How I got Rid of Acne and Dark Spots! The 8 products that Helped ME!

in #skincare7 years ago

I think I noticed my very first pimple or spot around 11 or 12 years old and for the next 20 years I have battled with acne and black heads, a fight i thought I would never be able to win. I could never keep my hands out of my face and I must admit i popped the pimples which often left very dark and unflattering spots and hyper pigmentation.
2017-07-21_15.12.15.jpg
I have tried it all from Roaccutane to drinking lots of water to bleaching soaps all in an effort to achieve that flawless skin that I saw on the television and in the magazines.

On my last desperate attempt and after a cycle of Roaccutane which helped some what but had its side effects, I just got fed up plus the meds were expensive and i couldn't keep up with the cost.

I searched youtube which i constantly did for new natural recipes for clear skin and came upon not one recipe but a couple of things that I now live and die by for my clear skin routine.

First thing I needed was a good cleansing routine.

This lead me to the realization that my cleansers were too harsh, as after use my skin would feel dry and tight. Often we are so desperate to get rid of or erase our acne and dark marks that we go over board with harsh cleansers and astringents.

After a few try outs ,my go too cleansers are the Simple Facial Cleanser or Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. These products are made for sensitive skin with odor free formulas that effectively clean your skin without being harsh on your face.
Cetaphil.jpg
Simple Facial Cleanser.jpg
(Available at most beauty shops, Walmarts,Amazon or supermarkets)

Next I got a cleansing brush. Now guys I won't say this hands down cleared my acne but I would say this brush carried alot of the weight when it came to the fight against break outs. It cleanses my skin ten times better than washing with my hands or with a wash cloth. I used the Pixnor which I ordered from Amazon. It comes with different heads but i mainly use the two brush heads, the longer bristle one for every day and the shorter bristle for a real deep clean especially after I wear makeup.

Pixnor Waterproof Facial Cleaning Brush.jpg
https://www.amazon.com/PIXNOR-Waterproof-Cleansing-Blackhead-Exfoliating/dp/B00TKDUARQ/ref=sr_1_2_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1500660081&sr=8-2&keywords=pixnor+p2017+waterproof+facial+cleansing+brush

My next prouct you can find in your pantry and every supermarket. Guys its BAKING SODA. Yes Baking Soda. Baking Soda acts as an exfoliant therefore it can help remove dead skin from the surface which can clog pores and make skin appear dull. At first I would add a 1/4 teaspoon of this once a week to my cleanser. What I discovered is that apart from exfoliating, it also dried up my break outs and brought those deep rooted black heads to the surface!

Baking Soda.jpg

If you dont want to use the household baking soda, you can try the Biore Baking Soda Pore Cleanser which I am currently using and its working just as well.

Biore Baking Soda Pore Cleansesr.jpg
https://www.amazon.com/Biore-Baking-Liquid-Cleanser-Ounce/dp/B018B8PQYM/ref=sr_1_1_s_it?s=beauty&ie=UTF8&qid=1500662009&sr=1-1&keywords=biore+baking+soda+pore+cleanser

Now in the beginning when my acne was really bad I figured i needed something with a bit more power so after some research I used a glycolic acid cleanser which assists with the exfoliation and removal of dead skin. A little goes a long way here so I used this once a week. There are many good glycolic washes out there but my fav is the one from Mario Badescu.

Mario Badescu Facial Cleanser.jpg
https://www.amazon.com/Mario-Badescu-Glycolic-Foaming-Cleanser/dp/B000PHVTVC/ref=sr_1_1_s_it?s=beauty&ie=UTF8&qid=1500660584&sr=1-1&keywords=mario+badescu+glycolic+foaming+cleanser

The next product in my skin care routine was another house hold item. Apple Cider Vinegar. Now I'm in love with this for all kinds of things but for the skin, it acts as a natural toner, helping to restore the PH balance in the skin as well as acting as an antiseptic for breakouts. Acne is cause when bacteria gets trapped in the pores, the apple cider vinegar is able to neutralize this infection before it starts. Note you need to dilute the apple cider vinegar as this is strong and can irritate. If you find this too severe you can use Witch Hazel instead. This is often my back up toner and i generally only tone once to twice a week.
Applec Cider Vinegar.jpg

Finally to moisturize my skin after cleansing, exfoliating and toning, I wanted a natural mositurizer that wouldnt leave my skin oily. Rose hip oil ya'll, this oil is moisturizing and anti aging which is good for fine lines and wrinkles. I love this and use it everyday!
Rose Hip Oil.jpg

Now most people think, ok I put all of this on my face before and still i get acne. Trust me I know that feeling very well, I used to think the same way and then i realized its ok to fix the outside but what was I doing about the inside fight against my acne. Most acne stems from the body trying to fight and expel toxins and manifesting it through your skin.
While watching a youtube video on acne I saw one youtuber who had severe acne raving about a vitamin combination she tried with lots of success. This duo was Vitamin A and Zinc. So I tried it and omg I was so shocked by the results!

Vitamin A.jpg
Zinc.jpg

Vitamin A encourages healthy skin cell production therefore as you are exfoliating etc it helps the body to produce new healthy skin.

Zinc, boost the immune system by assisting the body to fight toxins as well as helping the body to better absorb the vital nutrients from food and supplements, which in this case the zinc helps the vitamin A to better do its job on your skin.

Of course drinking plenty of water is always recommended not only for acne but for your overall health.

Guys, I am not a dermatologist or skin expert I am only sharing what has worked for me. You can take out or add anything that helps you. But I'm pleased to say I think I have found my dream team of products for acne free skin!

If you liked this story kindly follow me or upvote!

xoxo!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thefarmergirl! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thefarmergirl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37