How Cigarettes Liberate The Adolescent

in #smoking7 years ago (edited)

As soon as we come into this world, we consume resources.

If we hadn’t arrived, those resources could have benefited our parents, or our older siblings. But we’re here now. So we begin by draining nutrients from a mother’s breast. Later, at the dinner table, we’re reminded of how hard our parents worked to secure and prepare our food. If we don’t want to eat, they tell us of the kids going hungry in Africa, kids who would probably kill us for our food, if they could get their hands on us.


Image from Pixabay.com


We must consume. So we over-consume out of guilt and end up obese. Or, we deny ourselves out of a sense of unworthiness and become anorexic. The only thing we can be certain of, in childhood, is that we cannot trust our own mouths or our own appetites. Because: to feel appropriately full and healthy is to have robbed the world of another’s share.

Our parents remind us daily of the sacrifices they made to keep us alive. We have so many things they didn’t have: computers and video games, cars with power-windows and anti-lock brakes, school-buses that pick us up right from the end of the driveway. Our parents struggle to survive, so we have no right to complain. It’s our fault they will never be wealthy, or at least not as wealthy as they would have been without us. We should think about that, when we don’t get our way. We should stand in the corner and count our blessings.

Everything we are given, as children, comes from a place of obligation. Our food, our clothing, our education and our toys — all freighted with resentment. We accept what we must because we have to. But we refuse as much as we can. This is the logic: if having, existing, and consuming has caused so much harm, then surely self-denial is the path to virtue.

And then, sometime around the age where we’re able to earn a bit of our own money, we discover cigarettes.

Sweet, smoky, self-contained cigarettes.

Here is a thing that does us no good, even as it feels good. Here is a pleasure we pay for on our own and consume in secret. Here’s a joy that costs no one else a thing. And here’s a way we can define our own existence as something separate from those who created and supported us. Here’s a symbol of breaking free. Here’s the first thing we can enjoy without guilt. Smoke. We don’t have to draw it from a mother’s breast or a father’s bank account. It could never benefit a starving kid in Africa.

For one minute at a time, we can have this pleasure. And we can have it without darkening the world around us.

That’s worth ten dollars a pack and more. That’s worth cancer.

Sort:  

I honestly never thought of smoking as a way to take control. I always saw it as an act by my brother with the sole purpose of lying to my parents...challenging them to discover the things he did that he was told not to: more as an experiment to see the affect on others rather than the one on himself. As a way to get someone to take notice of him.
But your point makes perfect sense when I think about my own smoking habits...which died, except for the yearly social smoke, once the price hit $2 per pack! ;)

I think different personalities would take smoking up for different reasons. A more aggressive, rebellious personality would do it to take control, like your brother. A more passive, agreeable personality might use it as a guilt free pleasure and for a sense of independence.

Yeah, $15 for a pack and a couple of lighters - that has to be a special treat!

Basically, kids smoke because it reduces anxiety, the same reason adults do. Indeed, most of that anxiety comes from all the pressure adults (their parents and teachers) place on them.
I've always had a low tolerance for parents who expect their kids to be eternally grateful for everything they give them. If you give me something only to have me forever grateful and indebted to you, you're being selfish.
Great post, although depressing.

Thank you. I was never a cigarette smoker as a kid myself, but I had a lot of friends who were. I saw this pattern coming up again and again.

So did I. I don't smoke, I've never wanted to, despite the fact that all the kids at my school smoked. The thing was (and still is) that all the smokers would go out on breaks to have a smoke and you'd be left alone, or with a couple of other non-smokers. You had to do it if you wanted to be cool, if you wanted to have friends. I think for kids it also marks a big step into adulthood, the same with booze and sex. This is something adults do (smoking). I do this, therefore I am an adult too now.

I think that's another big part of expressing independence and individuality.

As for the social aspect, it is a bonding experience for the smokers. Lawyers and business-people usually advance in their firms more quickly if they smoke - all that networking time.

what a depressing post.
I shirely hope it's sarcasm.
it illustrates a basic 'wrongness' on so many levels..for example the concept of alturism...

Well, it was written tongue-in-cheek, kind of. But I did see this psychological situation played out among my friends, again and again.

We were personally raised to feel guilty about everything we had, mostly because my mother made terrible financial decisions and had to rely on her parents and grandparents for everything. So for several generations everything was provided with a grudge.

I kind of wanted to highlight that feeling to explain why a lot of kids might take up smoking.

it kinda illustrates something that I noticed.
city kids are defective compared to kids raised in the country.
ever hear the song Country Boys Can Survive?

I think a balance of both is best. Kids need to get culture and civilization from the city, but still be able to understand where their food comes from and how nature works . And understanding that the whole damn world doesn't have to agree with you isn't a bad lesson, either.

But living in the suburbs is definitely not the answer.

Kids need to get culture and civilization from the city,
hows that been working out?

I love seeing the world through your lens Winston...thank you for sharing your art with words...!!

Likewise, Lyndsay - thanks for reading!

I don't smoke...
I tried several times in different occasions and never liked it.
Those who smoked were the "cool" kids...

That's ok, @anialexander - I bet you're plenty cool.

To be honest I didn't smoke until around 19, when my wife turned me on to pipes and cigars.

yup - I'm a badass even without cigarettes )
pipes and cigars are classy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39