You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inside NASAs Launch Control Center

in #space7 years ago

Thank you for reading @hansenator.
That's an awesome degree to have! I wish I took even more maths than I did, but hey, one can always learn new things on the side. :) I was never a NASA employee, as I state initially, I was there while at the International Space University, whose programme allowed me to stay 9 weeks at Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

I now work at the European Space Agency though, and one of my best friends is a planetary scientist at NASA JPL. There is, obviously, a lot of competitions for the jobs. Most of my friends also went to the International Space University for at least a summer to get some networks and field-knowledge in the space sector.

The good thing is, from your point of view, that most space agencies are facing a new need for young people. All those who were inspired by Apollo are now getting older, and so there is a need for new blood :) So try and apply! I would recommend going to something like ISU, just to get a better understanding of what specifically you want to do in the space sector, so that you can write an application that shows that you know exactly what you want, and can show that you're the right person for the job.

Thank you for commenting! I hope we can have some fruitful conversations here on steemit :) Followed you.

Sort:  

I'll apply to ISU for next Summer, should be fun! Too bad there aren't branches near me. I can apply to NASA throughout the year though. Haha. I already see that you are an amazing blogger. I can't wait to hear from you again! steemit.chat is good for contact too!

That's awesome to hear! Perhaps I will see you there then as I tend to try and attend the alumni weekends that are during the program :) Feel free to ask if you want some recommendations for writing the application!

Very happy to hear that you like what I'm writing. Happy to speak on either steem.chat or the steemspeak discord channel.

Take care

Ummmm.... YES! Lol. I will definitely let you know when I apply to either! My boss probably won't like the call from NASA for a rec. because she kinda needs me there. I will get you on steemit.chat when I'm ready. How early should I apply for the school?

I applied in January, but I would recommend you to read the questions and looking into whether there are some scholarship-opportunities in your country. For me, the Norwegian Space Agency were of great help.

Will do! Thank you! I wouldn't mind a Scholarship. Saving is important at this stage of life.... or any.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60