Optimism at the End of the World #9 : Punk Rock and How I Overcame Depression

in #spirituality7 years ago (edited)

(This series can be read out of order, no problem)

I want to take a break from talking about framing to tell this story. I was inspired to share it now after my buddy @macchiatta wrote this post about depression (check her out, she's an awesome young, devoted writer).

IMG_1393.JPG
image link

I was hardly the optimistic person I am now when I was growing up. Actually, I was about as pessimistic as anyone can be. I had a victim mentality running rampant through my psyche. I was stuck in a vortex of negativity with no way out. As far as I was concerned good things just didn't happen, and when they did they were quickly overshadowed by something awful. I wasn't just sad. My sadness would spiral out of control. One thing would snowball into another and before long I would explode into a tearful fit of rage, usually when I was alone in the solitude of my own room.

How did I get so sad?

It probably had a lot to do with me being very sensitive. I was sensitive in the best and worst possible way. On the one hand, I was very aware of everything around me and insightful, even at a young age. On the other, I was very easily hurt. I took things personally. I took everything to heart. More than that, because I noticed things that others didn't, my focus was very different from others. I saw the pain and suffering in the world and began to brainstorm ways of fixing problems. I found it particularly interesting how many people were indirectly contributing to problems that they claimed to be against. Their selfish actions perpetuated problems that they would later say couldn't be helped.

My peers were interested in none of this. When I talked about war and poverty and injustice and other systematic problems, they treated me like I was nuts. My parents turned a blind eye to everything that didn't fit their narrative and tried to convince me to do the same. This all left me feeling isolated and helpless.

I saw through a lot which made it hard to focus in school. I was well aware that some of my teachers did not really see the real-world value in what they were teaching and found it hard to focus. This led to being diagnosed with ADD. Being put on medicine made me feel like I was sick. I hated it. If these professionals (the teachers and the doctors) were so qualified to say that I had a problem, why weren't they smart enough to see the problem with forcing knowledge down children's throats? Why couldn't they see that our lifestyles were dictated by blindly agreed upon mandates? Did they not notice that most "happy" people were either oblivious or faking it? I did.

"Prisoner of Society"

My only solace was punk rock which I stumbled upon in those early peer to peer MP3 days (most of it was leaning towards pop punk but it still carried the sentiments of the punk movement). The lyrics of Nofx, the Living End, Refused, RX Bandits and countless others spoke of problems in society and for the first time in my life I realized I was not alone.

we can live with no regrets
this rides not over yet.
how can we change the paradigm of social class when the victims are the same ones who slave for corporations
this episode's resolving
but we can change it
a revolution's calling and I'd like to think that I'm not alone
are we all alone in this?

Lyrics from "VCG III" by RX Bandits

Of course, my parents worried about how these songs might influence me. They didn't realize that I had been thinking these thoughts for a long time but that I rarely spoke them out because the few times I had, I had been ignored or ridiculed. Good kids follow the rules. The music emboldened me to Say how I felt more often which put me in more difficult situations, situations that made me more depressed.

The diagnosis

I was speaking more freely about my opinions and my family worried while my classmates began to treat me as more of an outsider. The feelings of isolation had been alleviated to some extent by the music but I was still alone and prone to fits of rage and depression. The ADD medication didn't seem to be bringing up my grades so my parents decided it was time to go shopping for another disorder, one that might fit me better. One day they told me they had set up an appointment with a psychologist. They convinced me to go in just to talk. I didn't really think a doctor could make feel better. I thought he might be able to teach me how to be like everyone else, to care more about myself and less about the world around me.

I sat down with the psychologist and told him my problems. He didn't say anything, he just listened. I didn't tell him much but I didn't lie to him. I remember some kind of test with shapes and colors and questions that seemed to have little to do with my moods. Looking back it seems so ridiculous. He was acting professional and putting on a show for my parents, but with the way my mother had described me, he had me marked for depression meds the moment I walked in the door.

After our third or fourth meeting, of which neither but of us said anything of substance, he told me that I had depression. I looked in his eyes when he gave me the speech. Looking into the eye of others was something I was not accustomed to doing as I was rather introverted. He finished his speech and asked me if I had any questions.

"What if I disagree?" I said, knowing that I could fairly be considered depressed but that he would have made the same assessment either way. "Fuck depression, give your diagnosis to somebody else." I said, determined to make myself happy, one way or another. Of course this only persuaded him to be more persistent with my parents but my mind was made up. They were going to have to lock me up if hey wanted to put me back on meds and I was not going to give them a chance. Rather than conforming to what they called "happiness", I was going to find real happiness to spite them. Through sheer will power, I was able to overcome my depression.

The cause of my depression

After leaving the fish bowl that was my hometown, my suspicions were confirmed. I was a salt water fish in fresh water. There may have been nothing but fresh water ponds in the world, but I was still a salt water fish. I did not belong in my environment. I suspect there were many other salt water fish in that tank, but if they never dreamed of salt water, all they could do was do their best to keep swimming in water that made them feel like they could explode. Some of them did explode.

I was in a place where people didn't understand me, unaware that there were people out there would could. I was being taught the value of freedom in school, the same school that required me to haul ass every morning at 7 am, sit quietly through classes I was not interested in, and raise my hand to go to the bathroom. I was subject to arbitrary evaluation on subjects that even the instructors seemed uninterested in, being prepared for a "real world" that's about as real as a styrofoam cup.

It was only by considering that maybe there was nothing wrong with me and that the situation might be wrong for me could I start looking for ways to fix the situation. It took a long time to find but this was a turning point.

Even without punk rock, you can overcome depression

Life is not complicated, society is. Society is complicated. Life is beautiful, sometimes it hurts, but it always makes sense. When we get sucked into the human drama it's easy to feel lost and confused. We may get dealt some shit cards or we may be cheated. We may feel powerless to change it. In nature, we don't have the luxury of feeling powerless. If our food runs away, we go find new food. If it rains, we find shelter, one way or another. If we are eaten, we are eaten. By seeing beyond what you've come accustomed to thinking of as normal, it's easier to keep a productive attitude and find the will to keep going. Whether it's through mindfulness, religion or punk rock, find the will to grow, know that you can and then you can.


Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - my fiction @ patreon

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing.

I've had Chronic fatigue syndrome for ten years now and know exactly what you mean with going shopping for another syndrome. I was diagnosed in 2007 with Adrenal fatigue, Malaria, Bilharzia, Tickbite fever, a couple types of chronic lung infection from living close to a petrol refinery and extra bonus points ilness- Endometriosis. Doctors keep telling me I'm depressed. I think I am, but as a symptom of everything else, not as a root cause.

It apparently takes 10 years to get over adrenal fatigue. It should be better by now. It's better in some ways and worse in others. If I get too tired while we're in the shops I have to hang onto the shopping cart to use it as a walker because my body siezes up. ' When you're 30 going on 80..." Fun times. I am a Walkman battery. But like the rechargable batteries that only lasted 2 hours and then the tape started playing slowly until it became a low drawn out mumble.

I have had unexplained stomach pain and lost some weight so went for some scopes last week. Visuals show everything is fine. Biopsies show everything is fine. I'm always half dying and tests are always fine!! The diagnosis was IBS. The thinking being my head and gut aren't communicating properly.
Gut- there's something wrong.
Head- We must react!
Gut- Over reacts
If it doesn't get better I would have to go onto a low dose of Prozac to disrupt the signals. Not keen on that.

Anyway, What I was trying to get to in my brain-fog induced mind splat comment, is that maybe sometimes we need to make a new kind of 'normal' for ourselves. Maybe I will get better, maybe not. But this might be my new normal. I don't get to have the kids and the job and the neat house because after a day of being out I need another day to recover. I don't get to travel overseas because the flights are more than I can cope with, but I live in a beautiful part of the country where most holiday spots are a couple hours driving away.

We're old enough now to find and make our own new normal.

That being said there is a huge gap in our education on how to deal with our emotional issues before they become illnesses and therapy-needing-drug-dependent issues. How should we cope with loss? Are we giving ourselves time to grieve? Do we know the importance of letting an emotion just be... acknowledging it.. and then letting it go?
Do we take a moment to celebrate goals that have been achieved?
Maybe we need to be thankful of the little moments. 'Our lives are made in these small hours, these little wonders, these twists and turns of fate'

Lol. This was the next video up on the playlist. just had to share.
This is my whatsapp status. "I'm not crazy I'm jsut a little unwell"

*I agree. Plus what if the "new" normal is the real normal? I hope you have a wonderful day, following you @moderndragon

Thanks man!
Someone once said :" Normal is just a setting on your dryer" :)

I like that. I REALLY like that. hehe. good point. I hope you have a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, wonderful day.

Wow, that sounds pretty rough. I've actually been going through something similar for a little over 2 years, a case of "We have no idea what is wrong with your back but take some pills".

Keeping a positive attitude and believing that anything is possible has really helped me cope with it. Despite the fact that countless professionals have told me that I wouldn't be getting any better I am still out to prove them wrong. For a long time I was also scared to go anywhere, I couldn't seem to sit for more than 20 minutes without my whole back stiffening up. Now I can last 2 or 3 hour and I have techniques to manage the discomfort.

There are many techniques I could share with you if you are interested. Some of them are a little strange but totally safe and when used together they are very effective for almost any physical problem. Find me on discord or on steemit.chat , same user name

This is one of the most powerful and heart wrenchingly beautiful (as weird as it is to say about depression) pieces about depression I have EVER read.

parents decided it was time to go shopping for another disorder, one that might fit me better.

There ia really nothing I can add. Honored to be following you.

That good? I'm glad you liked it. I could probably go more in depth but then it might lose its effect. I may write more about the subject in the future. I kind of touch on this stuff in the story I've started putting up on my patreon too. All pay-what-you-want over there so you can access it for free if you are interested. I will go check out your articles too because I've seen you around the comment section of many great posts this week.

I am a bit manic depressive...kind of in one of the manic stages. hahahaha

Punk rock is the answer, I swear!

You should come find us in the discord room sometime

Which channel, I only joined a few days ago.

The Be Awesome discord channel.

I link it at the bottom of my post :-)

Thanks for sharing @whatamidoing. Good luck man ! All the lables people get are for the others to feel ok...

I Agree! I hope you have a wonderful day, following you @johano!

Thanks for sharing

Thanks have you read The Catcher in the Rye? I hope you have a wonderful day, following you.

Of course I've read it haha, do I remind you of Holden Caufield? hahaha

Yes very much so. Is that a compliment? I try to write like JD Salinger sometimes, I like that style of writing. But its not as easy as it seems. Have you seen the biography movie on Salinger?

Congratulations @whatamidoing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Hey I'll nominate this for ocd if you want to


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you think its worthy than of course yes!

Sure, maybe tomorrow or the day after.

You've got my vote!
This is a great article. I have felt a ton of the same things. Social Distortion!
Cheers man. Thank you.

I think I've got a fellow peace and love punk in you dude

Did you ever hear of that book "Dharma Punx".
Pretty rad journey about some original punks from Santa Cruz who try to figure life out.

That was an amazing post. There's so much in there I can relate to. You beautifully described what it's like to grow up in America if you've inadvertently taken the red pill. :-)

Hahha thanks. Yeah I guess that is what I described here. I was trying to find your long comment today to comment on cause last time when I saw it I had just ran into a brick wall. I'll find it tomorrow maybe.

Hey man! As always, your post is amazing. I think I'm also a salt water fish in fresh water. I don't feel like I belong in my hometown, I have to get away. Live somewhere like Thailand maybe? I don't know, lately I feel like being depressed too. But I have a lot of responsibilities that I have to take care of before I fly somewhere. Sigh... Your post made me feel depressed... :(

Depressed? That's the exact opposite of what I hope you'd feel after you read. Get excited, you have some time to plan for your awesome adventure as you take care of those responsibilities! Make something happen!

Aja! I will do yoga and this sad feeling will go away soon. Thanks man! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66280.44
ETH 3536.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13