PUL - CHRI - TUDE | An Art Process | Art Blog # 7

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

pulchritude.jpg


For the past few years, humans have seen the vast changes our world has undergone and are mainly the reasons why this happened. There have been obvious drastic transformations on our oceans, mountains, rivers, lands, and environment. Few human factors that contributed to these modifications are the construction of highly urbanized cities, consumption of natural resources, and destruction to numerous landscapes and seascapes.


Photo not mine. Source

People have neglected all these changes. We're so engrossed with our busy lives that we disregard the effects it brought to us and to our Earth. Animals are dying, others even became extinct. More species die everyday most especially on our oceans like these fishes on the sea. Water quality degradation is one of the outcomes of these mortality. Improper drainage system and untreated sewage may have caused this.


Photo not mine. Source

Air pollution is also taking its toll on us. Many people suffer from respiratory diseases because we are clearly breathing filthy air. Burning of fossil fuels and the exhausts from factories are some of the sources for this pollution.

It hurts to see this happening right through our very eyes. I know we all still can save this. I know there's still pulchritude in our lands. So as a tribute, I decided to do a calligraphy artwork because I'm hopeful to see the beauty of our Earth once again. I will show you the process on how I made it.


"PUL·CHRI·TUDE"

ˈpəlkrəˌt(y)o͞od/ (n)

  • beauty; physical comeliness

Source

THE ART PROCESS

IMG_20180413_203624.jpg

First, I made a rough sketch on a piece of paper to be my guide before making it on my 4.5x6 Canson Watercolor Paper. I also made lines on my Canson paper to make my letters straight and aligned well.

IMG_20180413_212937.jpg

After finalizing my draft on a piece of paper, I've drawn the letters to the watercolor paper.

IMG_20180413_213528.jpg

With my Pebeo Acrylic paint, I chose the colors for my words. Since I like pink, I chose Primary Magenta and Oriental Violet for the contrast of colors. I've also used my craftdoodle water brush with my piece.

IMG_20180413_215328.jpg

I then filled the letters with primary magenta. It's also advisable to use paper towel to be able to check for the right amount of water or paint before painting it on your final piece.

IMG_20180413_215954.jpg

Afterwards, I used oriental violet in making a contrast to pink. I painted only the lower parts of the letters.

IMG_20180413_230823.jpg

When it's all dry, it's good to outline the letters. I used a Unipin 0.5 for the black lines.

IMG_20180413_232131.jpg

With my Signo White Uni Pen, I made it look like there's an imaginary lighting on side.

IMG_20180414_002617.jpg

I added up a diamond as a border putting the letters inside. I then painted different tropical leaves with the shades of blue to green outside the diamond.

IMG_20180414_005217.jpg

I filled everything out and there you have it. The final output.


pulchritude.jpg

I used tropical leaves to represent the cleanliness of our Earth. Since I'm also a nature lover, I love to see more of the greens and blue shades in our environment; greens for the abundance of trees and blues for a clearer sky.

PULCHRITUDE.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.


This has been my piece for today and I hope you guys like it. If you like, you can check my other posts too.

HAPPY MONTHSARY ON STEEMIT | Life Blog # 7

It was more of a 'See you again'... | Life Blog # 6

WINNER! WINNER! CHICKEN DINNER! | Food Blog # 1

💋💋💋

@kyanzieuno


Sort:  

Congratulations! You’ve been featured to our 94th STEEMIT FAMILY PH DAILY FEATURED POST 🇵🇭👍🏼

-Tp-

Thank you Ohana! 😍😘

Love your calligraphy style! Keep it up!

Nicely done, I have added you to the @ARTzONE voting list.

You've received an upvote from a @slothicorn! Click here to learn more! (@justatouchfey) ((.)ω(.))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71