what is slothicorn? ((.)ω(.))

in #slothicorn7 years ago (edited)


{ slothicorn gif by orelmely }

If you read my post What is Small Magics?, you'll remember that I like to make art with a touch of whimsy and mystery. It's what I find most inspiring. It's not a coincidence that my next post was about the Welcome to Slothicorn Alternatre Reality Game!

I'm excited to help direct this game that will teach artists how to support themselves with crypto. But to tap into that, I have to nurture my own creativity too! I have to ask myself what does slothicorn mean to me.

Many years ago, I took the ARTBundance training. It helped me develop skills to nuture creativity and creating abundance in your life through your creativity. Specifically, it helps you coach artists in their path to earning a decent living from their art.

I really excelled at this type of training, though I'm a sensitive person and I'm careful about the kind of folks I work so intimately with!

Let's play a game of imagination!


{ slothicorn by marty-arts}

Being involved in @slothicorn reminds me of that training - how excited everyone was to dig deep into their creativity and build a rich reality for themselves that is in harmony with their biggest dreams. It has me thinking about what can happen with slothicorn unleashed.

Imagine how supporting crypto art leads to supporting artists which frees up those artists to operate in the world from a different level. Freeing artists from an unnecessary grind helps build a more pleasing, beautiful world.

I'm a sensual creature so when I think of slothicorn I know what it feels like to me. To me, slothicorn feels soft like my favourite blankets in pastels and neons. It feels like the satisfaction of a the brush of paint over paper, the soft feeling when you see the beauty of your code come to life as interactive art. It's a tender feeling with sharp teeth that challenges me to dream more freely. It's a warm feeling like waking up from a nap knowing all of my work is in and I'm doing just fine. It's knowing that there's enough to eat and drink and everything's going to be just fine.

Those might seem like soft things, but sometimes I've had to fight and struggle for life's basic needs so to me slothicorn represents something powerful, that moves in its own time, that is whimsical but disruptive.

When I think about what slothicorn looks like, I think of weird pixel art and surreal gifts. I think of large, sweet eyes and flashing claws. I think of rainbows, and weird video game realms that are actually a portal to wonderland. To me slothicorn looks like when a game glitches and you fall into something that is more than you expected.

Moving From Imagination Into Reality and Back


{ slothicorn gif by irwanupal }

When I create my portals into slothicorn for the game, I'm going to try to make art from that feeling: that I've fallen into something mysterious and wonderful and surreal, something cute and somehow also razor sharp in its challenges.

Because make no mistake - slothicorn is also challenging! Directing this game for slothicorn challenges me because it is exactly the kind of thing I've dreamed about doing. Like many dreams, it also unleashes nightmares.

The nightmare of not being good enough, the nightmare of not know what to create, the nightmare of having all the choices in the world and not being able to pick one, the nightmare of not having enough. All of these things will rear their heads and try to stop the magic.

When they do, I'll make like a slothicorn and nap. Because I believe in magic and in play and I believe that as slothicorn is released into the world, big things are going to happen for myself and others.

See you out there!



{ commander elmer by artist christian}

Sort:  

Yeah... but you are ot alone... @justatouchfey ..... really increased my knowledge this post... will follow you for more like this...

hahaha this looks awesome lol. I need a Slothicorn wallpaper!

:) I need to put the horn on that slothi..

thanks

Yes please! It's a wonderful gif. xo I love when its hanging from the tree :3

ok .. i will do it

:)
thanks

You are not alone! We are a team :) let's do our best and the best will come n.n

I'm very excited to work with everyone! :3 We're already creating amazing things! ((.)ω(.))

You are not alone.

Great write up, I'm looking forward to seeing where Slothicorn goes. Good to see Commander Elmer too!!

Cool! But I don’t know still what’s a slothicorn? Is the game about making representations of this mythical creature? I’m curious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39