The Adventures of Lemon and Lime

in #nature8 years ago

Though I had never seen one until yesterday, it appears that yellow Katydids exist in the wild. Upon doing a little research, I found out that pink and orange Katydids also exist, along with the common green colored ones.

When I first saw this guy yesterday, my immediate reaction was to capture it and observe the creature. Once that was accomplished, I wanted to find a green one for comparison.

I was aware of a few different species of katydid, but I did not realize that there was such color variation within this species.

I've enjoyed Katydids ever since I was a young child, and it is great to still have new experiences with them even after all these years.

A very peculiar and incredible creature indeed, and now available in yellow! I wish I would have thought about it at the time, but if I would have put the yellow one on a lime and the green one on a lemon, that would have made an incredible photo. Maybe next time. I’ll let you know!


proof-of-katydid

Sort:  

@papa-pepper don't forget to vote for your own posts and tick the box before you make it live.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.8 and reading ease of 62%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43