Sort:  

So did I. I don't smoke, I've never wanted to, despite the fact that all the kids at my school smoked. The thing was (and still is) that all the smokers would go out on breaks to have a smoke and you'd be left alone, or with a couple of other non-smokers. You had to do it if you wanted to be cool, if you wanted to have friends. I think for kids it also marks a big step into adulthood, the same with booze and sex. This is something adults do (smoking). I do this, therefore I am an adult too now.

I think that's another big part of expressing independence and individuality.

As for the social aspect, it is a bonding experience for the smokers. Lawyers and business-people usually advance in their firms more quickly if they smoke - all that networking time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49