Of Water & Ice

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

A POST WHERE A GRUMPY GIT IS GIFTED A GENIUS ANALOGY...

Water and Ice cropped.jpg

This morning I woke up grumpy and less than my glorious, normal self and Rick, my husband since August this year, caught the brunt of my metaphorical mouldiness squarely on his metaphorical chin.

Oooouch!

(Fortunately for me he is a solid, sterling fella who forgives easily).

I have had 3 significant relationships in my life. For eleven years I lived with, and foolishly married, a philandering toad! I then enjoyed eight years with a French fella before things zimply fizzled out.

And then, I met Rick. I was 42.

We have been together now for 10 years and things, between us, are beyond great despite the fabric of our daily lives being a tad tattered - hence my less than glowing morning disposition!

Rick is a rare, wise and extremely old soul. He is a powerful psychic who, prior to me, had never told anyone of his abilities. His gifts are as natural to him as the action of breathing and since dot he has communicated with Spirit.

Living with him is never dull and I have witnessed many peculiar happenings but never felt fear. From the beginning I had an unconscious knowing that the visits were of the lightest and brightest spirits who popped by with the purest of intentions.

And then, in June 2016, the spirits made themselves known to me and I gleaned further insight into the man I love and share my life with.

(I know that when I read this to Rick he will feel deeply uncomfortable and prefer that I keep stuum but, in the context of my message here, what I share is integral).

It transpires that Rick and I have a spiritual team rooting for us in the ether! And Rick is a respected member of this team reincarnated to help me succeed – I know, I know the woman is delusional!

The Spirits call him ‘The General’ and often counsel me to heed his guidance. For he is wise and often blows me away with his ability to give solid advice and create meaningful analogies.

So, back to me being magnificently mouldy this morn.

Churlishly I wittered on about having a positive message to share with the world, through my natural talents, which continue to be generally overlooked. I struggle with the indifference much of my work receives. My writing is sound and my art considered and yet I continue to blow in the breeze, for the most part being ignominiously, ignored.

So here is what he said:

“Linda, you matter. The world does not matter. If you are in a room looking out of the window what is outside is of little importance. It is only when you open the window that your world is influenced; you allow the air, the sounds and smells to change your experience. Continue with your work and don’t let the outside influences change you – keep the window shut”.

He then continued;

“You cannot change the whole world you can only change a small part of it starting with yourself and how you choose to react to it”

He stopped for a moment and then added;

“Think of water and ice. Imagine a glass of water and a glass of ice. You can instantly change water by flavouring it with, perhaps, a cordial but pour that cordial in the glass of ice and the frozen water remains impermeable – unchanged, solid and unmoved. You cannot hope to reach everyone but for those that resonate with your message their glass is the water that benefits from the flavours of your cordial.”

Now I might be biased but this is genius and, feeling more chipper, I felt compelled to share it with you!

We create our own reality and if operating from a place of honest intention should shun the indifference and opinion of others upon us.

We owe it to ourselves to be true to ourselves and stand tall and proud in our truths.

With Gratitude and Love xox

(New to Steemit I have a lot to contribute to this vibrant community. All words, pictures and illustrations are my own work. I politely request that if you enjoyed this piece you spread the love and generously upvote/follow and even resteem so as, together, we can fly - with thanks).

http://www.lindadacey-laforge.com

https://www.facebook.com/lindadaceylaforge/

http://thebrightsoulstore.bigcartel.com/

Sort:  

Nice read; thanks for sharing. :)

I appreciate your encouragement and send you seasonal greetings xox

Thank you.
Greetings to you too.

Wow! Isn’t that so so so true. We create our own reality but what is it about me that I paint mine in very complicated ways and always end up “alone” with nobody’s support but my own.

Yes we matter! I Double and triple that up! I matter and it’s not me who creates that reality that I do not matter. It seems I need to change some batteries in my system. 😬🐒🤣

Your Rick is a very very wise man!

“Linda, you matter. The world does not matter. If you are in a room looking out of the window what is outside is of little importance. It is only when you open the window that your world is influenced; you allow the air, the sounds and smells to change your experience. Continue with your work and don’t let the outside influences change you – keep the window shut”.

To be alone is better than to be with the wrong person - this I know from personal experience :( And yet I, for one, function far better in a supportive relationship. There is much wrong in our lives but the most important part of the puzzle for us both is in place and for that we are grateful. I wonder if, rather than new batteries, a restart may not be more appropriate? - It works for me... I wish you well along your way and am going to visit your blog now. With love xox

The other comment is my official nomination for @ocd but this is my personal comment to you dear.

Wow, it sounds as if your husband is a very wise wonderful man and you yourself are pretty damn glorious too.

Thank you BOTH for birthing this post into being.
It put a smile on my face!

Very well deserved!!!!

Thanks folks xox

Wow. I think our men might be quite similar. I really loved your post and kinda got goose bumps.

What lucky ladies we are ;) xox Happy Christmas xox

You guys too :-)

Thank you so much, @ldacey-laforge for directing me to this stunning post. It resonates LOUD AND CLEAR!!! Your poetry and writing are amazing. I will check out the art in a sec and know I will love it. Our lives are strangely similar, OMG we have a team, too. I love this! Followed you - talk very soon :-)

Glad to have bumbled into you and look forward to getting to know you as someone who has similar experiences. This talking to spirit malarkey can be isolating eh as folks assume you are a tad touched! :) Happy Christmas xox

Have a beautiful Christmas, both xox

Linda, you matter! I absolutely loved this post... and wow, your husband is quite wise. What an incredible journey you are on! I can really relate with you as my personal journey has been very much a spiritual one. My mother was a closeted psychic for years but is finally stepping into her own.

I've also experienced the feeling of feeling ignored for a very long time. Your husband is right with his analogy and I will say this... it's part of the growing process. I'm still going through it now but I've reached a point where I can say that there's a certain level of strength required to stop caring about what you receive, because what you are giving is so fulfilling and so outrageously abundant, that you already know it's going to do exactly what it needs to do.

Am I saying you shouldn't care about receiving? No. Receiving is an important part. I will say though that you have to be okay with the ILLUSION of not receiving for awhile. Your mind will try to convince you that nothing is happening, but in reality, things take time and there is an exponential curve that you will it. What looks like slow, linear growth eventually becomes a sudden explosion.

You won't get there until you develop a sense of consistency and until you find that creative edge which FEELS SO DAMN GOOD that what you create IS ENOUGH.

On Steemit, I've found that the best strategy thus far is to write your best possible content once a day. Then spend the rest of your time reading other posts that are related to your type of content, comment genuinely on all of those posts, and invite them to check out your best work.

I hope that helps! This made my day and I am following you :) I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: Do The Little Things In Life Really Matter?

Thank-you, thank-you and once again I thank-you :) another wise fella! Of course what you write is right ;) - I know this to be true. The difficulty I, and I guess many folks, have is remembering this and remaining constant. I am a very upbeat person but have sudden dips which, fortunate for me, are very short lived; I am very adept at freeing myself from a funk! My life has been in transition since 2008 and I am simply impatient to hit my stride and shine bright. That said I acknowledge that everything is in divine order and by divine timing and that the darkest hour is just before dawn. Happy to have met you, happy days xox

Yes consistency is an absolute skill to develop, but that skill develops from the constant ups and downs. There's a point at which the down feels just as good as the up. For me, it's because I now associate downs with the contrast required to experience my next up. It's more of a navigational tool. Like throwing down a black canvas so that I can begin to paint in white. You would never get "upset" at a black canvas because you understand it's purpose in the creation of your art. I see life in the same way, and it really helps with patience and also, the excitement for (as you said) the transition to dawn.

Hello! :)

I am @ashleykalila and I am a curator for @OCD!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

✨🙌

I would be most honored and chuffed, now there is a word I ain't used in eons, if you were to share this post and will join in the OCD resteem initiative. Thanks for reaching out to me. With love xox

Nice! I'm glad you are sharing your truths and finding readers who also happen to be friends of mine :-) I look forward to reading more about your experiences.

@whatamidoing thanks I am enjoying my interactions with folks enormously and feel that, except for brief forays, Facebook is done for me :) Happy Christmas to you and yours xox

I'm glad I check out your post. It's interesting how you describe the relationship you have with your partner and I hope you two have many more wonderful years ahead. He does indeed sound like a very well grounded fellow.

I'm glad you did too, thank-you! ;) I am a very fortunate person to have finally hooked up with someone who is supportive of me and my many foibles and my hope is that each of us can find that special person. It took me many years but it just proves that with courage and belief things have a way of working out for the best. Be happy xox

Fascinating read with much truth and wisdom in there. I look forward to reading more.

Thanking you kindly and wishing you well xox

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Oh wow! thank-you @minnowsupport and specifically @creativesoul - I am now off to check out your page xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62