Social Media Tip #4 from $200 Social.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #socialmedia8 years ago

Hashtags the Most Underused Tool on Social Media.

Social media can be overwhelming but there are some aspects that are universal across all platforms. One of these is the use of hashtags. Are you using them when you build a post?

Did you know you can use hashtags on all of these platforms?

  1. Facebook
  2. Twitter
  3. Google Plus
  4. Pinterest
  5. Tumblr
  6. Medium
  7. Steemit
  8. Instagram

Why You Should use #Hashtags

They have become a vital part of the conversation across social media. If used properly they can greatly increase the chance of your posts being seen by your desired audience. Big Data firms use hashtags to help decide what the subject of a post is about. This is the top reason that I recommend you use them properly.

My mentors taught me years ago that you should stick to a few subjects online that you truly care about if you are building a personal brand. Mine are Bitcoin, Crypto Currency, Panama, Social Media and Precious Metals. I have focused on these particular key words for years and now I rank high on Google for all of them.

The Keys to a Proper Social Media Post.

This is just a recommendation to optimize your chances of success online. You can post any way you would like but I want you to get to your desired goals with the least amount of resistance.

Don't Abuse Hashtags.

We have all seen people on Twitter and Instagram abuse hashtags. Don't be one of those people. Stick to a plan and focus your hashtags on your desired topics. Too many hashtags just looks messy and unprofessional. On Twitter keep it to three or less. Twitter is where hashtags were born and the etiquette is well known. You can get away with many more on Instagram but the recommended number is less than ten. Everywhere else you will be safe with under three.

Steemit is a different animal. If you use a hashtag in the text of your post you will have one less category available. Since I used #Hashtags in the text of the blog post I now can only add four more category tags. I learned this one the hard way.

Now go out and increase your reach across social media. Thank you for reading from the team at $200 Social.

Did you miss yesterdays post? Social Media Tip #3 from $200 Social.. Learn how to use images and video to boost your brand online.

Sort:  

Thank you for this post Randy! I need to get back to placing the hashtags in my posts as well. But like you said, stick with a few subjects you care about and row it.

This will sound dumb, but how do you get SO MANY crazy numbers of votes on all your comments and replies every day like this, LOL! #MinnowLife and TYIA. I just cannot believe it lol.

Interesting as I have never used them at all

It will help turn up the volume of your posts especially on Twitter and Instagram.

Many thanks

So what is better placement, in the body text or the # in the tags?

If you are talking about Steemit I think they are equal. On other platforms I would put them in the body of text.

Thank you... So one more question, on a webpage if I use the #Kyusho, would I then take it out of the tags as (Kyusho)?

Nope that is fine to do if you want to rank for that keyword.

Thank you Stephen, you are already pretty well versed.

UV for you.

I think I am doing OK with some stuff you point out there today. I know you want me to switch my post etiquette on the twitter but like I said, they show up goofy looking on twitter but it is just so darn convenient and time saving to "post once -- have it go multiple places" --

My twitter stats are still showing RT and follows and people add me to lists all
the time, so it is working OK?

I liked when you explained about the 5 limit # limit on here, and that even you learned the hard way, I found that SO frustrating my first couple days on here, I was // expletive/deletive // lol!

I like this little series you are doin this week!!!!

I am happy you like it. Now I have to think of more things to write. That is the hardest part.

Oh and unrelated, would you mind having a look at this, I think this is a good idea I have come up with: -- Hey there, have a look at this idea I put up today. Not much action on it but I think it might be good: https://steemit.com/steemprentice/@barrydutton/steem-poke-pls-comment-here-to-encourage-a-new-member-to-join-steemit

As you know I am not a fan of convincing people. My big thing is showing people the golden road but it is their responsibility to take it. You were the wise one and saw the value in Steemit. Most will just waste your time and energy. So it is best to inform and then show them through your results.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

These are great and short and digestible, thanks Randy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20