How to run a Half Marathon - And how you can too!

in #sports8 years ago (edited)

I used to never run but accepted a challenge to run a Half Marathon. 4 months later I passed the finish line just above 2 hours at 21 km. Something happened to me during the training, suddenly I started to like running and I think you can too! I want to share how I was able to do it and give some advice on the way. Plus I'm gonna share every workout session from my program that a top running coach, Sanna Hed, helped me with.

Are you able to jog 5 km at a very slow pace? Then this program is for you. Notice your time at 5 km.

How to run a Half Marathon

My total training time was 16 weeks, divided in to 4 periods. Every week you run 3-4 times. Listen to your body. It's great to add some weight training for mobility and strenght. Practice 5-10 minutes of running technique every week. And eat well, you'll need a lot of energy!

Here is the 16 week running plan for Steemians!

1st period

Builds a foundation for coming weeks and you get used to run more than you're used to. At longer workouts you can run 2 minutes, then walk 1. I had a pretty tough first period, it's was cold outside and snowing all the time.

2nd period

The most demanding but also the most stimulating period! You will run longer sprints and distances. You can alternate with other cardiovascular exercise (cycling, swimming, rowing). At your longer running workouts you begin to run all the time. The pace is not that important but try to keep it up. I alternated with some swimming.

3d period

Now we speed up the pace! Be sure to make a difference between the different type of running sessions. And remember to have fun!

Final period!

Most of the work is done and it is time to have a really fun race! Imagine what you already accomplished, you are almost there!

Time to reach the target and run a Half Marathon!

Some Advice

Switch the pace between different running sessions. It leads to faster progress.

Sprints

Fast, faster, as fast as you can!

Regular running

Get your heart beating. Aim for the pace you want to run at the half marathon.

Long distance

Run slow, slower than you think. In the beginning you can even walk for 1 minute, then run for 2.


More advice...

Good shoes

Makes a big difference! Make sure you got shoes that don't hurt your feet. The best is to have two pair of shoes to switch between.

Listen to your body

Do you feel pain? Check it up and just continue when you're feeling well. I skipped at least 1-2 weeks of workouts because of pain in one knee.

Keep up the motivation!

I think this is the hardest part, a least in the beginning. I used to save a good podcast to listen at when running, make a list of great music, running outside to get some nice views, imagine what your gonna treat yourself with when you get home, slow down the pace for a while if you're exhausted and remember what progress you are making!


Best of luck and feel free to ask questions in the comments! More running posts will follow!

Do you like challenges? Check out and compete in the Steemit Food Challenge! Now we have 3 more prizes to win!

Sort:  

A 1/2 marathon is in my 5 year goals.... I am NOT a runner... Thanks for the inspiration!

you'll get there in 2 years max!!

Thanks!! You can do it! I also never seen myself as a runner. I think it helped to not have to run in a certain pace, but keep on running even if it was very slow or even if I skipped the lasts workouts. Rooting for you! :)

Glad to hear about the skipping workouts due to pain. It's easy to think you'll just push through it but as we get older that doesn't work so well.

Yes, better to be fine in the long run! I have a friend who continued running and then it took 6 months for her knee to get well instead of taking it easy for a while.

Never worked my self up to marathon endurance. Back in the day I did a lot of 10K races and that was about the extent to which I pushed my self. This is all good advice, especially the "Listen to your body" piece of advice. I can't tell you how many times I ignored a little twinge of pain and pushed forward only to end up sidelining my self for half a month because of it.

Thank you so much! 10 k is a good distance, I like it more than 21 K ;)

I "ran" a half marathon as a challenge I set for myself to do before I turned 50. I was 49, 11 months. About 5 miles in I twisted my ankle and walked the rest. Sad. But I did finish...with a 3 hr, 11 minute time. Yes, kinda pathetic.

Wonderful post @givemeyoursteem. Exercise is important. I love your plan. I would only add that "speed" shouldn't be a priority and I coach everyone asking me to "start slow and finish fast" . This is for every workout. The psychological benefits of finishing fast help to end on a good note.

See you out there..... FeedTheMachine

I started 'jogging' 5 years ago when I got roped into to doing Race for LIfe Breast Cancer, 5k - i still run now but not long distances , i give myself 30-45 mins a day, when I can - its to keep active and to allow me to have chocolate!!! lol - i do enjoy

haha I only do it to eat more chocolate :)

Thats great! Both the running and the chocolate haha ;)

I started running for half marathon last year. All your advice applied well. For me, I will take 1KM at a time. Always tell myself "Let's complete this 1KM" every time I passed the distance marker. For me the problem always getting my running rhythm in sync with my breathing. Need more training. End of this year going to be my first full marathon.

For those who want to run, all you need to do is to start. It sounds daunting at first. But once you start running, you will grow your confidence. For me, it's an ideal way to forgot all my problems and stress. While I'm running, only thing in my mind is to push my limits and finish what I've started.

Great advice for everyone!! I agree, it's a good way to get rid of stress and grow confidence. Wow, best of luck with your Marathon! :D

I started running recently, slowly but steady.. now I can sprint for at least 30 second about 6 times in a 45 min run.. I hope i'll be able to make the next half marathon. wish me luck x

That's great, good job! Best of luck with the half marathon!!

Awesome post! I have recently been doing crossfit and hope to run my first 5k soon. Though had to start with this first: https://steemit.com/health/@gmalhotra/weight-loss-it-s-hard-but-here-s-a-place-to-start

How do you like crossfit? I have been going 3x a week now since March and I love it. I feel so strong and it has given me the opportunity to practice yoga for my spiritual connection and less for my workout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94