Embracing and Trying to Recover from Depression | A Part of Journey to Victory

in #life7 years ago (edited)

People Of The Dark

‘ What do normal people do when they get this sad? ‘ – Eliot Mr Robot


That catchy monologue by Eliot does capture the reality of someone who’s been living under the shadow for years. People like us constantly seeking for a way to cope from time to time. We get high off things which could make us forget either it’s morphine, weed, alcohol, cigarettes or any other addiction which most of them seemed to be harmful.

People like us, we hate small talk but our mind constantly talking, watching and observing every movement of our surrounding even as small as ants wandering on the floor. We don’t really talk much, we don’t hangout much and our friendship is limited also exclusive.

We are the people who can’t see the world as a sunny day even when it is. We see the world in just gray and not exciting. Living time to time feels like a curse but often, when we see someone disabled we think it’s truly a gift. It’s funny that sometimes we think to change the world even when waking up itself is difficult than ever.

People like us loves to write, we write down everything to help us remember, cope and feeling grateful. We made notes even for our simple achievements like getting up, getting ourselves a proper meal and talk to a new people for example.
When our world gets quiet, we tried our best to stay clean. We cried in the corner of our place wondering and playing memories on repeat. We wake up the other day and once again, forced to act like normal people. It was the most difficult thing- ever.

People like us, we have our job and responsibilities despite things behind the closed doors. We go to work or school like everyone else does, we tried to do our best and often we’re best at what we do. We couldn’t understand what was going on with our life even everyone think it looks perfect.

Medicate? Tell a friend? Read a book? We did it all and still can’t find a way to heal our souls. Are we damned? We can’t really tell.


One day, on a fine sunny day we’re a human with a whole lot of enthusiasm. We love what we do, we know what to do, we forgot what we had but a single tiny thing, could crumble us apart. We would then go back to the same loop. Waiting and wanting to recover.

We went to professionals but they didn’t really help. The medications, well it was equal as consuming other poison just so we temporarily forget. When we stop consuming a happy pill? The world will back to its color. Dull and gray.

One a fine sunny day, We tried to get our shit together and think we fixed ourselves. Soon we understand that we may messed up a little here and there and often runs away and accumulating every problem; we realized. Then we weep again regretting things and go back to the same hole.

You know, It’s every man for himself. It’s only ourselves who can heal us because we know the cause of each problem. Everyone, or strangers who we talked to, they couldn't really understand our point of view. It's again only us, we know how to get rid of all it even something important has to be risked. But again life, is the matter of choices.


I’ve read there’s community in steemit where people like me could speak out our voices but I couldn’t recall the name or to find back that article. If someone knows, please let me know in the comment section. I’d really appreciate your help.


img source

Sort:  

There is always a solution, but the key that opens up the road is yours and personal; you just need to find it.

A metaphor I use is that to reach that mountain peak that seems so far away you have to go down into the valley first; just like every alchemical or mystical journey, there is a descent into knowledge before an ascent into enlightenment and action.

Exactly, I'd say it's coming back to ourselves to find the key which opens up to the road of healing process. I am still on a journey finding the right and the exact key to heal.

Thank you for your support @rycharde
Have a great day!

@rycharde (imo) There is not always a solution. However there is always a choice how to handle it.

@macchiate once again great writings..

peace

@markush been a while! You probably should post about your jogging journey haha cheers!!!

I have a very little foot injury. So for a few days(i hope not longer) i have to take it easy.

But I like to write random things. Not only jogging that would be so boring, writing is hard enough for me.

My ice cappuccino says cheers back:)

Ignat

Same thing :) I hope you're doing well soon enough

have a great day @markush :D

I can relate to what you are saying as I'm sure many here can. This is going to sound odd, but it's real in regard to depression. It works for me and others. It's called forest bathing. It might not be geographically realistic for you, but I live a mere 5 minute walk from a forest. Every time I go for a 1.5 to 2 hour walk in the forest I feel mentally refreshed. It's not just the exercise as I used to get kick-ass workouts in the gym and they never resulted in what I get from being in the woods. I don't care about anything negative whatsoever after being out there. It's almost miraculous, but it's not, it's just chemistry, science, or whatever.

@robertvogt I think it could geographically work as I could always go on an adventure to visit forest nearby to find serene springs. In place where I live, it's like 2 or 3 hr drive maximum to reach a spring or a pine forest.

I do believe that sometimes lack of exercise could be a reason of chemical imbalance in our brain ( referring to science) but honestly, sometimes science can't explain complicated human interactions and the result caused of it.

Steemit has so far helped me with coping and find more of positive energy day to day. Here I am still managed to be alive and well.

Thank you for the tips, I might try it :)
cheers! and have a good day!

No problem. Glad you live close enough to do that. It's definitely worth trying. You have a good day too!

Hugs dude. I've been there. I'm going to write about how I overcame depression. It's kind of a funny story.

Extra hug for the robot reference.

Write it down and Share your story :) as you always know to write it in a nicer way
I'd love to read it to just survive another day
Cheers :D

Well written and I know exactly what you are talking about here... Unfortunately I have no idea about the posts you mention, but is might help some just to get it out like this and find others that have been through the same things. I tend to go into periods of depression when things are changing out of my control or when I need to make larger changes in life myself. Hard to help when my experience is that it sort of disappear at some point... Hugs

I know, I've been there done that. Sometimes, there are things beyond our control which pisses us off more than anything and accumulating the stress which got us into depression. It's ugly but it's happening. I believe things could get better, someday in a fine day.

cheers and hugs,

All who have accomplished great things have had a great aim, have fixed their gaze on a goal which was high, one which sometimes seemed impossible.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by macchiata- from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72