Polygon Square One: The bike they claim to be able to climb mountains, and descend once at the top. The bike with ultimate grip.

in #sports6 years ago

26112302_10155436399584401_4667860358470605607_n.jpg
So how did I get this opportunity? I am very lucky to be friends with some great pro athletes namely the Hannah siblings who race for UR Team. Thank you to Mick and Tracey Hannah for being great ambassadors of the sport and of mountain biking in general.
The bike, a Polygon Square One, is an obscure and polarising bike with 180mm travel front and rear, 27.5” wheels and a rear suspension and swing arm thanks to the R3ACT. Some like the look, others not so much, but I am in the ‘love it’ camp.
The track: Innot Hot Springs, private motorcycle track. The conditions were hot and dusty with some rocks, well lots of rocks and soft sand. The track consisted of open fire roads and single track with some tight twisty corners. The fire roads had some nice short descents in to creeks with a nice rocky entrance and climb out more likened to rough 4wd tracks.
So how did the Square One go on this? If forced to use one word: “AMAZING!” but luckily I’m not and here goes the breakdown. Initially getting on the bike you think hmmm this thing is going to have some serious pedal bob with such a soft compression and rebound, I get up and crank on the pedals in the standing position and the bike just spins the rear Kenda Helldiver and rips off to a sensational start. This bike grips and moves with haste. Yes it bobbed, but that bob tended to translate into forward momentum. I sit down and settle into my ride and at the same time the bike also settles into a smooth and comfortable ride. The pedal bob has gone and my legs turn over with ease and the bike just starts to motor. Now those who know me know that I’m not that quick on a bike, especially when I have to pedal, but I found myself cruising at a nice speed on the way up to the start of the single track. A short 3 km distance but most of it has some nice steady climbs. Once I reached the start of the single track and after a little pause to get my breath back I was off. Hitting soft sand, powder corners with rocks and trees over the track are a challenge on a motorbike but not a challenge on the Square One. I was faster and had more fun through the tight sections than on the motorbike. Now back on the fire roads I had the chance to pick some speed and try the marvel of engineering through the rough and rocky creeks and deep soft sand of the road. I headed into the creeks with no fear, just a thought that if I don’t carry the speed I won’t get out the other side without disembarking this wonderful steed via the handle bar. On the way up out of the creeks over the rocks I climbed, drop down on the gears and start the pedalling on my climb out, the rocks and small ledges which would be impassable on my Trek Fuel Ex 9.8 the Square One did it with ease and never felt like it was even riding on rough ground. 45 mins into the ride I stopped and thought wow this bike is fun and smooth, all the time feeling like my heart was jumping out of my chest. Time was getting on and with the sun going down I turned back to camp. Whilst on my ride back I felt a peculiar sensation, not uncommon when you push the body too hard. Yep... I was pushing and I popped. Luckily it didn’t take too long to recover. I rode back on the fire roads and hit the creeks and sand with enthusiasm to get back to camp and grab a nice cold whisky and coke.
TL:DR
So breakdown on how the bike feels. Fast, smooth (pedal bob? what’s that?). This bike made me smile for hours after riding it. It is so smooth and enjoyable to ride. The back end on this bike rolls over rocks, bumps and lumps like they don’t exist. I mean seriously you don’t feel them at all. Even when you’re pedalling this bike it just moves forward. Even those rocks or bumps that would normally hold you up or slow you down don’t even bother you. Going down a hill over rough terrain this bike is settled and smooth with ultimate control of the back wheel. The front of this bike is controlled and travels well. The sensation this bike gives you when riding it leaves you searching for the roughest and hardest lines you can pick.
So would I buy one? YES!
Can I buy one? No, sadly I’m poor and my future wife somehow thinks that one mountain bike is enough.
Would I recommend a Polygon Square One to someone? YES.
Who would this bike benefit? Everyone. And I mean everyone - who wants to ride uphill, downhill and everything in between. This bike would be suitable for beginner to elite, for enduro and trail. I am really finding it hard to hand this bike back. I’m sorry Mick, but I don’t wanna. Polygon please send me one these bikes, it is amazing and I want to share this bike with everyone I know because once ridden you will all want to buy one. Sell all your other bikes and buy this: it’s the one bike to rule them all.

Sort:  
Cycling Community on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those wheels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

One bike to rule them all

That's strong. On long unending climbs would it be a bit slower than an XC bike?

I have never quite trusted the jack of all trades in any product

Thanks for the review!

Yeah i can understand your view. Yes the XC will climb better but on your decent it wont be as much fun. It is a strong claim and i stand by it. I currently ride a trek fuel ex9.8 120mm travel and find the Square one had much less pedal bob.

Nice full suspension, is it a 27.5?
They are much better for downhill.
Tough decision when deciding what type of bike when your only allowed one..lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54