Fisherman at the Malecón in Havana, Cuba

in #sportsphotography7 years ago (edited)

I looked it up and fishing is actually considered a sport, so I am happy to be able to submit this photo from Cuba to the #sportsphotography contest by @photocontests curated by @juliank!

I captured this fisherman at the Malecón, the esplanade in Havanna. In the background, there is the Castillo de los Tres Reyes del Morro, a fortress guarding the entrance to Havana bay.

01-jpp-20151222.jpg
130mm, f8, 1/400; Click on image to enlarge

Camera Gear

The camera I used for these photos is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent photo posts!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

This fisherman truly looks like he knows his business.

I guess he does!

I think I know exactly where this spot is :) Our apartment was like a 5-minute walk to Malecon :) Nice shot, cool background.

Well, that sounds like a great location to base yourself in Havana! I loved centro habana, so much life there!

Great shot! I love the fishermen at the Malecón and to photograph them around sundown creates the most atmospheric pictures!

Thanks for your comment! The fishermen at the Malecón were an amazing motive!

In general the Malecon ist just wonderful for photography and social life. One of my most favorite parts of Havana!

Nice! I'm dying to go back to see where my mom grew up in. Thanks for sharing! 🇨🇺

Cool! Cuba is such an interesting place, I hope you will make it there and see for yourself!

yep !! nice candid click :) fishing is livelihood for some and sport to the other however the latter would be more exciting to watch as they catch the fishes with so much hunger to win the contest.
Thanks for sharing ;) this pic made me feel nostalgic when I used to for fishing with my friends :)

Thank you!I think the guy in the photo is more of a professional fisher than a sports fisher, you have a point there! :D But watching the fishermen at the Malecón was really exciting!

Great photo. I've heard that Havana is stunning, I hope I'll visit it one day.

Havana is amazing, you should really visit!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fisherman-at-the-malecon-in-havana-cuba


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42