Have You Smiled Today? #25

in #smile6 years ago (edited)

Time for your Friday dose of "Have You Smiled Today?" #25

I feel like this cat; frozen in time, frozen in winter time. Speaking of time...don't forget that Sunday, March 11, 2018 is Daylight Saving Time. You will need to set your clocks one hour ahead...spring forward. Except for Arizona and Hawaii because they don't participate. There are approximately 70 countries around the world that do participate in DST, and they may have different dates to begin their DST.

Many people think that Ben Franklin began DST, but he only proposed the idea because he thought it would save on candle usage. Britain was the first to practice DST in May 1916 to save fuel during World War I. Here in America, many people think it was the farmers who wanted DST, so they would have more time to work in their fields, but they lobbied against it when it was implemented on March 31, 1918. Cows were not ready to be milked earlier and the farmers had to wait an extra hour for the dew to evaporate to be able to harvest. In 1919, the farmers won and DST was repealed.

President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Uniform Time Act in 1966 and it was put into law permanently nationwide. However, it is said that energy is not saved because people run their air conditioners longer with extra sunlight.

ENJOY YOUR EXTRA HOUR OF DAY LIGHT UNTIL NEXT FALL!

Information Source: history.com, bigthink.com, fromthegrapevine.com

Image Source: writing-the-wrongs-.blogspot.com

Sort:  

We need spring and summer to come before fall. : ) I just went to your blog and I am sorry that I missed your last post of that cute animal. I would have given you an upvote but it is too late now. So sorry! I will be checking more often. Thanks for stopping by! : )

South Korea doesn’t participate either! I think in these times it is pointless and should be done away with. Blehhhh

Interesting to know the little bit of history behind it. But really, we’re still getting the same amount of sunlight, whether or not we change our clocks. Haha

I also think it should be done away with, but not until after the 11th. It does seem to make our days longer or is it just in my head? LOL!

Oh wow I didn't even know that Arizona and Hawaii don't participate!

Hey you! How are ya? I didn't know about Arizona and Hawaii either until I did this research. : )

haha we never stop learning ;)) I hope you're doing great! :)

Isn't that the truth! I won't be great until warmer weather gets here. The dampness and cold winds go right through me and all I want to do is lay under the covers on the heating pad. Come on spring and summer! I envy you and your warm weather, so I know that you are doing great! And that makes me happy! Hugs! : )

Hahaha i wish I could share some of it with you! But I’m the same with the cold weather. I just wanna be under my blanket. Well spring should be around the corner ;) xoxo

I know I'm going to forget......until too late loll

HaHa! You sound like me. : )

LOL Love the smile :-)

Spring ahead, fall back.
We have it here in Alaska and it's absolutely worthless as
the day time changes so fast each day.
I think they just like messing with us hehe

I keep some clocks on the same time year round, just
to be stubborn lol

Keep warm and about now we really need some vitD ☀

Don't you have some days where it is daylight even at night there in Alaska? I would love that.
That is funny how you keep some clocks on the same time year round, but that would really mess with my head. LOL! : )
Yes, a lot of vitamin D is desperately needed. : )

My answer got lengthy and is turning into a post darn
near, so this is the shorter version lol
We are south of the arctic circle by 800 miles and it is
never all light or all dark here south central Alaska.

Sometimes the clocks do mess with my head, but
the one on the computer helps save the day lol

I'm ready for a swimming pool full of vidD about
now, must be a warm one tho!

This makes me Hate dogs even more. Where is my gun.

What? Do you really hate dogs?

I have cat blood running through my veins, can't help it.

I never remember unti I wake up and my cell phone has a different time. I love the comic that you picked!!

HaHa! Yup, that is me! : )

I heard recently that DST May give problems to our organism due to the confusion created to our biorythm.. dunnow if it's true but for sure I feel like a zombie in spring 😅

HAHAHAHA! You are such a vampire! I would love to see everyone's look on their faces who read this and do not know who you are! LOL! : )

I like winter and cold.. and at the beach I stay under a family size double layer umbrella reading my books. Wifey told me that this year my white skin is particularly bright.. my goal is reaching proteus-like complexion.

LOL! You better stay under that double-layered umbrella! HaHa! : )

Really funny! This can make me smile now..... ;D

Interesting information about the Daylight Saving Time. We also have it in Thailand, but I forget what exact day it is..... ;)

Yay! You are smiling! Glad you liked the info and thanks for your info about Thailand. It is still freezing cold here!

Um! It would be good for me if it's freezing cold here..... In contrary, it's very very very hot here!! ;D

I have a great idea. You come here for a couple of weeks, then I will go there for a couple of weeks. I think if I go to your place, I would never leave. : )

Oh! That's really great idea indeed! Ah! I think the same as you, if I go to your place, I would never leave, for sure...... ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72