Poem - Do You Love Me? I Can Not Count The Ways? - My entry for Steemit Slam #2

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

Is the babysitter my real mommy & daddy?
I never see you anymore
You assume that the teachers, sitters and centers
Will teach and take care of me.
Do You Love Me? I can not count the ways.
I've been crying out to you, don't you hear me
knocking at your door?

do you love me
Art image by RachelStudios

I'm a child but I understand
How can I find my place in this world
by the guidance you have shared?
I'm feeling loneliness and pain.

Why do you have time for everything but me?
I am your child, why do you scream and abuse
adding to my insecurity, as if you never cared?

I'm not some child in a distant land, I'm right here
I will listen if you would just talk to me and let me in.

I have so much love just for you, I want to share.

do you love me
Pinterest Image courtesy of L. Hollingsworth

I've loved you in your absence, and in spite of you
being mean to me.

I've loved you after questioning why you hurt me so.
I've loved you after the hundreds of times you said, "Baby I've gotta go."
I've always loved you and I always will.

Do You Love Me?
If you do, wipe my tears sometimes.
Include me in your world some days.
I need bedtime stories, where I can go to sleep
smiling after seeing your face, hearing your voice.
I can feel safe as you tuck me in.

Know that I've been the best child I know to be
and if you pay attention, you can count the ways.
by RenSoul17

Sort:  

If you like this article then click here to read more about the subject.

(Keywords: worldby, love, loved, ways, image, wipe, child, world, youbeing, count, ive)

A very beautiful poem. thanks!

You are Welcome @necrosahin that was a rapid response, thank you deeply.

@rensoul17
Nice Post!
Thanks for sharing this.

Thank you for stopping by @qagiri

Wow, I love this one. I'v questioned this as well, like kids having to go to school every single day, suddenly getting ripped apart from their parents. Will recommend you as my suggestion in the contest, and honestly think you have great chances winning this one! :D

WoW!!! Thank you so much @droucil for taking the time to reply, it means a lot. I appreciate your recommendations that is so needed.

Very poignant! Really hard for children to deal. Even if it's going to grandmother's for babysitting. Made me remember years of tears until I put my foot down and stayed home. It galls me to no end that they will subsidize child care on tax returns only if you leave your children.

A lovely poem...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67555.35
ETH 3499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21