface -- so it forces you to pull kinda crummy low-res stills out of the video, but whatever -- it was cheap.

Record_0000053_000_1.png
But it was actually pretty fun. I think if I had the patience, I might be able to pull a couple interesting action snips out of the video.

Record_0000053_000_3.png
It's also providing me with a plethora of evidence in my case against @caitycat


The Workout:

The Plan (The Good):
  • Do some aerobic exercise if you can, homie!
Objective Review (The Bad):
  • You did some aerobic exercise, you unstoppable machine, you.
Subjective Review (The Ugly):

I feel absoloutely great after getting a workout in. As usual.

Getting some exercise always makes me feel like a million bucks, and I'm fired up to get some bouldering done at lunchtime tomorrow. Hopefully nothing gets in the way. fingers crossed

I had a lot of fun playing squash with my buddies today, and I had a lot of fun playing with @caitycat the other day. Here's a shot that I thought looked pretty cool. The colors really popped quite well and the light looked cool.

Record_0000053_000_2.png
But you can also capture some pretty good #sportsphotography moments


Today, In my space that I reserve down here for cool climbing stuff -- I'm gonna give a shout out to the IFSC.

That is -- The International Federation of Sport Climbing. They organize, host, and administer world cup tournaments for a variety of different climbing disciplines -- and do all of the other background stuff related to "climbing as a sanctioned sport". The shout out is primarily for their awesome Youtube channel -- where the post all sorts of great highlights, live-streams, interviews, and more. Maybe I'll comment in one of their upcoming livestreams about d.tube and the amazing things happening on Steem. Check out their website, linked above, scope out the calendar, and maybe throw on a climbing competition while you cook. You'll learn a lot from watching other climbers and studying how they move their bodies to balance.


The Pitch (This is me talking about how I'm going to spend rewards -- if you're only here for climbing, you can skip this)

After my first few posts, I spent some time thinking about how I can make this space a little sexier. And two things came to mind that could really enable some cool looks at some cool places:

  • A drone;
  • A van.

I've picked out a nice cheap drone that I think should be a solid introduction to what I'm doing. Check thing out -- the Yuneeq Breeze 4k. It seems to shoot pretty high quality video, and it's way cheaper than most of the other ones. Does anyone have experience with this thing? I'd like to know.

My plan with these posts (aside from keeping a journal, generating motivation and the occasional giggle, and sharing some great climbing content when the good weather gets here) is to fund climbing gadgets (drone) and adventures (van). These will directly enable me to capture more interesting perspectives and get further into these climbing parks and be able to share more about each area.

If you've made it this far down the post, then I give you mad props. Be advised, on one of the @dtube posts I made earier, I ended up getting a pretty juice upvote out of it. It is my intention to use this money as a launch pad to, in some way, shape or form, promote these posts (please tell me what is and isn't acceptable -- please let me know if something is frowned upon).

When this post becomes roughly 24hrs old, I will use a portion of the liquid funds I have available and purchase some upvotes for this post:

  • I will leave all SP rewards powered up in my account;
  • I don't usually get much of a profit from this in terms of liquid rewards (though it can, and does, happen) -- and you can sometimes get less back than you put in. I will try to choose wisely.
  • Get your upvotes in before that, and enjoy whatever curator rewards you can get! I wont do any promotion or resteeming of my own before this -- I'm trying to make this a bonus, as small as it may be, for my followers.

Please upvote and resteem generously. There's some amazing places on the island that I would like to share. I try to respond to all questions and comments that I get, so make some noise! If you have any questions about some of the climbing jargon / lingo I used, just ask, and I'll break it down. I might even make it a feature in my next post, in which case I'll give you some credit, and maybe even some kind of reward... unknown at this time.

Be well, stay safe, and I'll see you on the sharp side (once it dries out around here).


Previous CRUSHENING posts:

Sort:  

I really want you to have a drone so that I can be friends with someone who has a drone. I’ll say things like “bring the drone”. It’ll be rad.

Aww yeah your account finally got made! There will be some serious droning (as mine of negative as that sounds) this summer!

Fired up that you're on here! You're going to like it I think.

It’s already WAY too addictive.

Vanlife is definitely the easiest way to gain access to climbing spots! It's SO easy to pack up for a climbing weekend because everything's already packed! We usually just stop for snacks somewhere along the way on the way out. Super excited for you!!!

Thanks! It's gonna be a long road to get the van -- but I'm pretty close to being able to pick up a drone, which should go a long way to snagging some fun perspectives. Gonna be pretty wet around these parts for another couple months though, so I've got some time to get stuff figured out. Thanks for stopping by again!

You gotta get out of the way of my shots if you don't wanna get hit! Don't try to make this my fault! :D

I fear that the rule book agrees with you... Official US Squash rules state that:

9.1 If the striker hits the ball which, before reaching the front wall, hits the opponent (including anything worn or carried), play shall cease. The Referee, in addition to considering possible infringement of Rule 17 shall assess the ball’s trajectory and shall:
9.1.1 award a stroke to the striker if the return would have been good and the ball would have struck the front wall without first touching any other wall, unless Rule 9.1.2 or 9.1.3 applies; (G4 & G5)

Shoot.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #sportsphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 06:53:34
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 517.60/800.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 88
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received gratitude of 0.96 % from @appreciator thanks to: @mstafford.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62059.45
ETH 2433.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63