Radical DIY 12v *SOLAR* set-up for campers, boats, and shacks

in #solar6 years ago

S I M P L E // S O L A R // F O R // A L L

Screen Shot 2018-06-26 at 12.22.16 PM.png

Hey ya'll,

I wrote this DIY piece on how I generally set up my solar panel for my mobile camper last year, especially geared towards femmes or non-cis men who don't have as ready access to the knowledge. This is just one way to do it, and there are many ways. I tried to set it up with safety in mind too. Its for 12v only, but an inverter for higher draw would increase the amount of appliances you can use.

The diagram is of my set up. If you have any questions about the set up or what parts to choose in the flow, I could give you my (non-expert) opinion!

I have to say too, it was pretty fun figuring this out. Lots of reading, you-tube videos, asking random friends about electricity, etc.

I was pretty scared to drill into the top of my camper that had no leaks thus far (its from 1974, that's a miracle!) too, but with the right roof sealant for the screws and the entry housing (a waterproof space where the cords from the panel go into the body of the camper). I'll so a post at some point showing some of the details of that, as soon as I can climb up my truck and get on my roof to access things. I actually really need to do some maintenance up there, anyway.

12vsolardiyhenbane.jpg

12vsolardiyhenbane2.jpg

for some reason, two photos below got turned sideways (maybe I need to adjust them to be square?) of my 12v-lighter plug in, and my charge controller-loads station.

IMG_2924.jpg

I attached the solar panel above where my fridge is in the back, and wired it through the roof down behind the fridge and into the area under my sink, where the charge controller and loads panel is. My roof isn't the best for climbing on and definitely not for walking on, so I need to install a ladder at some point. My truck is pretty tall, and getting jacks on the camper is in order too.

editsvsco-30.jpg
IMG_2923.jpg

IMG_2254.jpgeditsvsco-101.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


thank you! it took a lot of time to figure out that solar. now i just need to convert the diesel truck to run off of grease...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mountainjewel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you ! I'll start navigating the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network Discord channel tonight. This is all pretty new to me!

totally hear you in the fear of drilling holes where there were none before! haha it's so (literally) empowering to DIY solar tho! proud of you! this is awesome. (for some reason the photos have been presenting sideways at times; an edit flip flip flip save and reupload will actually fix that; not sure why it's occurring.) Good job on hooking up your rig! we did our own solar up after much research and and can't imagine it any other way. love your art, too!

i'm sure ya'll did it bigger than 12v for the homestead. it would be cool to see the setup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63