Quotes To Live By - 2


Strive No More


Back in my early days on Steemit I created a series of quotes to post and since, no-one much saw them, I thought it might be worthwhile posting some of them again, from time to time.

💙 💛 💜 💚 💙 💛 💜 💚

There is a strong bias in our culture to work hard, strive, push and make things happen. To plan out our days, set goals, make to do lists and try and force ourselves to stick to them at all costs.

The message is clear: if we don't do these things we will not succeed.

But ask yourself, how many good things have come about because you've strived for them?

How successful have you really been at pushing to make things happen?

If you achieved your goal, were you happy or did you simply push on to the next thing?

💙 💛 💜 💚 💙 💛 💜 💚

How about all the wonderful things that have happened in your life that were beautiful surprises, that you didn't work hard for or that just seemed to magically turn up?

Weren't they more enjoyable?

If you want more of those, try relaxing a little more, take time to be still and follow what turns up with curiosity and wonder.


strive no more.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

More Quotes To Life By

Listen To The Still Small Voice Within

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

When someone speaks of their success, I often find myself wanting to follow up with the question "But what kind of success IS it?"

There is often a large gap between what we authentically feel constitutes success and what society tells us we ought to consider success.

It can take some effort to sort out the difference.

Bright Blessings!

It can take some effort to sort out the difference.

I totally agree @whitelightxpress. I got off the societal success train in my early thirties and have been learning more and more what success means for me as time goes by.

It gets simpler and simpler too but I've long since stopped measuring success by external markers.

Thank you for visiting and for joining the conversation. 😁

Hey, @gillianpearce.

There is definitely a lot be said for listening and stillness. In my opinion, there can never be enough of it. It's like everything people want to do includes being bombarded by some audio/visual stimuli. Like they're own thoughts are not enough. As if quiet and solitude are not ever to be enjoyed. Maybe there needs to be some sort of balance, but never listening and never being still isn't the answer.

I have had success where I did something. I've had things I could not do on my own 'magically' appear. I've felt fortunate to never be part of the corporate world, though I did have stint in the government world, and that isn't a whole lot different, really, as far as how success is measured and what things are considered important.

For the most part, I've been able to measure my own success, and while I still desire some financial success, it's more to be able to do the things I'd like to do, rather than its own means to an end.

So far, getting married, raising two boys, see them grow, mature, and start the cycle of starting a family all over again has to be my greatest success. Grossing $1 million dollars in a year is up there, somewhere, but the $1 million dollars is basically gone (a portion is in our home), but my sons and their small families are there and on the verge of growing.

I'm not likely to have a lot of descendants before I die, but I hope to make it to at least see the great grandchildren start to arrive.

So true @gillianpearce! And we're taught to wear our overworking like a badge of honor, that somehow we're lazy if we don't do all of those things you talked about.

I'm with you; life is not meant to be planned to the last minute ... people miss out on sooo much that way!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gillianpearce from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Some real true qquotes there

Glad you liked them @tattoodjay. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90