The Windsor Gem & Mineral Fair 2017 : The Haul (Part 1)

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

specimenscover.jpg

First of all. Huge 'Thank You' to Hubby for letting me borrow his Samsung S7 so I can take these photos. It's such a better phone than mine and I'm only talking about picture quality right now.

I actually made a blog cover for this post days ago but had to use these photos instead. I reckon they turned out awesome.

Second, I was going to put everything into 1 post until I started looking at all the photos 😱 and decided to split this post up into two sections. This first one is dedicated to the Specimens, the second will be all about Tumbled stones.

Day 1 of the fair, for me, was all about looking for specimens to add to our collection and with the success of the last gem show, I had quite high expectations going in to this one, fully expecting to see "our guy" stocked up. When we did see him, he seemed the opposite. Maybe because there was less space at this location than the last?

There was also another guy who was selling small specimens at my price range and found my favourite specimen from this haul from him so over all specimens wise it wasn't a bad day!

Despite taking photos of our existing collection before we left to make sure I didn't double up, I still doubled up. I just feel like even though it's the same crystal, each piece has a slightly different personality so when they call out and I can afford it i'll take them home. If it's not for me, it's for someone I know.

My experience with crystals.


Crystals have changed my life and I use it a lot to help me with various things from headaches, moods, luck, dreaming, peaceful sleep. Sometimes under my pillow, sometimes in a bath, most times in my pocket and in jewellery.

Can you tell I love my crystals?

I can only share my experience with you and for me they work and they have worked wonders in my life.

Although I have been working with them for a few years now, I still don't know a lot of them and I havent had a chance to work with any of the lesser known crystals so I am excited to learn about them and share what I've learned with you.

It is said that one doesn't need to physically hold the crystal to receive the effects of it, a picture will do.

In alphabetical order and with a few choice points about each, let us begin the exploration.

Aegirine


aegerine.jpg

Personal Note: This is a new crystal to me. Upon first glace I thought it was some sort of Tourmaline, perhaps a deep green one, because it didn't fit the profile of a Black Tourmaline but upon research it seems to share a lot of properties with Black Tourmaline, or generally any crystal that is black in colour.

Energetic Properties:

  • Extremely protective of the aura and physical body, and has the ability to deflect all manners of psychic attack.
  • Great for self confidence and overcoming self consciouness.
  • Helps release negative vibrations within one's auric field.
  • Known to enhance properties of others crystals it is used with.

Note: The Aegirine is the black rod attached on the rock base.

Amethyst


amethyst.jpg

Personal Note: I use Amethyst a lot in my work mainly to use for Crown Chakra activation or for people who are looking to quit an addiction (any addiction). I think an Amethyst is a great beginner crystal to have for those who want to explore their power as it helps you let go while allowing you to receive information through your Crown to Third Eye Chakra.

Energetic Properties:

  • Has long known to curb over indulgence in any form.
  • Protects against psychic attacks, turns negative energy into positive and then returns that energy back to the Universe.
  • It is also known as a stone of purification.
  • A very calming stone, it aids in insomnia and in business.

Ammonite


ammonite.jpg

Personal Note: What drew me to this piece was the flashes of rainbows I could see when the light hit it a certain way. It is such a contrast to my first Ammonite.

Energetic Properties:

  • Known to activate psychic abilities and can be a karmic cleanser when placed on the Third Eye.
  • Ammonite is considered to be very lucky in Feng Shui and considered to stimulate the flow of chi, prana, life force through the body.

Apophyllite & Stilbite


apophyllitestilbite.jpg

Personal Note: This mineral contains the properties of both Apophyllite and Stilbite. I have used Apophyllite before but find it so much more interesting combined with Stilbite in this specimen.

Energetic Properties:

  • Apophyllite: Powerful yet very gentle, it soothes fear, anxiety and worry. Vibrating at a high vibration, it will surely lift your spirits and bring forth hope for the future ahead.

  • Stilbite: Vibrating with Universal Love and accompanied by manifesting properties, Stilbite helps one be open and trust in the Universe, allowing one's dreams and wishes to become reality.

Clear Calcite


calcite.jpg

Personal Note: There is a few of pinches of Calcite in 90% of all my orgonite pieces purely for it's ability to amplify energy.

Energetic Properties:

  • A known cleanser and amplifier of energy.
  • Removes energy blockages and negativity from one's environment, and promotes serenity.
  • Increases energy levels and combats procrastination.

Celestite


celestite.jpg

Personal Note: I wasn't going to get one of these but Hubby insisted I grab one for our collection. It's one of his favourites at the moment.

Energetic Properties:

  • Very calming and uplifting.
  • Known to assist in contacting one's guardian Angel and/or Spirit Guide.
  • Stimulates the Crown, Third Eye and Throat Chakras allowing access to the 8th chakra known as the Soul Star Chakra, source of Divine Wisdom.

Conichalcite

conichalcite.jpg

Personal Note: During the photoshoot I noticed there was more to this specimen than what I had thought. I was drawn to it because it was shaped like the Star Trek badge and it looked like it was growing vibrant green bubbles, but when I took it out of its box and inspected it further I was surprised to find this.

conichalcite-2.jpg

conichalcite-3.jpg

Energetic Properties:

  • As most green stones, Conichalcite brings great power to the Heart Chakra encouraging one to go freely to and with Love.
  • Known to bring strength, especially through times of change.

Copper


copper.jpg

Personal Note: When I began this journey I thought copper was just copper and it was just good for wiring etc. Imagine my surprise when I found it in my 'Love is in the Earth' crystal book and reading that it did in fact have other properties.

Energetic Properties:

  • Promotes a positive outlook and combats laziness.
  • Said to amplify one's thoughts when sending/receiving telepathically.
  • Can bring good luck and positive energy to recovering lost or stolen possessions.

Lepidolite


lepidolite.jpg

Personal Note: When we got home from our first gem show a few months ago I regretted not getting this Lepidolite slice. I was very happy to see it was still there waiting for me at Windsor.

Energetic Properties:

  • Quickens synchronicity
  • A soothing stone, perfect for stress, anxiety, depression.
  • Encourages one to go with the flow of life and be in harmony with Spirit.

Mimetite


mimetite.jpg

Personal Note: It looked so funky I had to get it! That is all...

Energetic Properties:

  • Great for re-centering or re-balancing.
  • Sometimes used for protection during meditation.

Obsidian


obsidian.jpg

Personal Note: I've got a few crystals from the Obsidian family but this is the first I've ever seen still attached to the rock, and definitely the first I've seen that seems to have a face...

Energetic Properties:

  • A powerful aura cleanser and psychic protection stone, it will help shield you against negative energy.
  • Some say it may stimulate the gift of prophecy.
  • Great for past life healing, for you personally and for your entire ancestral line.

Poppy Jasper


poppyjasper.jpg

Personal Note: I have this thing with Jaspers at the moment. I actually have a whole post just dedicated on Jaspers and pictures I want to show you of some tumbleds I got from my wholesale supplier the other week. Watch out for that post!!

Energetic Properties:

  • Brings cheerfulness, joy and vitality.
  • Encourages the birth and development of new ideas.
  • A stone of grounding and stability, it provides comfort, strength, security and healing.

Pyrite


pyrite.jpg

pyrite-2.jpg

Personal Note: Pyrite has been calling out to me lately. I have always had a few pieces ready to use for work, but I generally don't use it myself. Lately though, especially at the shows, they really make themselves known.

Energetic Properties:

  • A great stone for positive thinking and manifesting
  • Encourages self confidence and motivation to take action when needed.
  • increases vitality, clarity and mental focus.

Tektite


tektite.jpg

Personal Note: Tektite is another stone that has resurfaced in my life and is calling out for attention. It's always interesting to read about their properties and then go - AHHHH - because now it makes sense why it was calling out.

Energetic Properties:

  • Tektites are formed by Meteorite impact.
  • Many ancient cultures considered Tektite to bring luck or good fortune.
  • Known to raise one's vibration and strengthen the aura, with regular use it can activate and enhance psychic abilities.
  • Can assist in lucid dreaming and/or astral travel.

So there's some of the newest additions to our specimen collection


I still have to take a photo of the tumbled stones, maybe just focus on the rare ones for Part 2.

I hope you enjoyed the photos. My fave is the Conichalcite. Which was was yours?

💗Arly

Disclaimer: To be on the safe side, don't put minerals in the bath with you and if you're really sick please see a professional.

Previously...


The Windsor Gem & Mineral Fair 2017 (Day 02)
https://steemit.com/spirituality/@bearone/the-windsor-gem-and-mineral-fair-2017-day-02

The Windsor Gem & Mineral Fair 2017 (Day 01)
https://steemit.com/spirituality/@bearone/the-windsor-gem-and-mineral-fair-2017-day-01

Gemkhana 2017 : The Collection (Part 2)
https://steemit.com/spirituality/@bearone/gemkhana-2017-the-collection-part-2

Gemkhana 2017 (Part 1)
https://steemit.com/spirituality/@bearone/gemkhana-2017

Sources:
https://www.healing-crystals-for-you.com
https://www.crystalvaults.com
http://www.healingwithcrystals.net.au
http://www.shimmerlings.com


follow_bearone.gif


Sort:  

Upvoted! I love crystals and the different energies they emit!

Wow! That tektite is killer. @brandyb and I just went to the Franklin Gem & Mineral show here in Franklin.. it was a great show and I saw some killer tektite.

@gomatthew Gotta love that tektite right? It pretty much screamed at me. Did you guys take photos?! Pics! Pics! Pics you guys! <3

it really is amazing, i like gems

Wow is this yours ?the Gems are great for it gives a contribution in human spirituality, life and health. @bearone nice post !

Yes they're mine all mine! ;) Ok half mine, Hubby wants to share the collection so Ok :D
So happy you feel about gems the same way I do <3

Wow! those crystals are a beauty. each kind has its own beauty that it would make it hard for me to choose if needed. I think Conichalcite stands out the most for me. ❤

They are beautiful in their own way, like their own individual personality shines through.

Good pick! ;) It's my fave. It just ended up being so complex and gorgeous.

yay i agree. it's complex yet gorgeous. love your collections!! ❤

The crystals are really good looking. If those will be refined and then cut into small beads for sure that can make a great bracelet, necklace etc. I am also using some but I never even checked the meaning nor the name of it.

They are quite special arent they? <3 I do have crystal beads too for when I make jewellery with them. I love all crystals. Check the meaning! You might surprise yourself! I usually buy a crystal without knowing its property then go home to check.

It always ends up being something I need at that time :)

Excellent photos! A year ago I considered crystal therapy etc. a silly superstition. Then I happened to get some Moldavite, and although I would have a difficult time proving its effects to the satisfaction of a skeptic, they have been quite dramatic in my own estimation.

I need to check out some of your other posts. Cheers!

:-) @roused

Thank you @roused! Ahhh Moldavite!!! I can vouch for the power of it, I actually have 6 pieces of in my manifesting grid at the moment. It's been phenomenal.

I wouldn't want to be without it ;-)

Lovely crystals. Even a few I hadn't seen before, and very intriguing.

I haven't really worked with my crystals for a while, but I certainly had fun collecting them! And Love Is In The Earth has been like a bible while I was learning; along with the handy accompanying book Love Is In the Earth: Mineralogical Pictorial.

I've never figured out a good way to both display and label them satisfactorily though.

Your hubby's phone did an excellent job on the photography. :)

Love Is In The Earth has been like a bible while I was learning; along with the handy accompanying book Love Is In the Earth: Mineralogical Pictorial.

Haha I call it The Bible - the other "crystal bibles" just aren't compared to Melody's book and I cant believe you have the Pictorial!!! <3 <3 I'm so jealous!

I mostly had tumbled stones and kept them in clear plastic boxes and wrote the name down on a piece of paper. The minerals come with their own labels and boxes, I just took them out of their boxes for the photoshoot :D

Now I feel guilty for not having opened the books for several years (much stuff was tucked away while the kids were little). I may need to dust them, lol.

As I've always understood it, crystals & gems much prefer being rested on natural surfaces, such as wood or natural fibre material; manmade, such as plastic or synthetic material, has always been frowned upon. Interferes with the energetic connection/flow or something (I think, from memory). One major reason I've always had that problem of how best to display my collection with good labels.

So I do wonder at those sellers, who should be aware of such things, still offering their products in plastic and the like. Perhaps if it is for temporary display purposes (such as at the fairs) then it doesn't interfere so much?

On another note - have you ever tried making your own crystal/gem elixirs? (for healing, etc) :)

How its sold, I feel, doesnt matter as much as what you do with it once its yours 😊

I sage all the ones I buy before I use them anyway so it doesnt matter how it came to me.

I love the way you placed them on foam to get them in those lvoely positions.

I like the shell shaped one, and of course all the green ones. I should start taking photos of my gemstones. Some of them, I forget what they are. I should label them lol

Hey @blinkyprod :) I would love to take credit for that but sadly I cant. That's how some of the specimens come glued on to foam and then placed in it's own box with the country of origin written on it. They totally had me sold with that whole set up lol

You should go find them!! And then dig a hole in the garden and bury them for a few days. This is to charge them back up after a hiatus ;)

Nice post! I followed you, looking forward to see more awesome post in the future. Don't forget to follow me back. I also upvoted this.

(Upvoting this comment will help street children of Manila, Philippines this Christmas season)

14495444_1203217269700872_6307408008899792478_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94