Sndbox Summer Camp: Philosophy, Psychology and Sociology Quest Task 3

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

I have arrived at Task 3 of the Sndbox Summer Camp Quest by @anomadsoul and @guyfawkes4-20, supported and sponsored by @Sndbox, @voronoi, and @hansikhouse.

20180410_020143_0001.png

Task 3 requires us to share about our journey into philosophy, psychology and sociology and why we want to be part of @sndbox.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

My Journey of Discovery

man-2546107_960_720.jpg
Image Source

I am not professionally trained or educated in either of these fields, except that I studied social psychology for a term in my university years when I was doing my degree as it was my compulsory elective subject along with entrepreneurship. I was pursuing a degree in Biotechnology back then.

However, I have always been interested in learning about quotes and core values in life, which is what I deem philosophy as: the important values people live by. I am easily wow-ed by the wisdom we humans have and I believe that our minds are created to be creative as well as to be wholesome and smart. As I study more especially about the Bible, it continuously amazes me with so many great excellent values to live by, some of which requires more than me to practise, which is when grace (the ability to do what I cannot do) comes in.

As for psychology and sociology, I think most of us yearn to know more about ourselves: how we act or behave, why we would think in a certain path, how to interact with others effectively so on and so forth. I am not excluded as well. I too want to know about our soul make-up and want to be a more wholesome individual to deal with hurts, betrayals, negative emotions in a healthy manner. I learnt to open myself to ask myself more questions to know my own real intention and desires. As I was doing that, I also learn to develop a heart for others. I learn to make a difference in where I am positioned, whether in university, workplace or even church. I wanted to re-learn confidence in a wholesome way and rediscover my worth. In my journey, I discovered many beautiful and also ugly things of myself, which I have learnt to deal with and also accept, by God's grace. I learn about the mannerism of others too as to why they may act and respond in some ways I may be foreign to.

One of the values I hold dear in life is:

Love is bigger than hurts. We can still choose the right thing in the face of hurts.

With what I have learnt, I was actively ministering to broken homes and families, especially to youths and young working adults. Not to say I am better or even competent, but I wanted to see them know they can do a better life and need not be victim to the circumstances they are born in. (Of course, I am NOT their savior. I can be burned out by trying to be.) I want to just do my part in cultivating a powerful culture, not being powerful out of hurts fighting for love, but being powerful out of being loved. Remember, everybody has something to contribute?

Now, frankly speaking, I have greatly reduced my community services compared to before since the arrival of my boy. I put in my whole heart in raising him, wanting him to know he is loved. So, currently I am investing all that I am into my second generation. Besides that, I am still actively tutoring some youths who seek counsels from me. I am humbled by their trusts towards me because my heart always aches whenever I hear any youth who does not know the purpose of life gave up their lives and commit suicides. I am not a noble person, just living out who I am, I guess.

To me, philosophy, psychology and sociology aren't just knowledge contained and learnt through books. They are actually practical ways of living. They will get better as I age and mature.

DQmR9xrs9qQxLR8Qw2tGrbeFV53is7hT6yoJmXRnmKxztDj_1680x8400.png

Why do I want to be part of #sndbox?

pexels-photo-209712.jpeg
Image Source

The reason why I am putting in extra efforts to try out in this quest is because I have known about @sndbox being a community who reaches out to real communities as well. @sndbox curates a huge variety of posts, which really speaks of what Steemit really is. Moreover, it is also because I want to reach out to more people with what I can write. I write about philosophies and beliefs in life, relationship, motivations, inspirations and also real life stories. I have recently started a new series titled Discovering the Undermined Gems as I felt I want to highlight some blue collars in my local community. I also write a series on My Tutor's Tale on young people's questions about life as and when my students talk to me.

Besides that, I am recently made a moderator for @steemmamas Discord server where we encourage all mamas on Steemit to join in for support worldwide. We have been encouraging each other as well as learning great information as everyone has something different to contribute.

I aim to produce quality posts to encourage and be real with everyone on Steemit. By joining @sndbox, I think my posts can gain more visibility to reach further and to showcase my thoughts which may be beneficial to a certain community. The good upvotes from @sndbox will increase the exposure my posts can receive. I may not have all it takes now, but I am willing to learn.

Thank you very much for this opportunity through this wonderful quest. I do hope I understand the different tasks correctly.

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SMbannersmall.png

banner_steemsugars.jpg

Sort:  

Same same. I also love good quotes and core values in life, to steer me towards to right direction in life. Love is indeed more powerful than hurts, and love itself can conquer all.

Now I hope we don't possess any negative feelings but I can deny I still have negative feelings here and there. They strike you without you welcoming them. I use them to ask myself questions too, then to learn how to discard those feeling and change to positive.

I thought only my car needs servicing, I also need to servicing, to adjust some bolts in my emotion or rusty feeling. I love your writing. Down to earth and true and genuine.

Yeah turning form negative to positive is one thing I learn from you alot. I often sink in my negativity and it is paralyzing. I got to have a better game plan and engrave some of these good quotes in me. Maybe write it everywhere as my reminders. More often that not, I write to motivate and encourage myself to process the negative feelings to arrive at a positive conclusion, hopefully.

Yeah we need so much servicing, but serviced to be better I hope :) Thank you for always dropping by!

You just planted 0.29 tree(s)!


Thanks to @happycrazycon

We have planted already 4398.61 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18669.19
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

And you will definitely be an asset to any community you join just because you're simply amazing!

thank you thank you for your faith in me! LOL, when I often doubt myself more :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43