THE CRUSHENING - DAY 09

in #climbing7 years ago (edited)

"Workout" No. 009 ~~ JAN/16

Base Fitness Phase – Week 1


Day 9.jpg


HOT DIGGITY DANG, HOMIES!

It's Tuesday... Like Mardi Gras, except instead of getting gras, we're getting flaco!+## GET SOME!

Today is day nine of our infinite day workout series, and it also happens to coincide with another day of:

OPTIONAL Aerobic Exercise.

January 2018 - Season 1

climbing scedule Day 9.jpg

Click for fullscreen version

OHHHHH man you KNOW we opted IN today though. We absoloutely did!


It was a slow start to the morning, because we stayed up a bit later than we expected watching movies and writing our post from yesterday. Note to self: you make a lot of typo's -- and you're not a very good writer -- you also you dashes too much. However, the last week of early mornings to walk the dog (now that @caitycat has early classes) has been a nice way to start the day (once I get some coffee).
IMG_20180115_072158_HDR.jpg
Me and the boys on a 7am cruise past Uranus.
The day kept going on though, and we say that beautiful blue sky outside the window.
IMG_20180116_130353.jpg
So we went downstairs.
IMG_20180116_113426_DRO.jpg
And got changed.
IMG_20180116_114407_DRO.jpg

And went runNINGuh.

gump


The Workout:

The Plan (The Good):

Today was an OAE day.Not much to it other than that. Get some cardio going -- strengthen your heart / blood flow / lungs / diaphragm. Breath often, and pretty hard.

Objective Review (The Bad):

Ooooo data time bitches! Charts and such! I found my heart rate monitor today too -- so you get to see how my ticker is doing. I even have a wifi scale -- so you can see how much mass is doing as well.

SUMMARY

AAAA.png
So we're looking at an average speed of 9.7km/hr, which is roughly a 6:10min/km pace. Nothing special -- nothing horrible. We were just out there enjoying the sunshine.

OH YOU KNOW WE'RE GONNA GET INTO IT

Screenshot from 2018-01-16 22-35-16.png
touch me and I'll get bigger ;)
So check it. We can see a couple things here:

  • We had an average heartrate of 85% of maximum.
    • Our max heart rate was about 187bpm, which, based on a couple different sources seems to be "good" (which is often kinda pretty bad) for our age (turning 31 in May 2018).
  • We slowed down and took a bit of a break at around 4km (to take some photos and catch our breath... mostly to catch our breath).
  • There was a slight downhill at the start of the run, mostly flat for a bit, then a short climb back up, and a mostly flat / downhill back to the office.
Subjective Review (The Ugly):

Today was an absoloutely, incredibly, moderately alright day. I gotta say, I've been doing a little dabbling with fasting that last half year or so -- both 'intermittent' and 'extended' duration fasts. I just finished exercising 3 days in a row, and am on the tail end of a 40hr fast since Sunday evening.
I was starting to break down and feel like I was hitting that all too familiar "wall" that I have crashed into in a half / full marathon race. However, I managed to break through it and feel really good again after slowing down a bit and focusing on my breath. I should write a post about fasting, my thoughts on it, and some of the evidence I've come across in favor of the practice -- but that's for another time.

Generally, if you lump the sunshine in there -- I'd give todays effort a solid 8.5/10. Everything's easier on a nice day.


You know... I hadn't really thought about what I was going to share from my experiences with climbing for this post. I think what might be interesting is if I were to dig into my emails and see some of the links I had emailed myself (in a "Note to self:" kind of mentality so I wouldn't lose it... Lets see what we've got:
This is one of the first articles I ever sent myself, and it's regarding the importance of climbing technique as well as strength -- from Evening Sends. It was a bit of an eye opener, and since then, I've always kind of imagine climbing as a kind of dance with gravity.

That's it for now -- I'll see you on Day 10! We're gonna go back to the gym for another ARC session! Lets do this! Only a .... bunch more to go....


The Pitch (This is me talking about how I'm going to spend rewards -- if you're only here for climbing, you can skip this)

My plan with these posts (aside from keeping a journal, generating motivation and the occasional giggle, and sharing some great climbing content when the good weather gets here) is to fund climbing gadgets (drone) and adventures (van). These will directly enable me to capture more interesting perspectives and get further into these climbing parks and be able to share more about each area.

If you've made it this far down the post, then I give you mad props. Be advised, on one of the @dtube posts I made earier, I ended up getting a pretty juice upvote out of it. It is my intention to use this money as a launch pad to, in some way, shape or form, promote these posts (please tell me what is and isn't acceptable -- please let me know if something is frowned upon).

When this post becomes roughly 24hrs old, I will use a portion of the liquid funds I have available and purchase some upvotes for this post:

  • I will leave all SP rewards powered up in my account;
  • I don't usually get much of a profit from this in terms of liquid rewards (though it can, and does, happen) -- and you can sometimes get less back than you put in. I will try to choose wisely.
  • Get your upvotes in before that, and enjoy whatever curator rewards you can get! I wont do any promotion or resteeming of my own before this -- I'm trying to make this a bonus, as small as it may be, for my followers.

Please upvote and resteem generously. There's some amazing places on the island that I would like to share. I try to respond to all questions and comments that I get, so make some noise! If you have any questions about some of the climbing jargon / lingo I used, just ask, and I'll break it down. I might even make it a feature in my next post, in which case I'll give you some credit, and maybe even some kind of reward... unknown at this time.

Be well, stay safe, and I'll see you on the sharp side (once it dries out around here).


Previous CRUSHENING posts:

Sort:  

You got a 1.49% upvote from @upme requested by: @mstafford.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mstafford to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Dear @mstafford ,
With this post you've been qualified for the @runningproject .
Next step now: Transfer 1 SDB or 1 STEEM to @runningproject and get enrolled.
Keep on running!

The day has only 23 hours and not 24, do you know why? Because one hour is booked always for running.
@runningproject quote

Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42