Gemkhana 2017

in #spirituality7 years ago (edited)

GEMKHANA.png

I have only ever been to 1 gem show and that was over a year ago at Blaxland. We were travelling up the mountain on our way home from an all night bender when we saw the gem show signs.

It was mainly the people from the Valley Heights lapidary club hosting the show and it was held in a small hall. Although we came home with a few choice goodies such as this beauty.

It wasn't a life changing experience like Gemkhana.

Gemkhana-Flyer-july17.jpg
Source

I don't know how I found out about Gemkhana, sometimes I have this thing where I seem to just find things or be there at the right time, like spirit is directing me. Don't laugh - you'd be surprised at some of the things that happen around me and the outcomes.

At the time I thought this was more for Hubby to further encourage his new found love for crystals, meditation and a cleaner more disciplined way of living and being.

Already being a believer and regular user of crystals I was a little bit jaded but super keen to go. I have always maintained that I was a Temporary Crystal Keeper and not a collector so I was only going to see what they had and if it's cheaper than my wholesaler as most of my crystals get used in my work or get gifted to people.

In what I do, the look of the crystal doesn't matter - how it feels matter. Because by the time I'm done it will look different anyway, but I need the energy to be just right and to be able to work with the other crystals in harmony.

Here's an example of my crystals in resin work.

Hubby and I decided to go on Saturday so we didn't miss out on the best stuff. I swear he was more excited than I was.

We had breakfast at our current fave spot, ordered the same thing.

Right here if you missed it

.. and headed down to Richmond to Gemkhana ..

There really wasn't much to see at the Agricultural Grounds, lots of land, huge warehouse - that was basically it. The fun is all inside the warehouse.

Straight away, as soon as I got to the entrance doors I wanted to do a little happy jump.

I was in crystal heaven.

They had what you would expect to see at a Gem Show.

Beautiful minerals.

20170930_130756.jpg

20170930_134705.jpg

20170930_142354.jpg

20170930_134811.jpg

Prize Winners

20170930_131129.jpg

Crystal Skulls

PicsArt_09-30-10.43.00.jpg

Tumbled Stones

PicsArt_10-01-11.22.02.jpg

Geodes, Caves & Freeform Tumbleds

PicsArt_10-01-11.32.27.jpg

and Minerals up to my eyeballs!!!

PicsArt_10-01-12.07.54.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.09.23.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.44.43.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.12.32.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.13.56.jpg

LET ME GIVE YOUR SCROLL FINGER A REST....

PicsArt_10-01-12.15.40.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.35.55.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.39.11.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.40.32.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.10.25.jpg

PicsArt_10-01-12.43.17.jpg

So I went a bit crazy with the photos lol

I was a bit disappointed at the prices, as you can see they were not cheap, some Id' have to sell a kidney for, but oh my goodness so many different crystals all under one roof and all so beautiful. It was such a treat just to oogle them.

They also had a whole side just for sterling silver jewellery where I spent most of the afternoon but neglected to take a photo of such was my awe.

Needless to say we did a few laps around the tables and Hubby selected his piece before I finally decided on what I wanted.

One clue... We didn't travel all this way just for tumbled crystals.

Coming tomorrow!
Gemkhana Part 2 : My Crystal Haul

Photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy Note 3




Sort:  

Loved looking at all the pictures. Cant wait to see your haul tomorrow!

@gniksivart Thanks! I still look at them every day just to oogle the crystals :D
Prepping the haul for a photoshoot now ;)

I think am gonna go gaga in there, want that huge malachite(tama ba spelling momi?)
If you're into that momi, the universe will put you anywhere it want you to, brings you people too. I think i read that somewhere xoxo

haha you would have loved it @immarojas. Yup right spelling !! haha this is very true xoxox

Shucks! Not a single crystal shop in Paris momi..as in.

Actually theres a UK supplier on ebay that Ive always wanted to check out but shipping was always a killer.. but not if its UK to UK! :D

UK to Oz is of course..sometimes it's more expensive than the actual product..same with amazon.

Wow that is an amazing selection they had look forward to seeing your haul 😎

@tattoodjay they had such an amazing selection I wish we went back lol

The haul is up ;)

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@bearone/gemkhana-2017-the-collection-part-2

Yes I saw the haul you did well 😎

Lots of great gems and. Crystal. You would need to go with deep pockets

Yes or bargain hunt lol :D

ooooh crystal heaven!!!!! I gotta go in 2018 :)
though I did spend my all crystal pocket money at Crystal Castle in August! lol

Thanks for sharing all the pretty crystals:)

Dmd you the flier for thr Windsor one just in case ;) Its close enough to Dec to count as chrissy presents lol

Crystal Castle 😍😍😍

Just gorgeous photos. Something peaceful and healing gazing through the pics ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80