Original Content Creators...Where Ya At?

in #spam7 years ago

Now, Steemit just seems to be filled with spamming bots/people and regular people copying and pasting content. it's becoming more and more of a problem for steemit and needs to be stopped.


Most of the comments I get on my posts are pretty much spam. I mean gawd...it's annoying! Whether it is a spam bot or some dude from Nigeria, I'm always getting spam. And it's always someone from another country or an annoying bot. We really need a new system to fight spam.

And to be honest, we have been getting more and more bots and spam on steemit now more than ever. I understand steemit is still in beta, but we really need to figure out a way to weed out all of these bots and spammers. Because the majority of new users are spammers or bots. Which can be an extreme turn off for many people, me included.

What sucks is when you spend an hour writing an article, and all you get is someone asking you to follow and upvote them or somebody commenting a copy and pasted line onto your comment section without consideration. You work hard, and all you get is spam for the most part, which is extremely annoying.

We have way too many new people spamming and creating spammy bots... 😠 😠 😠

Now as if we don't have enough new people already that are spamming peoples posts asking for upvotes and follows, we now have bots that do exactly the same except in a larger scale. That's just great, mate.

On steemit, we have recently reached over 300,000 users (which is not a good thing), and most of them are bots. Some bots are good and don't spam like the @cheetah bot or bots like that. And the majority of these bots constantly spam peoples posts asking for upvotes and follows etc.

The amount of spam on here is unbelievable... and is really annoying.

And I think if we want steemit to excel as a platform, we need to get rid of these bots...Not only are the bots taking away from the rewards pool, but they are annoying people with their spammy comments. We need more legit users on this platform, meaning less of the spammy bots and people who are posting genuine content.

As of now, steemit is flooded. Steemit is at that point to which if you follow even 50 people you like, you can't even catch up with their posts unless you specifically go to their post. There is a rapid amount of spam posting on steemit and a rapid amount of people joining at the same time. Which in my eyes, is not good at all.

What needs to be done...

hold-up.gif

Steemit is a diamond in the rough, and right now it's in a beta currently, and it is not completely refined. But until then, I think we need to charge for people to join steemit or join by invite only. This will weed out a lot of those spammers joining in massive amounts. This is a good solution until steemit is in it's final phase and is spammer and scammer resistant.
(hopefully)... Let's hope steemit makes a leap for improvement soon...

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

It really is discouraging. I just started last month and am slowly getting a few followers. I take my time to write my posts about couponing and saving money but it seems like everyone else who is scamming people get all the upvotes and $$. Hopefully people open their eyes and start appreciating the ones that put some time and effort into their posts instead of the ones that are just begging for $$

I followed you even though I don't really use coupons all that often but I appreciate the original content also, have an upvote.

Thank you so much! I just checked out some of your posts and am looking forward to seeing some more of your work.

ok

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Use my link, use my link, use my link. I are not robot

I agree this is a big problem and a huge turn off. It's getting harder to find original content on the "new" page.

@M@1neEvent had a great idea to start using a new tag #original-content

https://steemit.com/original-content/@ma1neevent/original-content-start-using-this-tag-for-steemit-original-content

This will at least make it easier to spot the good content and raise it up. As for the spam, I think something needs to be done with the next HF. The way flagging is set up now doesn't really give you much incentive to downvote someone. It drains your voting power and gives you potential enemies who may or may not try to downvote you back (depending on your SP).

Don't be annoyed! I'm not from Nigeria or a dude, and I send you kind regards from Serbia! :)

Charging for entry will kill the platform. Plain and simple.

Limiting bot use on the other hand and/or charging for bot creation is a different story.

The best thing most of us content creators can do is reward obviously solid content and ignore the rest as well as spread this message like wildfire.

The trending section is a disaster zone today; filled with vitriol and toxic waste, yet I've been posting and resteeming great stuff all week.

Weekend drama? :)

not right at all for you to single out a country for spam on steemit, thats very rude. there are spammers from every country of the world here on steemit. spamming is part of any online network, even @ned has spam comments dropped on his post. you ignore or flag a post you see as spam, most new users dont know any better and they learn as they mature on the platform.i am nigerian and am not a spammer yet i have spam comments on my post that werent from nigerians. so its very very wrong of you to paint a picture that depicts that if you get a spam comment on a post it must be from a nigerian.

Oh im sorry... Did i offend you? Spammers are typically from that region, get over it. They are coming not only from nigeria, but from vietnam, india, thailand, america, and so on. I just listed and example, and if that pisses you off then dont even bother to comment on my post, just leave. I am stating things how they are. Spammers are everywhere and I would prefer to not be politically correct and put things how they are than to sugar coat everything.

I'm a Nigerian and i'm sad that Nigerians are gaining bad reputation here for spamming, i hope to change a lot of things as i have begin already.

If you use your country tag and post your ideas - maybe your countrymen will read you and learn. They are just trying to figure this out and see a lot of spam so maybe they think it is ok.

its not most nigerians fault, it just the spammers. I just listen the type of people i see spamming, its not just nigerians btw.. I am glad you see that and are not getting mad like some people are here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85