You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just Because You Happen to be GOOD at Something Doesn't Mean you Necessarily LIKE it!

in #skills7 years ago

I always try to think that if I like something enough and put the effort in, I will get good at it. My girlfriend proved that with making hats. She started with no skill whatsoever b she like it so much that she started to eat sleep and breathe hats. Now she's a mad hatter. Im still not that great at guitar. I like it, but nowhere near the way she likes hats. Maybe I will like it more one day but before I was more into language and culture, now I'm more into writing.

As for what I'm good at....I've grown to like it more, which makes life a lot easier. It makes "work" feel less like work so I don't mind doing it while I get my writing and hopefully guitar skills together.

Sort:  

Yeah, I get that... the "passion principle." Your girlfriend evidently has a true passion for hats... and sounds like she found her niche.

For me, part of the challenge has been that there are things I am quite passionate about, but they pretty much don't have any "commercial value," which kinda sucks as long as we live in a world where stuff "costs money." My wife, on the other hand, turned her fascination with understanding the human psyche and wanting to help people (originally separate interests) into a pretty successful life coaching gig.

For now, I'm thrilled to be writing here and even getting paid a few pennies for it, now and then.

I've been in the same boat as you forever! Steemit has made it seem plausible but I'm still working on it.

What are the things you are interested in? I remember reading a post on some odd jobs you've done. Also sorry I didn't reply to your comment on my post last time, I was having an off week I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44