Dance of the Dragonflies - @papa-pepper

in #photography8 years ago

Mating Green Darner Dragonflies (Anax Junius) New Photographs by @papa-pepper

As I was walking over to photograph some Passionflowers last night, I noticed a few couples of dragonflies mating in a pond. I think that they were all Green Darner Dragonflies. The sunshine was bouncing off the water at an appealing angle, so I lined up a few shots. The dragonflies were preoccupied and didn't seem to mind. There's a few shots of each couple, and in two of the photos you can even see all four.

As you may have been able to tell from some of my other photographs, I really enjoy the creeping, crawling, and flying creatures. Dragonflies are no exception. They are amazing creatures and I've always enjoyed them, ever since I was a young boy catching them with a fishing net. Not only do they eat a ton of mosquitoes, they are hard at work making the next generation of mosquito-eaters too!

Also, for an incredible photographic documentation of life transformation, be sure to check out my Cicada post if you haven't already seen it.

Enjoy the pics and thanks for the support. - @papa-pepper


proof-of-dragon-dance Looks like I forgot to take the camera out of my mouth

Sort:  

Amazing insects ☺. And how much to eat.. Thanks for sharing!

#leylar-photo

You're welcome, and I agree, Amazing insects.

I also like nature

Second photo the perfect one .
Love them the sparkling water , the dragonflies just perfect .

Thanks, I was pleased with the effect the Sun created on the water, and the dragonflies look incredible.

I will follow you start for now on .
Check my photograpy if you got some time :)

Yeah, I saw some. I like the rain forest bugs and the sunset. Keep shooting, just keep your shirt on. ;)

Ahaaa !
Thanks , my shirt too complicated to keep them around me , sure i will upload more of my photo :D

what do you call a psychic midget who has escaped from prison? -A SMALL MEDIUM AT LARGE!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 13.3 and reading ease of 32%. This puts the writing level on par with academic journals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43