Lasagna/Bag Gardening Post Analysis #sndboxquest1 #2

in #sndbox6 years ago

This is part two of @amymya's entry into the #sndboxquest1


Analyzing a Post: Lasagna/Bag Gardening




image source

I decided to do my post analysis on this post by @Bearone because this is a topic that really excites me.

As I mentioned in my Journey to Home(stead) post yesterday, I have a great big area that I hope to develop into a vegetable garden this spring. I had already planned to do lasagna gardening in this area but haven't figured out the details yet, and analyzing this post will be great for giving me ideas that will benefit my planning.

Lets get to it!

U5dsVqTCbCqUtNoFA2hVmAbDoWpcJoy_1680x8400.png


Who is @Bearone?



@Bearone, aka Arly, is a member of @sndbox who is a self confessed black thumb.

She is working her way to a permaculture food forest complete with chickens, just like me!

Last month she posted about having a vision of beginning a vegetable garden. With goals to become self sustainable and live off the land, her home in Blue Mountains Australia is set to become a real homestead.

Since that post of hopes and plans she has updated us regularly on her gardening progress. I have enjoyed reading through her posts and can identify with her, gardening is so much of a learning process, as soon as you think you have something figured out another curve ball is thrown!

Even though we are on different hemispheres with her in Australia while I am in Canada, I think we will be able to learn a lot from each other on our gardening adventures.

Black Thumb Chronicles : Hello Lasagna Bag Garden!

Image from orginal post by @bearone

@Bearone's post is titled Black Thumb Chronicles : Hello Lasagna Bag Garden!

As I mentioned, I am excited to pick the gems of information in this post because while I have plans to start a lasagna garden, I know that typical lasagna gardens take time before you can plant in them.

There is a solution to that problem though, and that is a Lasagna and Bag gardening combo!

@Bearone explains the reasons she wants to try this method with bullet points and pictures. Her key motivations are:

  • I can finally get rid of all my cardboard
  • All the things we pulled out during the clearing can go too
  • The mountain of grass cuttings.
  • Money
  • It really is worth Lasangafying.
  • RECYCLE BABY!

Already having the supplies to get started lasagna gardening is pretty typical for many homesteads, I know I have lots of cardboard on hand ans well as trimmings from bushes and piles of grass clippings.

Saving money is huge for me personally, and buying a truckload of premium compost to fill the area with would be quite pricey. @Bearone points out that by using the lasagna method we will be creating premium soil through resources we already have. Score! As she states, nothing beats having awesome soil, and this is so true. The healthier the soil the better our vegetables will grow, and they will be more nourishing to our bodies this way.

We all know the importance of recycling so that we can leave the earth better than we found it. "Every little bit we do counts."

@Bearone mentions that the idea for combining the Lasagna gardening method with the Bag gardening method came from her and her husbands need to get their property ready for a housewarming party in June.

I would like to be planting in my new Lasagna/ Bag garden in June as it is the beginning of summer here in Canada, so this timeline works perfectly for me.

She outlines the steps she will follow as:

We will simply go ahead and plant our plants in the garden bags, but we'll put them on top of the lasagna adding mulch on top to hide the bags and add another layer to the lasagna.

This way in 6 months time all we need to do is:

  • Take the bags off the lasagna
  • Dig a hole, moving the mulch layer to the sides.
  • Cut off the plastic from the soil bags.
  • Replant soil bag plants in the new you beaut lasagna soil.

I will be employing this method with a few variations, namely that I will wait until my crops are finished growing for the season before I take the bags off of the lasagna garden. I will then compost the spent plants and return the soil from the bags to the lasagna bed. The following spring I wont l need to plant in bags as breakdown of the layers of the Lasagna garden will be complete!

@Bearone concludes her post with excited words about which veggies she is going to start with first and how she is looking forward to the rain helping get the new lasagna bed settled.

A cheerful sign off and photo credits are provided at the end. The over all tone of the post is brimming with excitement and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and gleaning information.

The post isn't too formal and reads easily. I like that in my Steemit reads, I find it more enjoyable overall than a hefty and rigid article.

In analyzing this post Arly has definitely found another follower in me. I have read her Black Thumb Chronicles updates and look forward to more!

U5dsVqTCbCqUtNoFA2hVmAbDoWpcJoy_1680x8400.png

Steemit has been such a great place to connect with other gardeners and homesteaders and building these communities is a truly wonderful aspect of the blockchain.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in the #sndboxquest @Guyfawkes4-20 and @Anomadsoul!


Take Care,
@amymya

Join me on Sola!
Join me on Crypto Empire Discord
Join me on Family Protection Project Discord

DQmRqn2LVKTciC9oqzn2GyNoanzL2sPMLzNsszNk9u2nq7Y_1680x8400.jpg

Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png

DQmPzHhL7QL1JCjB3exmjEuJTNEfAeWabJizjY5fdErrFmP_1680x8400.png

The STEEM Engine

helpienaut.png

Sort:  

This is really interesting to read. Great work. 💪💪

Thank you! I thought so too!

Though it was yesterday, but I can't still stop wishing.
Happy women's day

Happy womens day to you as well ♡

Looks like you have a ton of great space to implement your garden design. Exciting isn't it?

So exciting. Can't wait!

interesting read. love the designs

This post gives me some good ideas on how to start the garden season without all the work of digging or tilling up the ground.

Exactly, this is going to make things much easier :)

A lovely post that tricked me by saying "Lasagna",

I wish you the best of luck in this quest... may you be successful, you deserve it :D

Lol, never stop being hilarious. Now I'm imagining the methods of genetically engineering a lasagna plant.

I was starving the whole time I was writing!

wuao, you do not know how much I like these posts that I'm taking ideas, thanks for sharing it is very helpful, greetings

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58