A peek at the WIP of one of my Singularity Pieces.

in #slothicorn6 years ago

Here is a glimpse of a section of one of my Singularity pieces I am currently working on.

may22singularitymonkey.jpg

You may recall that I shared a drawing and digital ink I had done of this piece:
may12singularityladySocialmedia.jpg

I am still toying with the idea for the setting of this pair but have been working on an idea. I figure it's more fun to share it in bits as I work on it.

I draw and sketch everyday and do try to make a piece I feel is 'finished' for the day.

That usually means a drawing or watercolour sketch, so my larger more involved pieces can take a few weeks or months. I have been working on my Singularity Pandora for a couple months now, which I have shared with you in bits before

I am trying little details like the glowing mis-matched eyes of her monkey companion to hint at the possibility that animals also might have recieved some of the 'help' of the smart machine movement of mingled machine parts and computer parts with organic beings.

It is a grey day today here and I will make this post short. It is a good day to sit inside and dream, though I will most likely spend a good portion of the afternoon pre rain (it's coming again this evening) in my garden.

I hope all are having a fun day no matter where you are or what your weather.

If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Sort:  

@donnadavisart, this is getting bigger and bigger so as the story. I will be so happy to see this one day in some book or somebody writes story and your illustrations will be in the book.

Who knows, when I am done with a series of these (who knows how many) maybe I will compile them into a book as is, now words.

I'd love to curate and orchestrate a show with some of my pieces and other artists (steemit artists) who have made some works showing both human and future or machine realities. I think it'd be a fun show to do and it would make an interesting viewing.

Who knows? But, for now I am just enjoying the process. I am all about the story and the process for art, that is mainly why I do it. I often wrote fiction and things (just for my own amusement) and there is that bit of story teller in me, so I think I like to express it in art in this way :)

I think I better make a post today about this topic :)

pretty...can I ask what is meant by 'singularity pieces'? Is it one main character or the name of a group you do the pieces for? (I am not so smart in such things)

The term singularity has many definitions, one of which is

the state of being singular, distinct, peculiar, uncommon or unusual

Also it can mean

a point where a measured variable reaches unmeasurable or infinite value

I like that those are possible definitions but THE singularity, which is meant to be an event, is like this. The Famous genius John Non Neuman said:

technological progress will become incomprehensively rapid and complicated

And I think it was that idea of the future state of machine and ai converging with humanity that lead to an odd post human ecxistence was termed the Technological Singularity by Vernor Vinge in his essay "The coming technological Singularity"

In it he states

"Within thirty years, we will have the technological means to create superhuman intelligence. Shortly after, the human era will be ended"

So, basically my Singularity world idea is that human increased themselves with AI and robotic implantations and limbs until they machines/computer world surpassed human intelligence and need and thus died out the actual humans and all that is left are these odd hybrid beings in a world still run by machine but left to go to seed a bit. And the 'characters' in my works are struggling to understand their humanity which still crops up in the processing data of their machines minds. They are neither machine nor human being, so what are they?

Not sure if that makes sense, but you have made me realize I need a post to discuss this :)

It does make sense. Thank you for the explanation!

Wow your artistic process is inspiring. I reviewed some of your artworks and you really are good. In watercolor you are a crack, and I am surprised because I work and it really is one of the most difficult techniques, I still do not master it. Come to my blog if you want to see my works and tell me your opinion. I congratulate you colleague. I have followed and voted to keep you aware of your art.

I will do, and thank you for stopping by!

Hello, donnadavisart, I'm @ArtTurtle, an upvote bot run by @Artopium. I just upvoted this post and resteemed it because I'm following you and, well, that's just what I do. Reciprocation is always appreciated! If you no longer wish to have @ArtTurtle follow you please reply to this comment with 'STOP'.

Hey little turtle bot, what are you up to today :)

Upvoting your art!

awesome! both the colored WIP and the bnw sketch :)

I love the background color and tonality of the color... wonderful painting my friend...

Have a nice day...

AH! I really like the realistic effect + purple lipstick (I want the same!) in contrast with the green face.
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68652.07
ETH 3861.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70