Long-Distance Running Versus Injury: How I Ran 100+ Miles In June

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

I ran a mile. Then I ran 99+ more miles.

Ok, I'll admit that's a little snarky. On the one hand, that's all there is to it. On the other, how you spread those miles out over time is extremely important. And it's something I learned the hard way.

In truth, though, I'm thrilled with this number. It's both a milestone and a personal record for miles run in a month. When my running ap told me I'd hit 100 miles for the month, I thought, hot damn! Then I kept running.

RunRoad2.jpg

Running is one of those things (like writing), which I do because I have to. It's the only anti-depressant I've found that works. It's the only thing that makes me feel fully awake, so it's my respite from narcolepsy. It's also the closest I come to meditation (which does send me to sleep), and it's where I generate most of my creative ideas.

Unfortunately, it's also the way I injure myself.

I started running consistently a couple of years ago, when I discovered the benefits of doing it regularly. After running 3.1 miles (a 5-K) every day for nearly a month, I pushed myself on a much longer run - about eight miles. I'd discovered some new trails, the endorphins were flowing, and I was high on life. I ignored the discomfort around the top of my left leg until, suddenly, I could barely walk. I'd strained my hip-flexor and also my glutes.

It took me over a month until I could hit the trails again.

A year later, when I stopped working full-time, I kicked my running back into high gear. I'd been increasing the mileage much more gradually this time. But for some reason I felt compelled to take nine consecutive six mile (10 kilometer) runs. 10K Every Day! was my motto.

This time the old injury struck with no warning at all.

It was a real bummer, because this was around New Year's, and I really wanted to log a lot of miles in 2017. After taking several weeks off (and going a little mad with the lack of physical activity) I had to start again with two-mile daily runs.

So this is what's worked for me, in 2017.

I limit my running to five days a week. No long-term "streaking." It's clear my muscles and tendons need at least a couple days a week to rest and recover.

I increase my weekly mileage limit by a max of 10% each week. This is the accepted wisdom for injury free training, and though I've read on some websites that it's just a rule of thumb, it seems to work for me.

After I've increased the distance for four consecutive weeks, I'll step it back down 10% for a "recovery" week, then repeat the increases again.

I use a spreadsheet to track my targets, and plan the routes in advance so I'm not tempted to explore some long new trails.

If I start to feel any symptoms of pain or discomfort, I'll rest for an additional day or two. Running is such an ingrained habit by now that this makes me extremely anxious. I'll have to apologize to the Wife in advance for my mood when this happens. But after two serious injuries, I'm terrified that the next one could stop me for good. I don't want to think about how life would feel without my fix.

Maybe it's as much an addiction as exercise. So be it.

In any case it's taken me over half the year to get back up to that 10K distance. And, big-picture perspective, I've been trying to get here for years. So - hooray! I think I'll stop adding extra miles for a few weeks and just enjoy where I'm at.

Sneakers.jpg

The only other tip is to keep in good supply of fresh shoes, although I don't buy them as often as manufacturers suggest. Two pair every four to six months seems to work for me, and I'll alternate them so I'm not running in the same shoes for two consecutive days.

I'm not really interested in doing marathons or competitive races. This is all strictly for personal satisfaction, and keeping up with the goals in that spreadsheet is enough of a challenge.

If you're interested in running:

I recommend starting with a short distance - short enough that you don't feel you're pushing yourself too hard on any given day. It'll become a habit in a few months and then you won't be able to live without it. Just be careful when you start breaking through those barriers and suddenly feel like you can run for ever and ever. As hard as it might be to believe when you're starting out and you're huffing and puffing, the day will come that you just want to run and run. Congratulations! Your lungs and heart are stronger than they've ever been. But sometimes your cardio improves so much that your muscles can't keep up.

Other than that, yeah, just keep putting one foot in front of the other. Until you reach the end. And then stop.

You can do it again tomorrow.

RunEnd.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for your advices, lately i had the same problem where i run 10km / day for 2 weeks. I had old shoes and usually i walk 12km per day but i don't run. After 1 week i started to feel pain at my knee, i kept running anyway spartan mood. 1 week later i could barely walk , so i've stopped, now i slowly recover.
So you're right we should be progressive , have good shoes and rest enought :)

Running is great and I used to run a lot on a daily basis for years, chasing after that euphoric high when I hit a certain distance but alas... my right started giving me problems, giving me lightning jolts of pain every time I attempted to start running. Yes, be aware and watch for any little signs of injury, they usually start out small. Have fun and be safe :)

Ugh, sorry to hear that. Have you ever tried to get back into it or do you still feel discomfort from the injury?

The discomfort is real so I am mostly on a cross-trainer at the gym now, that has a lot less impact on my knee. I would love to be able to run in the open again, will that happen? I'm not sure :(

I also run alot in morning :)

Not good Winston! You're are endangering your health! I understand you do it for mental reasons too, but weights can offer the same benefit: done properly, you'll be trying to catch your breath between sets, and fail. You could also do burpees in a fraction of the time that you do running, and drop from exhaustion after only a few minutes. Again, I understand that running on a trail in nature with fresh air etc. can't compare with my recommendations, but you must figure this out otherwise I fear that your fear that you describe above will come true! Read my comments to this article here: https://steemit.com/science/@ben.zimmerman/why-is-exercise-good-for-the-brain-an-evolutionary-neuroscience-perspective I'll link to your article there as well, since it verifies what I was saying.

Edit: Maybe bicycling? I don't know that it won't lead to the same problems tho.

Edit 2: Swimming? Can you do swimming where you live? I mean open water.

Do you think 5-6 miles a day for 5 days a week is too much? I know lots of runners do more than this, and certainly marathon training is even more demanding.

I'm pretty happy with the one hour, 6 mile run, so I probably won't be extending it much further.

I have experimented with weights, swimming, kayaking, etc. For some reason I've just never been able to turn any of them into a habit. Part of the appeal of running is that I live in a beautiful area and love seeing the trails every day.

Thanks for the good discussion and for linking my article.

Not too much maybe, but I do think running for an hour a day will cause some harm down the road, though it might take years, even decades, for the effects to become apparent. And since you expressed concern yourself, I thought it was even more critical in your case. These are just opinions, of course, not so much based on studies, but mostly on cases of people I know who've been running, and also extrapolated from what I know about how our species evolved in the past. Humans did quite a lot of walking, yes. But no running. They did as little running as they could. This is true for extant native cultures too. Humans are generally lazy! But menial work was always part of the picture.

That's so awesome, I have a lot of running addicts in my in-law side of the family, and I would be happy just to be able to go for a walk, like I've been threatening to do for the last 6 months, watching my love of baking take its toll on my waistline LOL!!! I think the secret of loving baking, is to GIVE the baked goods away rather than keep all the homemade bread, biscuits and desserts in the house, but my poor boys...! AHAHHAHAHAA.

I'm very proud of you for reaching this milestone, and for knowing the limits of your body! Well done @winstonalden <3 <3 <3

Thanks @lyndsaybowles. If you're ever overwhelmed with baked goods you could always send some our way! ;-)

AHHAHAA I would be honoured to...but even better if you just come up here, then we can have a big ol Maritimes feast!!

We'll take you up on that someday!

I sure hope so!

Great article.. Especially love towards the end when you say "Other than that, yeah, just keep putting one foot in front of the other. Until you reach the end. And then stop.".. Sometimes when I feel down I too will run or go for a walk, as no matter what happens in life, no matter how down you get one thing we have is being able to put one foot in front of the other and keep moving forward.. Thanks for this article I really enjoyed reading it.

Congratulations @winstonalden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like running but I have a bad achilles tendon so I have to keep it limited, mu friend @demilee-fitness is a good runner though

Hi Winston. I think you have taken the right turn and as it shows you have less problems with injuries. I used to have a lot of problems with my knees in 2014 and what kept me going again are two things: 1) being grateful for every run you can do with less pain and thanking for that in a sort of mantra (seriously) - thank you for my knees working properly with less or without any pain; 2) doing alternative work outs, like push ups, squats, etc. It really helps to strengthen your muscles and to prevent injuries.
One last advice - I know, that running almost every day is very important for you. You are doing now two days of rest. I have just made the experience that resting for one week really gives you new strength. You don't loose substance and you gain physical and psychological power. You could swim a little bit in that week or doing a 20min workout, but don't run. Maybe it is worth a try. Best Frank from Hamburg

You're right, I really should mix it up with different exercise. For some reason, running is the only one I enjoy - but being grateful for each run I can take is important.

Thanks for all the thoughtful advice. And good luck with your knees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33