Quick Sketch, Key Frame, Story Background

in #sketch7 years ago

Last night I was working on a sequence for this self initiated animation project. I've found that a good workflow for me is to switch between writing and drawing. I had this image in my head of the camera sweeping around two fighters with a Ziggurat behind them. I also imagined it at night with flaming cauldrons. I didn't want to worry about lighting or exact composition because this will probably change anyway. I used an image of the real Ziggurat of Ur to trace some lines. I didn't want to put time into background/environment thinking beyond the general sketch I was making. For the fighters I used Google images from MMA/UFC to get reference.

fight sketch 1.jpg

The champions of two tribes, Banoteph of the Wondering Class from the Cinder Expanse and Orthra the Spirit Breaker, engage in unarmed combat to see who will continue to advance through the Ka-Hadu or tournament and who will be dead. These contests are presided over by Shinnick watchers and after it's all over they perform a ritual healing ceremony for the winner. This advanced medical treatment is seen as magic, creating another reason why the humans or Merkallas revere the Shinnick.

fight sketch 2.jpg


Other posts about this project


Did you like this post?

Please Upvote, Follow, and Comment.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ronism to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Really awesome sketch.. Almost makes one feel drawing is easy.. Well, is it?

Also, I love this picture, would you let me use it for an article sometime?

Upvoted! 😎


BTW, as part of the #hug-an-artist challenge this week, here's a warm #hug from all of us at the #Air-Clinic server on discord.
Would be great to have you on board, here's the link to join if you will:
https://discord.gg/rqded5m

wow..this is amazing!!..great sequence art!!

Wow. Wonderful sketch. The sketch illustrates movement so well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55