Show Us Your California Contest - Week 2 /@tryskele edition

in #socalsteemit5 years ago

w1ybi3wx4w.jpg

When we grow up and move through life it usually involves a couple of big moves or 2. You end up having a place you call home and a place you say you're from that you consider home. A great example of this is Bob Costas. He was born in St. Louis, Missouri lived there through his younger years. Then his family moved to New York. If you ask him 'Where are you from or Where do you call home?' He always says St. Louis. If you ask him where he lives, he responds with New York.

I fit in with this group. I was born in Hollywood, CA. Grew up in Mission Viejo, CA. I was transplanted in my high school years to Illinois and moved back to El Toro, CA. I spent the next 12 years in various areas around Southern California. The last 6 yrs were in Lake Elsinore, CA. Due to some seriously bad choices, I ended up in St.Louis for the next 6 years and have been in Grand Junction, CO ever since. I personally no longer have any direct family that lives there. I have my nieces, well really only 1 from my ex-husband who I consider as one of my own, since I raised her in her early years.

Southern California will always be my home. I can still get around even though most of the area where I lived has changed immensely. I saw this contest and thought it would be great to 'honor' my home. I did a post not too long ago on how much things have changed. I think I am just going to post a picture from my last trip. Just even looking at this eases the yearning. I am sure anyone else who has moved away and was a typical 80's kid spent their summers at the beach. LOL at 10 yrs old, my brother and I would take the bus over to Laguna Hills Mall and then take the bus to Laguna Beach and spend the day down there. Sometimes we had a 'babysitter' go with us, but mostly we went by ourselves. Shows you how much things change over time.

When I would get stressed out when I was older, I drove to the beach and would just sit there. It's infectious. Once it's in your blood, you always have that yearning to be there. Sure there is amazing beauty around here, but the beach was my salvation. The taste of the air, the sound of the waves, the feel of the sand all it very comforting.

My last trip was in September 2015. My daughter was finishing up school at Saddleback. She had to have surgery(nothing major just carpal tunnel) and if she doesn't have someone there she'll over do it. Plus I just wanted to spend time with her. It's not the best picture I have ever taken, but the memory of it is enough, we were on our way to view a wedding venue between Oceanside and Temecula.

Thank you #mycalifornia and #socalsteemit for giving me an opportunity to share this part of my life.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord



Pay It Forward Contests

SB_new.png



IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9981243614355781
This post was voted: 74.03%

Thank you so much.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I like the picture very much because it's blurred and not perfect at all but it has all it's needed to transmit that particular melancholic mood. I like your words a lot too: they're authentic and sincere. I felt I wanted to read more of a place so far from where I live. A place that in my mind is represented only by songs I heard and books I read..

Thanks @f3nix :) I am glad that you like it. I am finding out more and more when I am honest and make the post personal it does better and I feel better.

It's evident and truth is such a rare good nowadays .. keep it up!

Home is were the heart is, that is what I have always been told, so CA sounds like it will always be home for you, not just because you were born there but for the memories.

It definitely holds true. No matter where I end up it will always be home. Thank so much for stopping by @sutlnpapper :)

You are most welcome.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity.

You can support us by following our curation trail or by delegating SP to us.

20 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 300 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP.

If you are not actively voting for Steem Witnesses, please set us as your voting proxy.

Feel free to join BDCommunity Discord Server.

Congratulations, your post was the Runner up in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

That's pretty exciting. Thank you :)

Now we know another part of your life. Great idea.
Upvoted offcourse
GREETZ Britt

Thanks Britt. I miss it so much, but I honestly don't want to live there anymore. It had gotten to be entirely too congested. I didn't like that I lived 10 miles from work and It would take me at least an hour to get there, regardless of freeway or streets. No most of the state isn't like that, but everyone wants to live in LA and the surrounding area.

I can imagine I want to go There in holiday ....

OH most definitely. It's funny when we do make it home like normal people, we have a list of places we have to eat at LOL. I have to get a beach trip every time. Ironically my hubby now grew up in Lakewood near Long Beach. He never went to the beach as a kid. I asked him if he was broken. LOL

I served a Spanish-speaking church mission in Orange County. After the two years were up, I came home to Oregon and then went back. By the time I returned to Oregon for the second time, I was married with two young sons.

Maybe you know all that already. I don't remember who I've told. :)

At any rate, we lived in Santa Ana and the city of Orange when we were married. Before that, I lived in Laguna Niguel and worked there. Laguna Beach has a special significance for us because that's where we decided we would get married. (It was less a proposal as it was a conversation mutually agreed upon :)

Dana Point and San Clemente are both cool places to visit, along with Huntington Beach. Lots of fond memories. Just very expensive to live there.

Congratulations again on the Show Us Your California contest award.

You sound like me. I've been to all of those. Many many more stories and memories from each of those locations. My ex-husband and I took our 'engagement pictures at Laguna Beach. The cove down from the staircase. I don't know that's still there. I think my daughter told me they closed it because it wasn't safe anymore. LOL like it was ever safe.

Thank you very much @glenalbrethsen

We were down there around this time last year (was probably a week or so before Thanksgiving. I didn't recognize any of it. :) We were trying to get back to the main beach, but ended up somewhere else entirely. I guess I should have paid more attention to where we were 30 years ago. :)

My wife still has family down there, so I'm sure we'll make another run at it.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.506 which ranks you at #6424 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 58 places in the last three days (old rank 6482).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 438 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87