You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Cigarettes Liberate The Adolescent

in #smoking7 years ago

Basically, kids smoke because it reduces anxiety, the same reason adults do. Indeed, most of that anxiety comes from all the pressure adults (their parents and teachers) place on them.
I've always had a low tolerance for parents who expect their kids to be eternally grateful for everything they give them. If you give me something only to have me forever grateful and indebted to you, you're being selfish.
Great post, although depressing.

Sort:  

Thank you. I was never a cigarette smoker as a kid myself, but I had a lot of friends who were. I saw this pattern coming up again and again.

So did I. I don't smoke, I've never wanted to, despite the fact that all the kids at my school smoked. The thing was (and still is) that all the smokers would go out on breaks to have a smoke and you'd be left alone, or with a couple of other non-smokers. You had to do it if you wanted to be cool, if you wanted to have friends. I think for kids it also marks a big step into adulthood, the same with booze and sex. This is something adults do (smoking). I do this, therefore I am an adult too now.

I think that's another big part of expressing independence and individuality.

As for the social aspect, it is a bonding experience for the smokers. Lawyers and business-people usually advance in their firms more quickly if they smoke - all that networking time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49