Homesteading: Me and my black thumb

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

While I sit here, very impatiently, waiting for my internet connection to get hooked up (sometime late this afternoon apparently), I'm very seriously considering giving the gardening a go.

I am not a gardener. I tend to kill plants ~ something about them needing water?

But I think in this case I should be ok because I'm not trying to grow anything, I'm actually hacking away at things so we can begin our veggie garden.

Our Garden

One of our goals is to become self sustainable. Just in case shit hits the fan we want to be able to live at our house off our land, with everything we need.

Obviously we would need solar and water tanks, but to be totally self sufficient we need to grow our own food.

Our land is just a little over 1000sqm, roughly a quarter of an acre. We have a deep front yard, and a half flat, half sloping back yard.

Having a decent land size was always on top of our priority list for this purpose but with Blue Mountains properties if you want flat land, most times you won't have a view.

To have found this land with it's half flat, half sloping backyard and great views (in our price range), was a miracle.

Here is the flat side of the backyard.

20180116_181324.jpg

Here is the sloping side.

20180116_181916.jpg

As you can see from both photos, it's gone wild.

Whatever that climbing plant is, it's taken over that whole side.

From a distance it all looks fine. It's green, therefore alive, and there seems to be flowers there somewhere and those are pretty.. But if you look closely, you'd see it for the total schmozzle that it is.

The Vision

20180130_111622.jpg

The vision is to clear all the plants along the retaining wall and use that as our veggie garden section.

With the fence already up, it could come in handy if we find we need to enclose that space to prevent animals from eating our crops.

Over on the slope side are where the fruiting trees will go so when they grow tall, I can stand on the hill and pick my fruit.

We'll also be leaving a space between the deck and the veggie garden to allow for stairs when we re-do the landscaping.

Yesterday's hack job

After it cooled down a bit yesterday I decided I couldn't take the mess anymore and hacked away at the bush and found we had Rosemary and Roses.

Still don't know what that bloody climber is, but I still hate it.

20180130_110012.jpg

I also began clearing the slope side.

20180130_110130.jpg

See how much neater it is?

This isn't just so it's nice and neat. It's actually because I found the plant was intertwined with the fence and I couldn't just pull it all out. I had to cut it all in segments and then pull, then cut some more.

Here's a closer look at yesterday's work.

20180130_110026.jpg

Rosemary is free! And the sad plant you see next to it is Lavender, and beside that, a hidden Rose bush.

Further along, you'll see how much more hacking I need to do.

20180130_110206.jpg

Imagine what it will look like without the dead tree in the back ground and all that growth.

I think it will be like a bigger viewing deck but with grass. There's some gorgeous views from the backyard, it'd be amazing to have an infinity pool here somewhere.

Our Plants.

Next door told us we had an Apple and a Plum tree (still haven't found these!) at the front yard,Hubby also reckons we have Passionfruit in the front yard.

In the backyard we have another fruit tree we can't identify, the Rosemary and Lavender, and these!

20180130_101750.jpg

20180130_101810.jpg

We also have our 6 year old Calamansi tree (Filipino Lemon), it's the one in the barrel pot and we bought this from Bunnings the other day.

20180130_101726.jpg

Isn't it glorious?

It is 30 degrees over here at the moment and with the Sun right above me, I think I'll wait a couple of hours before I get stuck into the gardening.

Also... We have our final inspection for the old house this afternoon.... Please wish us luck.

Happy Tuesday!

💗 Arly

Sort:  

"hack job" 😂😂 did you end up getting the ozito trimmer Arly? Looks like a nice place to live despite no internet atm

Nooo!!!! I'm getting a bit desperate for it to be honest. We borrowed a long reach "saw" (tetanus magnet) that works ok in small branches but is a total fail on thicker one . Need that ozito pack.

Haha thanks yep. It'd be perfect with the internet, no rats, and these trees trimmed lol

Can I just say that you have arguably one of the most beautiful house and garden I have ever seen. Seriously, it’s so serene and peaceful to look at! Thank you for blessing my eyes with all those pictures. Hopefully your vision will materialise! Can’t wait to see how it looks like when it is done! Good luck!

Aww thank you so much. We do love our home. The yard was definitely one of its selling points.

If only we have places like that in Malaysia, the weather and condition here doesn’t allow for such beautiful scenery. But don’t me wrong, we do have beautiful places to vist, i’ve written about some of those places, of course i’f be honoured to have you reading it :)

hola @bearone, Sorpredente tienes todo planificado detalladamente, el jardin tiene unos colores hermosos, debe haber mucho aire fresco, paz y tranquilidad, suerte con tu proyecto

You have a beautiful landscape madam and it will be prettier if it will be added by more flowers.
I also love your idea of having self-sustainable foods growing in your garden.
Can't wait to see them growing :)

Looks like you really lucked out with that property :D I had to giggle at the house plan with the spiral for the clothes line, I'm not envisioning your line spinning like crazy XD

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68903.51
ETH 3762.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43