My entry for Slothicorn art contest - drawing and progress GIF

in #slothicorn6 years ago

Hello guys!

Here's my entry for a Slothicorn Contest organised by @stellabelle! Please join the contest if you're interested :) I'm joining this contest because I want to show my support for this great initiative, and I'm also quite interested in the concept of crypto art.

My Slothicorn is inspired by a famous meme, one of my favourite memes perhaps, with a sloth asking 'HOW ABOUT NO?" Of course I wanted to give a positive vibe to my entry so I made the question into "HOW ABOUT YES" :)

Here's the final result:

6.jpg

Pen and ink on paper, 29,7 cm x 42 cm

STEP BY STEP PROGRESS

I started, as usual, with a loose pencil sketch.

1.jpg

Redrew it with pen...

2.jpg

And started to create texture of Slothicorn's fur with lines. I wanted to create some crude guidelines for later shading.

3.jpg

More fur, and some shading on/around the arms of the Slothincorn.

4.jpg

At this point I noticed that the Slothicorn could use a little bigger eyes ;) And those letters looked bland like that and I decided to intervene ;)

5.jpg

So I made few minor changes and I was finished. I hope you like my Slothicorn ;)

6.jpg

And here's an animated progress GIF (oh how I love making those GIFs):

tutorialik 5.gif

#thealliance

DQmeg7nDyne6YUcs3gziWoXVQ2yiBbvPxBttmjjHakgTYRe.png

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Thank you guys very much and see you very soon!

All the best! :)

Klaudia

Sort:  

looks happy and friendly, nice job! :)

Thank you @marty-arts for your support! This means a lot to me coming from you! Love, Klaudia

this is so cute. xo

Thank you @justatouchfey for your support! will you be participating in the contest? :) All the best, Klaudia

I really like your drawing style :D. Your drawings have this sensation of lifelike. Can't wait for your next creation!
P.S. This may be a stupid suggestion, but it would be interesting (for me) if your gif image (with each step of the creation act/process) would have a short sound effect/music/something audio playing in the background. Don't know if I explained correctly what I meant...

Thank you @razzek for your support! It's is very nice of you, I am very thankful :) I love your suggestion! It got me thinking... I'll try to learn to make animations with sound, hm... I have couple of ideas on what sounds/music would that be. But to find this under free licence...hah I'll also have to learn more about sources and creation process :) And I wanted to ask you, do you have any particular sound in mind? Love, Klaudia

Or... a sound that should "inspire" the feeling of "coming alive". Hmm... don't know how to describe it... yet!

You're welcome, it's my pleasure :D. A particular sound regarding this image? Hmm... I would see it like this: at the "beginning" should be a sound that resembles wind that moves leaves or grass (the idea of fur... that moves) and as the image takes "shape" sounds that give the sensation of "feel" and at the "end" something joyful.

I totally get that! I was also thinking about wind sounds... some silent puffs...hm. Well, I cannot describe it with words very well hah. Thank you so much for your helpful idea and creativeness! I will work on your wonderful suggestions, thank you! BTW @razzek, are you on Steemit Bloggers Discord Channel?

Nope... I am not... @shinyforest do you have a link (or invite) for that channel?

How can I find you on Discord? I'll message you the link.

Ok, my friend request is pending and I'm sending you links right away! See you there! Take care, Klaudia

@shinyforest, RazzekRa is my username on Discord.

He looks sooooooo fluffy <3
Great work!

Thank you @maryher for you kind words :)

So adorable <3
Love your work !

Thank you! Very sweet of you, @shlomit! I appreciate your support. I know you're an artist yourself, I'm looking forward to see more of your amazing photography :)

Oh, thank you very much! I'm happy to hear <3

Another lovely work! I love your style :D

Thank you for your support! I really appreciate that! :) see you ;)

I LOVE IT! My love for sloths and also baby donkeys have been on the rise. I’m always looking forward to your posts and again, the progress work shown is always fun to see. :D

Thank you @vermillionfox, your support means a lot to me! I'm very happy that you like it! Yes, sloths are very sweet, and baby donkeys are just too good to be true! :) Love, Klaudia

This is beautiful. I will need to draw sloth too, hope can do it tonight

Thank you @marinaart for your kind words! I can't wait to see your artwork! Good luck! :)

That is very cool Klaudia. Great to see the the process, so much better than just seeing the end result. (edit) Oh and your advice was very much appreciated, thanks, very helpful.

Thank you Martin for your kind words! You know, there's this great post written by one of our friends here on Steemit- @zeroooc, it was extremely helpful to me: https://steemit.com/writing/@zeroooc/my-first-month-on-steemit-lessons-and-observations-by-zeroooc Good luck and see you around :) Klaudia

Are you kidding me, this Slothicorn may be the cutest thing I've ever seen.
Yes Indeed and bonus points for the GIF Power.
Good Luck for the contest @shinyforest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00