The Old Dog Examines: Space Saving Design. From Two To Ten People In Fourty Seconds!

in #spacesaving7 years ago (edited)

I spent my early years as a furniture designer and I especially love space saving solutions! I remember traveling to the furniture exhibition in Milan and have always been a lover of European and especially Italian design! 

Keep It Small, Keep It Clean, But Keep It Flexible!

In our home we have a small round dining room table which fits four people.  When we entertain I put a large sheet of particle board which I keep behind the house on top of the round table and we can seat ten. It's not the most glamorous of solutions and @lellabird is fed up with it! You know the routine: "We've been married for 33 years and blah blah bla..."

A little while back I was washing the windows for one of my customers (Clever Home) near Lugano and they offer many space saving ideas! The owner demonstrated a possible solution to my problem which you can see below!

Check Out This Video Of a Fabulous Solution: 

Special Bonus, Hear the Old Dog Speak Italian! Apologies to Italian Steemers!


Very sleek, it would fit against the wall and could be used as a dining table when necessary

Here Are Some More Solutions!

Aren't these solutions just amazing!

What Do You Think?

  • Do you enjoy space saving solutions?
  • Do you like these flexible designs?
  • Should I get @lellabird60 a new table? 
  • If I do will I score lots of points? 
  • Should I buy it with Steem?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about saving space!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

The second video is much more along the line off what I have been envisioning over the years, great choice of video for us. Thanks for sharing, I love designs of that nature including spirals and circles while using the dynamic of movement to allow for expansion or its opposite.

Buying it with Steem would not only give you a lot of points with @lellabird60 but tons with us all! ;)

Namaste :)

If you've been invisioning that maybe someone stole your idea! ;D You're a deep thinker @eric-boucher and we love that!

Thanks for the very kind words and the full hearted laughter. It feels great to start the wain this fashion. Namaste :)

I love space saving designs, and am also a big fan of how to make the most of tiny spaces... Japanese design is especially good at this type of thing; you can also get lots of good ideas from looking at how boats are designed.

When I moved from Texas to Washington state 11 years ago, it was actually in a school bus converted to motorhome... and again, efficiency of space was an absolute must. Lots of things with dual purpose-- a bench opens and becomes a bed; kitchen counter swivels 90% and becomes dining table, and so forth.

Like the designs in the videos, too... especially the second video, where the "parts" are self-contained within the piece.

Your suggestion of examining boats is a good one and it's very interesting to read how you moved from Texas to Washington State! I Love examining spaces and analysing how best to use them!

That table is amazing!!!!! :O If you get the chance you should upvote my latest Daily Steemit Vlog about my prediction on Steems price! Thanks! :) https://steemit.com/steem/@parkermorris/steemit-daily-vlog-002-my-steem-price-predictions

I'm always intrested in the price of Steem so why not?

Should I get @lellabird60 a new table?

you should if she asked :P
haha
I saw that the other planks were coming else where .. are those other planks the guy added on that 1st table not tilt prone?
where do you store the rest of the parts?

btw .. only Mrs is using this account
got your PM :)

All good questions @eglishtchrivy. Tilt prone? I didn't test it. As for the extra extensions I can't remember where he pulled them out from.
Thanks for the visit!

That's pretty amazing engineering and practical! Thanks for sharing, up voted :-)

Much appreciated. Yes the engineering is above and beyond!

omg the circular tables are just awesome! How come I never see these tables being sold in the market...

I imagine that they are sold at high end furniture stores! Thanks for having a look!

You are welcome! In HK the living space is soooo limited and soooo expensive, so I guess these products are just wonderful for us ;)

Btw please pay a visit to my math puzzle posts if you have time :) All are quite challenging and interesting! :)

Math challenge #4 - Probability of slapping your Chief Executive?

The first table is quite complicated, imagine everytime you want to expand the table, you'll need to do a lot of work. Not quite suitable for lazy people like me LOL. But I would prefer the tables from the second video where you can just spin to expand it. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, lots of work but I imagine that you could get it down to under 40 seconds. It still beats me having to go behind the house, get the huge sheet of particle board, bring it in, clean it, position it etc... ...Then take it back outside after the party is over......yikes!

@kus-knee thanks for the ideas of the solution to save space!

Thanks for coming!

Incredible. I definitely need these in my tiny home. Thanks for sharing the innovative ideas, hope there will be more such furniture on the market!

We use such a table in the house. @kus-knee

That's also very ingenious!

Very cool, and beautiful design. Where did you buy it? I saw similar in IKEA.

My husband makes furniture himself.

No way! That's such a cool profession. Why did you switch jobs? ;)

Time and unforeseen occurrence. When we left Toronto for a small town in Switzerland that life was over. I still love design but my new passion is Steeming!

I see. Sounds like you've lived all over. Pretty cool. And your new passion is treating you well ;)

Yes with the price of Steem rising it's looking like I've invested my time well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88