You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest Round 7 - A DSound Community Initiative

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry @fireawaymarmot much appreciated my friend. Have a great night.

Freakin amazing soundscape you have created here, it's thick, satisfying and dirty as hell.
Stoner rock settings blow the clinical high gain distortion settings out of the water any day in my book, distorted bass can be so satisfying, and the guitars complement it very well.
The tune is memorable and works especially well on second and third listen-through. Though I dig tracks that can barely keep themself together, the first listen-through was too harsh for me (meaning the drums drew too much of my attention because of their almost forceful intention to stay off beat). Is this a live recording, and how much of the 'offness of the drums' was due to feeling and the experimental approach?

That said, the latter playthroughs had me settled in so much that the tune's bold nature grew on me a lot, even the drums seem more appropriate now. Weird how music can do that to me, once I settle in there's so much more leeway for stretching the boundaries of what is acceptable and still carries the tune forward.

The mix sounds raw, dirty and totally convincing. Raw as in purposefully gritty, not as in 'not done'. Makes me wanna do a stoner rock session one of these days. Not sure I can see the horror in it, sounds like desert rock to me, but as I said I am a hopeless fan when it comes to playing guitars through bass amps and all that kind of stuff.

Good work dude!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. This was a home recording, not live, and I hate to maybe ruin the experience by telling you this, but I built the drum track digitally, with the bass and guitar played by me on real instruments. I don't use pre made loops for beats, though, instead constructing the drum track from "scratch" so to speak.
So the offbeat sound is definitely planned that way, and was somewhat inspired by the drums for Bahaus's "Bela Lugosis's Dead" - hence the horror theme.
Some of the rawness comes from me using a cheap guitar and bass on an old laptop and software from ten years ago. That and my playing style; imagination... If I upgrade I hope to still maintain that feel.

No dude, then it's totally and utterly perfect. GREAT RESULT, especially when programmed. I still gotta find that spot where it almost doesn't work but still does, as you have done here.
As I wrote, on the second listen-through I wouldn't have it any other way :)
Don't change anything for the bass and guitar sounds if you ask me, you made QOTSA sound happen with humble means which is an utter achievement.

This tune has some fun enjoyable meet on it. It has that classic garage fuck you feel! Like I am the coolest and the most sloppy dude in town. All attitude, all the time! Smoke and cigs and drinkin soda music! I dig it.
I think what this track needs is to be recorded to a cassette tape and played a few hundred times. Then bring it back into the computer and double it with the original. I bet this tune would sound killer, if it was able to follow that path. I could only guess.
This tune feels loose and like it is a demo to me. sometmes i like the demo more than the final song. a lot of times actually.
aLow-fi sounds and music is always the best. We have lot a lot of the low-fi sound in this world, due to tech advancement. It is almost like punk is dead. Never!!!!!
It's a really fun tune and i think more dirt please!

No junk, no soul. I'm glad you liked my tune, and really enjoyed your take on it, very descriptive. Gonna have to try that cassette tape technique sometime. The first album I bought with my own money was a cassette - Black Sabbath Volume 4. And I played it on a mini cassette player in my bedroom, cause I didn't even have a proper radio, much less a stereo.

Very catchy melody my friend.

I only noticed a few real problems, mainly with mixing!
I am not sure the DAW you used to create this track, though it is clearly mixing away, maybe too much. Around 25 seconds in, the snare is causing the rest of the audio- the high hats, the guitar to all duck. Same issue around 50 seconds in.

You may be mixing the audio too high, in that you need to turn every instrument down to fix the problem. I like to leave open space in the DAW so that the master track is not always peaking in volume. Once you've done this, and mixed the instruments well, you can use a plugin to boost the volume or add preamp if it is too quiet.

I am especially enjoying the high hats in this tune, and that off kilter snare. The bass and guitar that come in around 1:05 sound awesome and really give it some needed stereo sound.
It might be a little bit left ear heavy though.

I like it more and more the more I listen to it. Good work buddy!

Thanks for your feedback; any advice I can get on mixing is always helpful. Sorry to see you getting down voted by the Sanders crew. Whatever their beef is with you, it doesn't seem to have anything to do with your comment here. Anyways I appreciate your input.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42