A Hand Up, Not a Hand Out: a personal statement on the study of sociology

in #sociology5 years ago

People often look at individuals experiencing homelessness as though there is something wrong with the person, or that they should stop begging and get a job.


homeless man by tree.jpeg
Source

However, this sort of person-blame approach to a societal problem is severely detrimental to social evolution. The idea that one can simply pull themselves up by their bootstraps is rampant within the working class. This perpetuates the illusion that an individual is completely in control of their situation and is provided with the same set of tools to succeed as every other individual.

The reality of the situation is that many Americans are living just one financial hardship away from being homeless themselves. One major medical bill that isn't covered by insurance and losing your job can happen at a moment's notice. Pressure from the societal systems in place can cause an individual to lose everything they own in a terrifyingly short amount time. I know this to be true because it is an experience I lived with for many years after departing from the military in 2010.


an army of one.jpg
Source


I lost my job early in 2011, and very quickly after that I became homeless with nothing to my name. I was unable to pay rent, so I lost my place to call home. I could no longer afford car payments, so I lost my vehicle. Finding food to eat became a struggle. The woman I loved soon thereafter left me for another person. I spent months looking for work to no avail. I was ragged, dirty, and tired. Every potential employer could see through the facade I put on each time I'd ask for an application. My hours spent awake became riddle with drugs just to cope with being alive, with being trapped in a situation I had little control over. I would go days without eating, spending what little money I could scrounge up on drugs so that I could ignore my situation through the use of different chemicals.

Nearly five years of my life was off and on homelessness due to the inability to establish myself in society with the lack of support in my life. The only reason that I am as successful as I am currently is because I was given the assistance I needed to get back on my feet. Being given a helping hand up allowed me to establish my housing, and maintain my mental and physical health. Now I am a full time student maintaining a 3.9 GPA and I am no longer addicted to drugs.

Chronic homelessness is a problem that many Americans face on a day to day basis, and its not entirely their fault. The system we all are a part of largely, if not entirely, impacts the outcomes of the situations we each experience. Thus, the importance of evaluating, understanding, and revolutionizing the flaws within our system which develop into chronic ails throughout society becomes undeniable.


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas, Cat-herder aka Chief Bigstick
High Priest, Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe : Caste of the Pulleiaceus Sun

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for sharing how easily this can happen to most of us. Sending you a hug for your vulnerability & courage. 3.9 GPA? Wow. Impressed. Much love from Thailand. 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Your story always amazes me and I'm so proud of where you are now, understanding how tough it can be. My hubby was also homeless for a good while in UK. We always have deep empathy and compassion for people in this situation, knowing how this might occur. How anyone can't I don't know.. ignorance clearly.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is so unfair how so many pass judgement on others having no idea what has led them to where they are. Society has failed so many and I am so happy that you did received the hand up you needed. You have achieved so much and now you our on your way to fulfilling your dreams, hats off to you @alchemage, you are who you are because of what you went through xx

@alchemage You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations @alchemage! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 48000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 49000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63