You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Slam #2 - Theme: From A Child's View (+Winner Week 1)

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

Greetings to all this is my entry for the Steemit Slam #2 (A Child's View). This poem was birthed as I sat at work one day and I had an epiphany. I was getting visual flashes of my daily routine of dropping my son and daughter off at the babysitter, of always saying goodbye and them screaming and reaching out to me , grasping not wanting to let go of me, not wanting me to leave them. Everyday when I went through this my heart broke more and more. I felt like the mother child bond was continually being broken. And as a young single mother I was torn between staying at home with my children at my mothers house for the rest of my life or continue to work and save to get a place of our own and to finally get off welfare. All of this left me on occasion not in the best of moods and I did snap and shout at my children. In retrospect I now know this had to hurt their spirits. So as I sat at work one day thinking about my children I decided to put myself in their place and try to imagine how they felt, I wrote this poem, as what I felt was their emotional response/message to me. This message was received deeply within my heart and I quit my job and went home to my children. I started my own business as a seamstress and jewelry maker. I hope you like and enjoy the poem. https://steemit.com/slam/@rensoul17/poem-do-you-love-me-i-can-not-count-the-ways-steemit-slam-2

I also highly recommend reading @hopehuggs post about her favorite pet as a child:, it is a truly endearing poem:
https://steemit.com/slam/@hopehuggs/steemit-slam-the-best-pet-that-can-be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65