My 5 favorite wrestlers of all time

in #sports6 years ago

I have been a fan of wrestling since the days of intentionally going "over time" during the one-hour weekly broadcast of The National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) and needing to run to the drugstore to pick up a $2 wrestling mag to keep up with my favorites. I had many that I kind of liked over the years and for the most part I don't really care for the superstars of today. I suppose it is just because I got older because the talent is just as good and certainly a lot more athletic then it was (for the most part) in the 80's.

Anyway, this is my opinion so it is simply isn't possible for me to be wrong :P

# 5: Bray Wyatt

This guy did it for me with a combination of having a completely unorthodox style, great microphone skills, an incredible ring intro and also because of his costumes. I have to admit that the writers kind of lost me when they started projecting gross images onto the ring at Wrestlemania (like maggots and what not) as part of his "powers."



# 4: Edge

I particularly enjoyed Edge during his days with Christian where they were a Canadian tag-team that would travel around the USA insulting the patriotic nature of certain cities. Of course it was a gimmick but it was lots of fun to see how riled up the crowd would get over this. They were fantastic heels. Also Edge's intro music and the way he would slide under the bottom rope to the center of the ring during his intro was just fantastic. I liked him a bit less at "The Rated-R Superstar" but he was still a cut above most of the rest.

# 3: Triple H

While he didn't have the microphone promo skills of the first two he was still decent. I think the thing that appealed to me most is his cheating ways and the politics that he manipulated into ring victories. Cheating is a major part of pro wrestling and well, there aren't many that have done that more than "The Game." He also had continually awesome intros including the time he spent with DX, which many would argue was his heyday. I was a bit unhappy when he cut his hair but as someone who once had hair that was several feet long, I can relate to why someone would want to do that.

# 2:Lex Luger

Luger was the first superstar I can ever recall having the physique that he did. I mean, he was a monster compared to the physicality of his opponents back in the 80's and we all know where a lot of that came from. Apparently Luger was actually a bit of a liability in the ring as he was inexperienced and would frequently botch moves and hurt his opponents for real. He gained skill on the microphone throughout the years but for the most part that was never his thing and he was just happy to be the super muscular guy that let Arn Anderson, Ric Flair, and Tullly Blanchard do the talking (which by the way is my pick for the best ever 4-Horsemen.)

# 1: Nature Boy Ric Flair

I don't think there are a great many people out there that will contest Flair's reign as the G.O.A.T.. I mean he was truly one of a kind. His microphone skills were completely unparalleled, he LIVED the life of Naitch to the point of spending all of his money on maintaining the persona of the "jet-flyin, limousine ridin... WOO! sonofagun." This unsurprisingly resulted in the destruction of multiple relationships that he had throughout the years.

The figure-four leglock was iconic, even though it wasn't his invention, nor was even his persona. However, he perfected it and added multiple gimmicks that included putting opponents over with his self-deprecating moves such as his hilarious face-planting flop, begging for mercy, or flipping over the turnbuckle only to be clothes-lined hard onto the ground. He certainly had no fear of blood either as it became pretty expected that he would be a cut up mess by the end of pretty much every match until this was banned.

I mean he was completely married to the business. His level of dedication is unmatched and his entertainment factor filled coliseums all around the world. I can think of no other person that could fill the top end of this list and while you are not going to be capable of convincing me otherwise, i would like to hear what your top 5 are, or even your top one.

Sort:  

Wow nice edge and triple h are among my favourites too.in addition to it my favourites are the undertaker,randy orton,jeff hardy,brock,roman and cena...
Thank you..
Yours @summisimeon

100% upvote worth $0.39from @betgames

awesome buddy. Thanks for contributing. I don't like Cena and Roman but i agree on all other counts!

Yaa they make us bored but undertaker entrance is enough for whole show.jericho's entrance too is good.it will steal all the show.randy an jeff will entertain more.what about brock? He is just beast throws ppl into air with SUPLEX CITY

all great examples. Of the people you mentioned none of them have very good promo skills except for Jericho. He is one of the best ever as far as that is concerned.

I guess my top 5 would probably be:

  1. The Rock
  2. Sting
  3. Ernie Ladd
  4. Superstar Billy Graham
  5. Ric Flair

All of these guys were not only great in the ring but also on the mic. I would pay the price of admission just to here these guys do a promo.

It is great to see SBG on anyone's list. Sting started out not so great on the mic, but honestly, he became one of the best there ever will be. Apparently, he is also a really quality dude just in a general sense also.

Downvotet for not having the Ultimate Warrior, Shawn Michaels or The Undertaker.... ;-)

lol. well, I like all of those guys except for the Ultimate Warrior. But to be fair to him we did not have cable in my household when he was in his prime, so i wasn't actually subjected to a lot of what was going on in WWF. Apparently he was a real pain in the butt to wrestle because he wasn't very technically experienced and would hurt people on the regular .

Yeah I heard this as well.

The WWE made a documentary about him, but he refused to be part of it so they made him look bad at least I heard this rumor.

But he was so famous that the WCW pretty much copied him, I think the guy was called dingo warrior or so and really hated it.

I forgot about Razor Ramon as well...I think the ladder match against shawn michaels was the best match I have ever seen.

I absolutely agree with you on your number. The Nature Boy is the best that ever did it. "Wheter you like or you don't like it. Learn to love it, because it is the best thing going today. Whooo."

i will never grow tired of that quote. It is actually a bit sad to me to see him growing old, but i am happy he is still staying in the public eye. WHOOOO

Oohhh this is kind of article i am looking for. Dont forget old is gold Rock. "If you smell what the rock is cooking " . And the great india Khali. I lime this both mostly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Khali, while a great shout out for India was actually pretty terrible technically. This is not meant to be insulting for you or anyone else, he just had very little to offer other from being freakishly huge. I suppose in that regard a lot like Luger.

Rock will always be a legend, but as you can tell by my list, i tend to not like the "good guys"

i like Gold berg And brock lesner And stone cold steve austen and undertake and the rock they are the leaders very good post thank u for sharing about wrestling and hope u share more

your choice is unique @gooddream, but brock lesner and gold berg can not be ignord. brock lesner should never forget because he has defeated under taker and braun strowman. and all know his F-5 move very dangerous to all wrestler

good ones! Brock and Goldberg will not be ignored for sure. Although it is rumored that Goldberg was actually very untalented technically and was actually very difficult to wrestle because he didn't know how to safely execute (or receive) a lot of moves.

It didn't stop him from being (who's next?!?) one of the most famous ever.

I full totally agree with you my friends @gooddream and what about my favourate beast brock lesner and his move F-5, tell us about somthing, you not love him

image980.jpg

I like Lesner both as a WWE superstar and in UFC. I can completely understand why he would leave UFC after a few losses though. He gets paid much more to be involved in wrestling. It was fun while it lasted and any time he wants to go and have a go at fighting in the octagon again I am quite sure that Dana White would welcome him.

also drug tests made him leave ;-)

The best wrestler as for me from 1996 to 2001 is kane but after take off his mask i forgot the wrestleng forever

thanks for commenting with your own words buddy :) I too like Kane. Did you know that he is now a successful politician in Kentucky i think? It might be Tennessee .

I love John Cena, big fan! Heard after a long time about wwe.
keep up with good content

While I know that John Cena is probably one of the nicest celebrities out there I have never liked his persona in WWE. This is likely because I tend to like the bad guys and Cena has always been a babyface and always will be. I do however admire his dedication to fitness.. i mean my goodness, the sweatbands he wears on his arms, are actually intended to go around a normal person's head!

In the movie Daddy's Home, he is referred to as a person who has "leg arms" and that is the truth. haha

Your top 5 is very good although Mexico has the monopoly of the great wrestling fighters hahahaha Greetings and my respects friend.

I need to look into that more. yes, I think that the wrestling culture in Mexico has an extremely dedicated fanbase, so i hear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35