Self-Reflecting Reality

in #spirituality6 years ago

Some of the basic ideas in Buddhism have really changed my way of looking at the world and my fellow humans, and I'd like to share with you how that works.


buddha-face.jpg
source: Public Domain Pictures.net

Buddhism still confuses me. Is it a religion, faith, or just a philosophy of life? Buddha is not a god and there is no worshiping of one of more almighty beings. Maybe it's a religion without a God, because it certainly has it's rituals, scriptures and organization, that give it some religious aspects. But whatever it is, to me it's mainly a method of traveling along a spiritual path with the goal of understanding one's self and its relation to reality.

This principle I tried to capture in the title of this post. The most important realization that changed my world-view is the simple fact that everything I see, everything I experience, is basically a reflection of my self. And at this point I'd like to throw in a word of caution before continuing, and want to emphasize that what follows is not to say that there's no objective reality. It's not meant to affirm the postmodern nihilism that says there are no universal truths, only personal truths.

But, everything I see is filtered by my self. Everything I am, everything I've learned and experienced, all that has accumulated to form the being that is me, shapes for a great part what I see. This realization came to me late in life, maybe two years ago approximately, when I heard this explained in such a clear manner that I want to repeat that explanation here, for you. I don't remember who it was, or I would have linked the video where I heard it. I don't even remember if it was Alan Watts, or maybe Alan Wallace or another Buddhist teacher or even someone different completely. Doesn't matter, as the explanation is simple enough for me to reproduce here :-)

The fact that we truly experience reality through a very specific filter of the self is illustrated best with language. When someone speaks, the vibrations that go through the air and reach your ears, are not words. They're just sounds, nothing more. Only in our brains, in our minds, in our consciousness we attach meaning to those sounds and understand them as words. This is true, because if that same person starts talking in a language you don't understand, it's all gibberish to your consciousness. And imagine a language that is so alien to you that you can't even recognize any type of rhythm, groupings of sounds that you would associate with anything like "language", and you've got the picture. Sounds reach our ears and in our minds they become words with meaning. Language is the convention of sounds and meaning.


Inkblot.jpg
The first card in the Rorschach inkblot test.
source: Wikimedia Commons


The same goes for sight; what reaches your eyes is nothing more than shapes and colors, that's it. Only in the mind we recognize objects and beings and we can name them to :-) But we see only that which our personal filter allows us to see. This is what the Rorschach test, or ink blot test, is all about.

We can extrapolate this rule of thumb to all perceptual experiences and the emotions these experiences bring with them. This means, and this is why this simple rule is often so hard to accept, that if we see ugliness everywhere, if we have many conflicts, if we're short tempered, easily offended, the ugliness is most probably inside our-self. It's our filter that shows us an ugly world. If, for example, you're having conflicts all the time, you can do two things: hate the world, or realize that the other common factor in all the conflicts is you.

The spiritual path I mentioned in the beginning is one of self-examination essentially in which we try to eliminate as much causes for inner suffering as possible, like hate, anger, jealousy... Heck, I just realized: Yoda was a Buddhist! ;-) And on the other hand cultivate causes for inner happiness like love, understanding, patience et cetera. All this is easier said than done. But it always helps to start with small steps: that's what I'm trying to do. Just try to decide, for yourself, on one cause of inner suffering, and try to eliminate just that one. When interacting with other people and something happens, or someone says something, that makes you angry, try to recognize that before responding or reacting. And then try to see if there's something in your own mind that causes the anger, or if there's another way to react than with anger.

I'm still learning, still taking those first small steps and try to be as mindful as I can. But it's difficult and it takes time. So I hope you'll forgive me if I slip up from time to time ;-) I'm grateful that you found your way to my blog, dear reader, and thank you for reading this article. I'll be back tomorrow and hope to see you back here too! Until the, stay mindful and keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Emanate: Audio Exchange Protocol
EmergenceBelieve Me. Really, You Can Trust Me.
Machine Learning To Divide And ConquerThe Century Of The Selfie
The Sixth Mass ExtinctionMoral Foundations Of The Free Market Economy

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

Sort:  

I love this topic and how you’ve expressed it.
Self-reflection in terms of not just understanding how our actions and reactions affects others and ourselves, but also how to develop an awareness that can actively intercede before we react to ‘so-called’ external stimulus is such an important practice to maintain a happy disposition.
A lot of this starts with coming to understand the difference between observation (which is an objective way to assess things so we can develop a process of self-correction, for want of a clearer term) and judgment (which is a subjective way of viewing things and intransigently compartmentalising them, often imbibed with some level of emotional investment).

Regarding Buddhism: whilst the principles that Siddarhta/Gautama espoused were amazingly helpful, clear and astute, many of the sects that follow and adhere to the term ‘Buddhist’ are indeed very religious. My mother is a ‘Tibetan Buddhist’ nun and much of what I have studied of Tibetan Buddhism is very dogmatic and whilst they claim to worship no God and call themselves atheists, they do actually worship many supernatural deities, have stringent rules about how many lifetimes it’ll take to become enlightened if one does a certain number of quotidian prostrations and mantras, whilst fearing going to hell realms after death in what could be considered to be akin to a catholic level of belief.

Anyway, mindfulness is the key and to live in a consistent mindful state so that we aren’t governed by our reactive emotional state takes a heck of a lot of training for most of us.

I Love your posts!!!!

Thanks so much Nathan; you know how much I appreciate and value your thoughts on these matters :-) And again, you manage to educate me; I guess I feel some jealousy surfacing now I've learned that you were raised with this principle from an early age ;-)

Knowing how you're a personification of positive mindfulness, I love that you love my posts! This kind of support is priceless, as are you, my friend :-) <3

PS
We should talk about kids and purple palace births as soon as possible :-)

Great article, it is always to find the peace in yourself around a world of suffering.

Thank you, @chesatochi! I'm so glad you liked it :-)

Winston, my dear – you're speakin' my language (pun sort of intended.)

I haven't been around much to say this nearly as often as it should be said, but you're a gentleman of the most wonderful character.

I appreciate how you see, interpret and and move through the world; perhaps that's just my lens of narcissism, seeing myself so much in you. ;)

envision14-803.jpg

You are a beautiful person, Zippy :-) <3

And this is easily one of the most beautiful responses I've ever had - looking at that magnificent picture

But it's your wisdom that makes me appreciate this comment even more; I'm humbled and honored :-)

every single one of our universes is filtered by our "mind"... I don't see the same one, don't smell the same way... every and each of us are kings and queens of our "realms". I'm not really religious, I am kind of a meditative person and I have no idea how to meditate though I sit long in Nature and my doctors told me I meditate more than I sleep, I do these things unconsciously, but I find my own peace, I filter my own peace.

Looking at the wonderful pictures you regularly post, of your beautiful self in lush green, almost fairy-tale like surroundings, I'd guess you're a natural talent when it comes to mindfulness and achieving peace of mind. And we, all of us who are lucky enough to get to know you, even just a little bit, benefit from the calmness, peace and beauty you reflect back through your art.

Thank you so much @yidneth!

You are so sweet, thanks... Nature is in fact a endless healing source for me... and honestly I am of calm nature but my body is often a turmoil :) even if I'm calm it has something to tell me. Thanks for the lovely compliment, it's so encouraging. I create my art... I really don't judge if it's good or bad, it's my spirit who creates it, it needs to... some will enjoy, some won't, but that is what I can give to you.
thanks so much back to you!

Buddhism seems like a way of living, how to make it through the day in the most calm, unstressful way. Every day during your life.

I'm so glad you stopped by @zorank :-) I really appreciate that a lot! Also, I love what you're doing with the discovering of new talented Steemians and encouraging them to stay with us :-)

Thank you, @zyx00. I really appreciate this comment of yours.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

You people are too good to me... Thank you so much, @clayboyn and @msp-curation, for encouraging a brother to keep sharing his mind on wonderful Steemit! <3

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48