Why on earth are we here?

in #spiritual7 years ago (edited)

The big question that a lot of people (including me) are constantly asking is…What is the purpose of Life?
Purpose could mean different things to different people but I am going to give my take on the subject (if you don’t mind).

So 4 years ago I found the reason I was put onto this earth. I am super grateful because not everyone gets to this conclusion in life. Having said that, it is one thing finding what your purpose is, but it is another thing entirely and accepting it. I am still learning to accept mine. There are still a lot of questions I ask, but I have realized that I need to stop asking and just accept and move forward in service to others with what I have been called to do.

My entire life I have been a control freak. Since I can remember, I have always tried to be in control of my life and what happens in it. It is not until God takes everything away from you that you are forced to humble yourself and surrender to His plan for your life. Another aspect that we have to accept is HIS timing for things, and not our own. We cannot always understand why things are happening to us at times, but there is always a bigger picture and a bigger reason behind EVERYTHING.

I find that I often so caught up in my head, that I forget to move forward with my heart. My mind has limited me so much in the past and I am ready to let go of that. We are always told to walk by Faith and every now and then the conditioning from the past puts us into our default mode of: Fear. We cannot have Fear and Faith at the same time. It is either one or the other.

There is something else that I have been fighting in my mind for awhile and that is: Do I go after what I want, or let things happen that are meant for me. Lately I have been playing tug of war between these two. I am a highly action driven person, but am learning that all I can do is what I can do and the rest is up to the Universe and God.

The past year has been amazing and highly challenging at the same time. So many people have told me they are so happy for me and I look like I am flying and that I am really successful. Now, it depends how you define success. I am extremely fulfilled in what I do and I have created inner happiness, however, what a lot of people don’t know is that it has been a financial struggle. A year and a half ago I started over with nothing but a few pieces of furniture and my son. I see now though that everything that has happened had to happen in order for me to learn some very big life lessons. God has been forcing me to stand on my own two feet and become 100% independent. When you don’t listen, He will teach you the same lesson over and over again until you do. God does not give us what we want, he gives us what our soul needs.

I have such a big vision now and I know that I am on the right path in life, but I also know that things can take time to build up, especially starting up your own business and you are the one who has to do everything in the business.

I have been faced with the same decision time and time again: Do I get a job to pay the bills and take a step back in my businesses, or do I just continue on this path until I make a breakthrough? I have found myself looking at positions and then realise that I have absolutely no idea what I would do. I cannot imagine myself sitting behind a desk again when I know I have such important work to do in the world. It would literally kill me.

It is no secret that I am a very strong willed and stubborn. So if there is something that I want, I will not stop until I have achieved it.

You see if I take a step back and find employment, it takes me further away from my purpose and calling, and that is why I am so reluctant to do that.

This past week has been one of shifts in epic proportions, introspection, contemplation and surrender to God/The Universe. I have physically been stopped because I need to slow down and stop stressing about things I cannot control.

These are the major lessons I have been getting lately:

  1. Let Go! Let go of fear, the past, past patterning and programming, control and bad habits that hold you back from your purpose.
  2. Take responsibility for your own life and everything in it
  3. Be in flow with the Universe
  4. Be more Grateful
  5. Believe and Trust
  6. Stop thinking
  7. Allow healing to occur naturally
  8. Do not attach yourself to outcomes
  9. Stop resisting change and the natural laws of the Universe
  10. Stop questioning your purpose
  11. Focus on blessings and gratitude
  12. Focus on what you DO want, not on what you don’t want
  13. Talk to God and rely on his strength
  14. You can either step back into safety or forward into growth
  15. Simplify things
  16. Meditate EVERY DAY! It’s so easy to get caught up and overwhelmed by thoughts and everyday stressors.

I have a lot of work to do in order to listen to my own advice here.
I have decided that I am going to make a massive change from today going forward, seeing that I have the power to change anything in my life.

So today I am:

  • Putting together a schedule to block out times in my diary for certain things. I will be scheduling everything so that I feel more organized and clear. My schedule will also consist of daily habits such as: Meditation, Affirmations and reading my Mission Statement and Goals, Exercise and Gratitude.
  • Being more conscious of everything around me and my thoughts.
  • Being conscious of what I put into my body at all times.
  • Slowing down and being in flow
  • Printing out all my latest goals and affirmations and sticking them up in my room.
  • Making time for ME everyday!

We create so much of our own stress just by overthinking things and creating something in our minds and then worrying about it. This is my default that I go to when I am not in flow and when I am feeling pressure. I am so aware now that I have to transcend this in order to take things to the next level and reach inner peace.

A good friend reminded me last weekend that God gives the biggest battles to his strongest soldiers. I took a lot of comfort in that, and I also realized that I must be Iron(wo)man!

So this entire process has made me redefine Success. Most people think success means a lot of money and/or power. To me success means being able to do what I am called to do, to be at peace at all times, spread love and to have freedom of choice. Yes, I want to make a dent in the universe and help people heal, grow and reach their full potential, but I have realized lately that I cannot achieve this in the right way if I let my Ego get involved. It is so easy to be in Ego and now I am so aware of this that every day I have to work on not letting it get in the way. We get so caught up in every day life, work, bills, what we have to do, impressing other people and we forget to be in the NOW and feed our souls. We are always rushing from pillar to post, without stopping to be grateful and contemplate life and God and what is important.

At the end of the day, other people’s opinions, fancy titles, material possessions and status are the least important things. That is ALL ego.

‘Success is too often defined as what we have, where it should be defined as who and what we ARE!’

Your purpose is SO much bigger than you and in order to be in alignment with it, you have to get rid of that E.G.O (Edging God Out)

In a nutshell, for me, the Purpose of life is as follows:

  • To be completely authentic and not apologizing for it
  • To live YOUR truth and nobody else’s
  • To make a real difference in the lives of others
  • To raise your consciousness in order to help the rest of the planet shift positively
  • To spread joy and love

I would like to urge each and every person reading this who is settling and has given up on finding their purpose and pursuing their passion (whether you have found it or not), don’t EVER give up. Don’t EVER settle. You have nothing to lose by following your heart and intuition and everything to gain. It won’t be easy, but it sure as hell will be worth it! Remember, you never lose, you either win or learn.

So what is the meaning of life?
“Nothing has meaning, except the meaning you give it.” ~Anthony Robbins

Sort:  

Congratulations @naturallybronwyn! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @naturallybronwyn! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloweeen story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @naturallybronwyn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55