Liverpool FC - Half season overview

in #sport7 years ago (edited)

Hey, football fans,

Before the start of this season, I shared my opinion and expectations for the upcoming LFC season that you can read here, and now I would like to make an overview of the season so far.

First things first, I want to pull back my words when I said I'm not satisfied with the purchase of Mohamed Salah. I couldn't be more wrong. He turned out to be our best player this season, undoubtedly, and I can also say that this is the best purchase of any European club in the last transfer window.

We are in December, but I can say our championship race has already ended. I hope that I will return to this post at the end of the season and say how I made a mistake. The fourth place is not something that the fans have expected and hoped for, but when you look at the complete picture, this is our reality. The cruel reality that follows Liverpool since the formation of the Premier League. If we take a look at the table we see Manchester United and Chelsea at 5 and 2 points in front, respectively, which is certainly not unattainable at this moment. But I would say that this is our maximum this season. There is a big point advantage and the difference in quality compared to leading Manchester City to even think about fighting for the first place. Nevertheless, we always have "the next season".

There are many positive things in the Liverpool game. We have one of the best attacking lines in the Premier League and Europe. We proved that in Champions League with two 7:0 wins. Coutinho, Firmino and Mane, with the help of newcomer Salah, make an incredible offensive quartet that causes big problems for all opposing teams. With young Solanke and just recovered Adam Lallana, as back up players, we can quietly welcome the second part of the season.

You can notice that I'm not counting on Daniel Sturridge here, although before the start of the season I called him to be our first option in the attack. However, many injuries left a trace on him, and therefore I think it would be best for the club and for him to change the environment and try, in less competition, to catch the continuity of the games and prepare himself for the World Cup which will take place in Russia.

In addition to these positive things, there are some negative ones, of course. I have to say that Dejan Lovren, Joel Matip and Ragnar Klavan do not possess enough quality for the Liverpool jersey, although I am very sympathetic of them. When we add the injury of the right back Nathaniel Clyne and always insecure Alberto Moreno, we come to our biggest problem this season (as well as the previous seasons) - defensive line. I already wrote about this problem earlier. In general, the Jürgen Klopp's game has always been based on a quick and offensive game, in football words - play to score more. But the Premier league is not forgiving, one mistake can cost you a lot. And we made too much of them.

YNWA!


Images 1, 2


Hope you found this post interesting! Don't forget to upvote and resteem it. Follow @teofilex11 to stay updated about future posts.

Sort:  

Porto fan here. Hope to beat you on Champions League next round but best of luck hope Klopp manages to get the defense improvements he needs to get Liverpool to where it belongs!

Let the best team win! :) Thank you @elafonso!

i couldnt agree more. Sallah turned out to be a million dollar deal for Liverpool, and bet he's got more to offer. Lovren needs to go as well. Nice write up!

You are right @bundayy! Thanks for the comment!

Nice write up, I think though that Klopp's football methodology/philosphy is somewhat changing, be it due to the players at his disposal or the realization that the premier league is a different animal to the Bundesliga. I could talk about LFC all day, look forward to your future articles....

I would like to see that change in Liverpool game, we need that if we want to compete with Manchester City and United, Chelsea, Tottenham... All these clubs conceded significantly less goals than Liverpool. Even Burnley conceded 8 goals less then us. We need to improve that segment of the game. Thank you @awonderfulme.

Same here, I think once he sorts out the defense we’ll be flying. Hopefully a surprise is in store for the January window.....VVD, maybe?

I think he would be a great addition to our squad.

Great read. As a lifelong Liverpool fan (finding football as a 9 year old lad in the 94-95 season), I've never been as confused with Liverpool as I have been over the past 2 seasons. We attack so beautifully at times, yet I'm always nervous (even at 3-0 up). I 100% think we need a defensive minded midfielder (like Masch used to be for us, and Kante is for Chelsea). I'm hoping Nabi Keita can be that player next season, and with the signing of a new keeper (and possibly van Dijk) hoping we can take another step forward next season. As for this, I wouldn't rule us out challenging for 2nd just yet. I think 2-6 is going to be hotly contested, with the trophy already going to the Ethihad unfortunately.

Hey @daiharris, it's always nice to meet more Liverpool fans. I'm a big fan of LFC since 1998, when I was 9 years old. Michael Owen was my childhood hero. I totally agree with you regarding Naby Keita, think he can make a great impact, we need that sort of a player. If we can strengthen our defensive line, the next season could be that season.
Thanks for the nice comment. :)

I'm a big Liverpool fan, Salah on great form worth evry penny.
need to sort ou the defence to many errors which will cost us later on need a new goal keeper.

great post

I totally agree with you. Thank you @randomlytold.

Ha a true soccer fan @teofilex11! I've up-voted to support your efforts in sharing your enthusiasm. Personally, I'm really looking forward to the world cup next year in Russia.

I actually came to let you know about the final part of my 3 part series to improve Steemit engagement skills. I hope you will learn something useful to take you to the next level here on Steemit as well as have fun reading it like I did preparing it.

15 Powerful Persuasive Tips To Guarantee A Respond on Steemit - Part 3

Please drop by, and if you have the time, do leave me some feedback.

Highest Regards,
DrSMWong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67