You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Cigarettes Liberate The Adolescent

in #smoking7 years ago

I honestly never thought of smoking as a way to take control. I always saw it as an act by my brother with the sole purpose of lying to my parents...challenging them to discover the things he did that he was told not to: more as an experiment to see the affect on others rather than the one on himself. As a way to get someone to take notice of him.
But your point makes perfect sense when I think about my own smoking habits...which died, except for the yearly social smoke, once the price hit $2 per pack! ;)

Sort:  

I think different personalities would take smoking up for different reasons. A more aggressive, rebellious personality would do it to take control, like your brother. A more passive, agreeable personality might use it as a guilt free pleasure and for a sense of independence.

Yeah, $15 for a pack and a couple of lighters - that has to be a special treat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39