Steemit Slam: The Best Pet That Can Be

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

So many great poetry competitions to inspire creativity (and to dig out poems that have not seen the light of day for 30 odd years)...

Here is my entry into Steemit Slam 2: Theme From a Child's Point of View

The Best Pet That Can Be

Your feathers are like fire
I keep you in the byre
Your tail is like a fan
And it is colored tan.
Your wings are neatly tucked in
Not like any fishes fin.
Your body is an oblong
And your neck is long.
Your beak is not weak
Nor are you meek.
Your legs are colored gold
Those you could never hold
A crown of red
Sits upon your head.
Your eyes are like wee beads
Forever searching for seeds
As far as I can see
You are the best pet that can be.

Sort:  

good ~!

I had no idea chickens hug and cuddle!

That's a nice poem When I was younger I had a pet rooster. He had the black red and brown feathers. He was my bud. Lol

My fears are like fire. lol :-)

nice poetry dear @Hopehuggs welldone upvoted have a nice day visit my wall plz thanks alot :) <3

Nice. Like your post

Hi, thanks for your comment earlier! And really, I swear I could hear a children's voice as 'my reading voice' while enjoying your writing. Great piece!

Ahh lovely poem :)

This is awesome @hopehuggs! 🐢

Great job at nailing it! :-) I really enjoyed reading your poem.


Thanks for contributing to the One Human Basket community!
I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

I know a girl who single handedly tamed all her father's chickens and ducks! Great poem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44