Release Two - Brainstorm Basic Design Ideas for Ancient WarriorssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

This post is part of a ground works series for a self initiated animated project. The images do not represent final art. It's a way of doing visual development and when ready, 3D models will be created.


guy 1 no paint.jpg

This batch of sketches show a number of ideas for the sub cultural markings that will help identify the different groups of humans in my story, which is a global conflict with many territories, city-states, tribes and cults. You'll notice I didn't sketch any weaponry, armor or elaborate clothing. That's because humans don't have that stuff. This creates a problem for me when thinking about character design. Also note that I sketched out a general body to experiment on. He is not any specific character. Characters will come later.

guy 1 scream paints 1.jpg

These are basic ideas. After a design language is decided I can start detailing.

guy 1 scream paints 2.jpg

guy 1 scream paints 3.jpg

guy 1 scream paints 4.jpg

In an event known as the ascension...

visitors to our planet, the Shinnick, chose the closest native animal to themselves to be modified. This created what we know as modern humans. We have referred to ourselves by many names through recorded history. The name given to us by our ancient rulers was Merkallas or mortals.

Merkallas were servants to the Shinnick but were treated fairly and learned many things. They spread everywhere the Shinnick ruled. It was a global empire with a million Merkallas. Most were in and around the twelve large cities their labor had built.

guy 1 scream-blue.jpg

guy 1 scream-brown-pink.jpg

Many Merkallas wished to rule themselves. They rejected the Shinnick. At first it was accepted. Free Merkallas fled to the wildlands and lived in scattered tribes. Some even established small kingdoms. This lead to war and interfered with the Shinnick who unleashed a power that could shake the ground and swallow a city in fire. Soon after a new way of life began to emerge. A warrior ethos that valued peace and harmony.



I needed a general body to workout warpaint designs for different groups of ancient warriors. This is a speedpaint of me drawing in manga studio.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
  • Even with this new piece of the puzzle, you could still be confused. Try to stay with me as new releases are posted.
  • So ancient humans were created by aliens, that's not such an original idea anymore. Doesn't matter to me because it's a fun concept to play with.
  • You might see some of the Dragonball Z and Conan influence I mentioned in my first release.

Did you like this post?

Please Upvote, Follow, Comment and stay tuned for more stuff.

Sort:  

Thank about Kratos the God of War. Great video game. also one punch man but honestly I'm not into that its just popular. raigo from Yu Yu Hakusho but thats demon but humanoid enough.

There is some god of war vibe.

How long does it take you to go from sketch to 3d model? I'm versed in Daz Studio which probably the most basic way to 3d model. I essentially know how to piece together hair etc that other people created onto a model. I can also do basic stuff on Google Sketch.

I've haven't made human models that are animation ready professionally. I've only made 3d elements and particles for motion graphics. I always assumed it takes a team to make animation with human models but last year I followed a tutorial that showed me how quick you can rig and be animating a humanoid and I got exited.

For me, after I sketch something I like. I then draw a 2d turn around to use as a guide and modeling a low poly version with good geometry/basic materials takes a couple days. (I'll get faster) After that I often start over and have unfinished things because the geometry gets messed up. For this project I plan to work the other way - sculping a high poly model first and creating the low poly after. I'm not sure about time frame.

Sketch is the first 3d program I tried but it didn't do what we needed for work at the time. I found blender and it was perfect. I've never used daz.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ronism to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @ronism! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You got a 5.56% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @ronism!

Congratulations @ronism! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received gratitude of 1.13 % from @appreciator thanks to: @ronism.

You got a 1.03% upvote from @upme requested by: @ronism.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64